We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fairies in the garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchlia Waterfront Cottage
Ranked #3 of 6 Bicheno B&B and Inns
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fairies in the garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We were intending to stay at Freycinet but balked at the prices asked at the 'lodge' and some reviews say there's nothing much there to warrant those prices. There are limited options at Coles bay so I looked at Bicheno, 3/4 of an hour north. Anchlia cottages looked appealing because there are only 2 lots on the property, one being a low level beach house with no view but the 2nd being a 2 storied, 3 bedroom cottage with a view, seabreeze and yes - penguins in the garden! Much better. Bicheno has advertised tours to go and locate penguins at dawn and dusk so it was a treat to see them roaming about without tagging along on an organised walk.
A very nice stay in a comfortable bed but don't wake up with a fright because a tall person will hit your head on the sloping attic ceiling! luckily there were no nightmares. There is a full kitchen which we didn't use as we arrived around 6pm and the town was closed!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigbowen234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    13
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
14
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

My husband and I stayed in the one bedroom Penguin Nook for one night on a lightning fast tour around Tasmania. Bicheno is a lovely little place and Anchlia Waterfront Cottage is in a gorgeous location just out of town at the end of a culdesac right on the beach. We were delighted to see two young furry penguins in the backyard (which fronts the beach) after dark, and walking just a short way along the path was an adult penguin. This is a wonderful experience, and one which is just priceless! Owners were very helpful and friendly, but the accommodation could do with an upgrade. Mismatched crockery/glasswear, faded curtains, tired furnishings and no fly screens don't quite cut it any more. As the location was so lovely, we decided to eat in. We popped into the local butcher for some freshly smoked trout and other beautiful local produce along with a good bottle of red. Returning with our goodies I was dismayed to find that the plates stacked in the cupboard were still wet from the previous guests, some still with remnants of food on them. We boiled the jug and scalded everything, including the wine glasses, one of which still had red wine spill on the base from previous use. It really is a beautiful location though, and the property is for sale so perhaps new owners will spend the dollars required to bring this lovely property up to today's standards. At the price, this currently just doesn't cut it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wils0ncm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed for one night in the single bedroom Penguin Nook. It was clean, spacious and comfortable, except for the bed which was very hard. The location is excellent, just a short stroll through the back yard and over the rocks to the ocean. Penguins were viewed in the yard at night. Quite exciting for us as we had never seen live penguins before. The night was spoiled by the thin wall between us and the adjoining Cod Rock Terrace. The occupants were only talking and laughing at low volume until well after midnight, but it was all quite audible in our room. Our matress was so hard as to offer no lumbar support and punished my shoulders when I lay on my side.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Thanks to Anchilia for a wonderful stay in a lovely location. Being a family of five single adults travelling, the amenities across both Penguin Nook and Cod Terrace were ideal for us. The location is stunning being right on the waterfront, and the hospitality was very warm. Great advice for what to see in the local area. Thanks again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaHPickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012 via mobile

Found on trip advisor as we drove into Bicheno, stayed 1 night in their Cod Rock Terrace with water and garden views from all windows/doors. Quiet, clean, fairly well equipped, good location and walking distance to the little town. Gorgeous from outside, cute from inside and very satisfactory compared to our usual 4 star accommodation. Finally we had a chance to cook our own meal having dined in restaurants all week! Can sleep 5, but with only 1 bathroom that might not be suitable for all adults but ok for kids. Very comfortable.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kootingal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
275 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Found Anchlia 2 years ago by chance and loved it so much we returned. Both visits we stayed in Penguins Nest, the one bedroom accommodation. Car parking at front door and it has a large dining, living and kitchen area, separate bedroom with a double and one single bed and a separate comfortable bathroom with shower over a small tub. The furniture is tasteful and comfortable. It is a home away from home and very serene and relaxing. An outdoor patio outside the lounge area faces the sea and it has a barbeque.There is a shared laundry room behind the building. It is just perfect, very private and the view is sublime, the sea is visible from all front rooms and patio. The owners are helpful and otherwise unobtrusive. The grounds are beautiful with an abundance of roses and lovely old flowers in the beds at front and sides but the lawns at the seafront of the property give way to gorse and pathways leading down to the rocks and sea or into Bicheno and at night the penguins waddle about en masse. Regularly some stay put at the property. Cannot blame them. Recommend a walk at low tide across the natural causeway to Diamond Island and a visit to the Bicheno zoo, Natureworld, which is also home to Devils Island where there are valiant attempts being made to breed Tasmanian Devils free of the Facial tumour Cancer virus decimating the Devil population.
It must be the most beautifully sited zoo anyway but the Devils out in the many pens were the largest and healthiest Devils we have seen. A testimony to the care they receive but the Devil Feeding session was even more rewarding. Their new handler, Suzi, literally had one devil, Danger, eating out of her hand. Danger was a very large devil, a handful for the diminutive Ranger, who fed her whilst nursing her in her arms and Danger behaved as placidly as a puppy. It was amazing and a thrill to watch. The zoo covers a large area with excellent displays of many other animals, all exceptionally healthy looking. Best wombats we have seen at any zoo also, as well as an owl, Wedgetail Eagles and many other birds.
Bicheno and the surrounding areas are beautiful and interesting, there is also a Blowhole down on the rocks to see. This property is wonderful and there is enough to see and do in the area to warrant a longer stay at Anchlia.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POLLYANNA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

My family and I stay at the Cod Rock Terrace house on Feb 2011. We had just a great time at this place, the view is awesome!!!! At night penguin come to your backyard and you can see them but never touch them, they very cute. During the day your can just sit on the front area and enjoy the amazing view. This place is great!!They have all the cookware and very clean an nice!!I can wait to go back to this place.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bicheno hotels
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#3 of 12 in Bicheno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
0.3 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchlia Waterfront Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchlia Waterfront Cottage

Property: Anchlia Waterfront Cottage
Address: 2 Murray St, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchlia Waterfront Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two fully self-contained apartments, Cod Rock Terrace - 2 story, 3 bedrooms sleeps up to 5 and Penguin Nook - 1 bedroom (queen and a single). Right on the waterfront on Cod Rock Point in the East Coast township of Bicheno. Penguins frequent the grounds around the apartments most of the year, and we front onto a 3 klm foreshore walk that goes around town to our blowhole. Both apartments have views over Waub's Bay and Cod Rock Terrace and views overlooking Diamond Island. Set in landscaped gardens with native gums that attract many bird species. All only 500 m or so from local shops and restaurants and only one half hour drive from the world-renowned Freycinet National Park/Wineglass Bay. A great place for at least a two night stopover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Anchlia Waterfront Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchlia Waterfront Cottage Bicheno, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing