We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they're still cute in the slow season”

Bicheno Penguin Tours
Ranked #3 of 13 things to do in Bicheno
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided tour to see little penguins come ashore on the beach each evening.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“they're still cute in the slow season”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We saw perhaps 25 of them in 3 or 4 different groups but thought it was very worthwhile. Recommend taking binoculars. Our hotel thank goodness provided warm coats and we needed our gloves, too. Had a clear night so star viewing was an added attraction. Photos not allowed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peggionthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    91
    31
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

You have to do the Penguin Tour while you are in Bicheno!!
I recommend this tour to everyone! It is a great experience for children but also for adults!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lari-Outback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“See wild penguins up close and personal”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was a fabulous experience! We booked the tour well in advance and found the tour organisers, bus driver and guides to all be friendly, efficient and very informative. I didn't expect to see the penguins so closely but they have now become so used to human visitors that they will wander past us in small groups. We visited 2 spots on the Bicheno beach and saw several penguins at both locations. These gorgeous birds are being protected by the education we received on this tour and every adult and child on our bus home was thrilled by what we experienced. Don't miss it! But do rug up as the wind gets pretty cold off the ocean after sun down.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TriciaB623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALAYSIA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“An eye Opener”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Depart for our tour at 6.30,reached the beach and was briefed on the Do &Don't.
The tour is very informative,after patiently waited about 10min,the ferry penguin march towards their usual 'nest',to our delight, the birds doesn't seem to be bothered by our presence!
We visited 3spots on the Bicheno beach,the 'parents' seem to nurture their offspring with great care, the tour are indeed an educational experience for all.

Helpful?
1 Thank THAM38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Service”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The people who work for this Company are wonderful. Nick, who took my booking over the phone was so helpful and we chatted about other sites and activities in the area. Gary, who conducted our penguin tour was very knowledgable. We didn't see enough penguins coming up the beach….wrong time of year!!! Still managed to get up close and personal…a better experience than Phillip Island and/or Victor Harbour in SA. A fun thing to do…..rug up and go see the penguins!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shellfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bicheno Penguin Tours also viewed

 

Been to Bicheno Penguin Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing