We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queen ensuite in separate building - great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bicheno Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed in a queen ensuite, quite new, that was situated in a different street, but quite near the actual backpackers accommodation. There was a shared kitchen with the other accommodation in this building. The queen ensuite is actually a separate building from the one with the kitchen facilities. New building and very clean. The kitchen is very well stocked. The building has a washing machine and dryer, but there is also a clothes line outside. The building in which the ensuite is situated, together with I think, two other bedrooms, has a small fridge in the foyer area. Plenty of off street parking. Would have to be one of the better backpackers we have stayed at. The staff were very friendly.

I think that there were two showers/toilets in the building that contained the other rooms and the kitchen and they looked to be a good size, and clean.

Bicheno is a lovely town and the walk along the coast and up to the hill look out (for great views), that is quite near the accommodation, is relatively easy. We found the scenery around Bicheno to be better then, dare I say it, that at Wine Glass Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macca46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Bicheno Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

As a backpacker accommodation, this is considered as good and it looks like it is new:) Kitchen has all that you need for a meal. Although we did not cook, we took a peek and boiled some water.

We opt for ensuite bathroom which is a good choice... Bathroom is very spacious and cant help by wondering they should have made the room more spacious. But probably spacious bathroom is to provide an opt to make it as shared by another room. Glad to have towels provided.

Overall, it is a good stay with the price we paid. Thumbs up!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank rainyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed a night, didn't approach the reception as the rooms are assigned in the opposire building,arranged by Jump Tour.

Wifi is anot accessible. Room has 6beds, wooden structure is sturdy, however the lower deck is pretty high from the floor, for an Asian.

Kitchen&bathroom are very clean. We loved the town, great view all around, the mood for holiday really keep our spirit high!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THAM38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

close to shops, there were 20 of us to accommodate and they did this no worries. If all backpackers are like this, would definitely stay at them more often, very friendly and helpful, will stay here again for sure. walking distance to the beach to see the penguins

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlburyMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

First the positive: Bicheno Backpackers is a clean backpacker accomodation: the showers and kitchen are cleaned daily and the place seems well-managed.
Also, the kitchen offers everything you need for proper cooking and the lounge area is big and has some comfy couches.
Check-in was easy enough as well.
I booked a single room which was quite big and fairly clean. Moreover, it had a TV and the matress was quite good too. Unforntunately, the deck that was accessible through my room could not be used ("under repair" - did not seem like anybody was going to work on it, though).
My stay at Bicheno Backpackers could therefore have been really great.
However, it seems like the management has arrangements with bus companies that cater to young groups of travelers (e.g. "Jump") and therefore every day at some time in the afternoon the place was swarmed by really noisy groups of travelers that kept you from enjoying the place - and well into the night. Sleep only possible from late hours on.
Thus I cannot really recommend the place to single travelers or couples who are looking for some quiet time after a day of exploring. A shame really as it could be such a neat location for the more mellow type of backpacker.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great service. Very clean, comfortable room. Good night sleep. Would certainly recommend to anyone looking for value-for-money accom' in this glorious area! Staff were very helpful and attentive to all questions and needs.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mongosemporium, Owner at Bicheno Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

"Delightful Customer"
Thanks Meg for the great review. We wish you all the best.
Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Myself and my fiance booked to stay here in a double room with shared bathroom for 2 nights and were given room no 13 when we checked in. Unfortunately the walls for this room (and no 14 next door) are paper thin so we could hear every word from there, even though the people were talking quietly. Even worse there was a very thin locked door between our room and the shared bathroom/toilet which meant it felt like the person using it was in the same room as you.

I tried to sleep as soon as we turned up (as we had been up since 3am travelling) but was unable to because of the noises in the bathroom, so we decided to leave and find somewhere else. The staff were very helpful and refunded us one of the 2 nights we had paid for

I think that most of the other rooms were okay (and it was all very clean with big shared clean kitchen) - we were in one of the out buildings rather than the more solidly built house - and this room would be okay as dorms or twin rooms, but not for couples (or anyone) wanting more privacy.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, its probably worth paying more for one of the ensuite rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heleneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mongosemporium, Owner at Bicheno Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Have you not got anything else better to do with your time heleneve?

I asked trip advisor to remove your first review as your comments were totally unfounded, to which they obliged. And here you are, back again for another go – oh, did I mention that YOU DID NOT EVEN STAY WITH US!

We have only received one other terrible review which was also a complete exaggeration of the truth.

As I recall, you checked in and your partner was back (rather embarrassed) within the hour for a refund. We agreed to refund the second night’s accommodation as we do not want disgruntled customers.

The outbuilding you speak of was built last year to Australian accommodation standards complete with insulation. I am not sure where you rested as the bed had not been touched.
Yes there is a locked door between Room 13 and the bathroom. Room 13 is also used as an ensuite room. You chose the shared cheaper option however you only have to share the bathroom with one other bedroom which caters for a maximum of 2 persons which was unoccupied at the time of your 60 minute sleepless stay. Perhaps our resident ghouls were taking a shower . 4 – 5 pm is a busy check in time so a little noise can be expected given the communal nature of backpackers accommodation to which the tariff reflects.

Reviews can be a wonderful business tool, however it is unfair and damaging to our business to cop a terrible review from customer who DID NOT EVEN STAY! At the end of the day, we are budget accommodation. You paid $78 per night for a queen room with a large shared bathroom (brand new, less than 12 months old). Our shared bathroom situations are above and beyond what we are obliged to supply. You had access to a full clean kitchen and lounge area. All of our beds are less than 12 months old and of commercial standard. As you pointed out, the rooms are clean & the staff are very helpful. We spent more time in reception with you freely giving local information than you did in the room. We agreed to refund you, even though it was not in line with our cancellation policy.

"You think the other rooms were OK" - how would you know? Gee thanks.

May I suggest a sound proof box for your next vacation.

Not fair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bicheno hotels
0.3 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#2 of 12 in Bicheno
237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bicheno's A+ Apartments
Bicheno's A+ Apartments
#7 of 12 in Bicheno
24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicheno Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno Backpackers

Address: 11 Morrison St | PO Box 177, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Bicheno
Price Range: £36 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bicheno Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bicheno Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicheno Backpackers Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing