We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Quality accommodation & scrumptious breakfasts”
Review of Windows on Bicheno

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bicheno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windows on Bicheno
Ranked #2 of 6 Bicheno B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Quality accommodation & scrumptious breakfasts”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We traveled as two couples & both agree this was a fantastic Bed & Breakfast experience. The accommodation was first class & Doria has done a great job. Doria uses local produce where possible & the breakfast was restaurant quality, with each day, a new experience. This is our first B&B and cannot see this level being topped.
Doria's extensive local knowledge also was really helpful when planning our day

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Boze4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The accommodation is extremely spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean. Luckily we had rented both bedrooms and so had the communal sitting/dining/kitchen area to ourselves. If we had only been renting one room I think that it would have become uncomfortable with somebody else sharing the space.
Doria is a very attentive host and certainly enjoys fussing round her guests like a mother hen and having a long chat with them.
Our only complaint is that there is no Wi-Fi which there should be in this day and age. Although we were offered the use of Doria's computer, I don't think she would have been amused if we had asked to use it at 11pm or 7am when it would have been convenient for us. Although she would have to pay for it, she could charge guests say $5 to be told the password and could then use it for the duration of their stay. There is free Wi-Fi in the centre of Bicheno but you can only use it for 40 minutes and can only log onto it once a day. The service is so slow you are lucky if you can download an email and reply to it with the 40 minutes allowed - basically it a totally useless service.

Room Tip: Book both rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east midlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed three nights here and this was the best B&B in our tour of Tasmania.
A different cooked breakfast each day with fresh fruit, home made bread and conserves.
Doria has a passion for producing a quality meal that was without doubt the best breakfast on our travels.
The suite was excellent, the bed super comfy, very spacious bathroom with an enormous walk in shower and a two person jacuzzi bath to boot.The shared lounge and kitchen was spacious and furnished to a high spec.
We felt very much at home here and Bicheno has lots of facilities, a great butcher selling cold meats and smoked fish, a helpful tourist information office, a nearby friendly bowling club for an evening drink. nice beach walks, penguin tours, glass bottomed boat, a greast fish restaurant and a large bottle store with some good offers.
One hour away by car is the cruise to Wine Glass Bay, an oyster farm with an outdoor eating area, or a flight over the peninsular. In the other direction, a half day at Natureworld is well worth a visit and there are several rescue animals to be seen and a host of others in natural surrounds. We did all of the above in our 3 day stay so Bicheno is a good base for exploring the area.
Thanks Doria for a great stay.

Room Tip: The two suites are identical with your own private balcony as well as a large shared balcony off the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badgerEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at Windows over the Australia Day long weekend. We were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary and Doria made sure we had a weekend to remember. Other reviewers have noted her breakfasts. I'm not sure what to add that hasn't already been mentioned but I will make a special comment about the manner in which the breakfasts were served. It was personal but not intrusive and you end liking Doria so much you actually don't mind if she joins you. Lovely lady who cares only that you have a great time. She was extremely helpful by sharing local knowledge and making recommendations that you could tell were not stock standard ones but ones crafted to what you would personally appreciate.
The suite was modern, clean, luxurious and with a postcard view of the ocean. Would we go back? You bet we will and even if a longer trip to Tasmania beckons we'll do our best to make Bicheno our hub simply because we would like to stay at Windows.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agostino G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Bicheno is a lovely seaside village with a beautiful coastal walk.
Doria is the perfect host and her B and B is one of the most luxurious and comfortable you will ever stay in. Amenities at Windows are of a high standard and Doria's breakfasts were delicious. Doria has very helpful local knowledge and advice. Local seafood is caught daily and Bicheno is famous for its oysters. Plenty of reasons to stay with Doria at Windows!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parramatta, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My parents and I stayed here with my aunt & uncle, Doria is the perfect host, she customised breakfast and catered for the fussy men, - nothing too much trouble, fresh bread baked in the morning, my parents called me from Tasmania to tell me how pleased they were that I found this little gem of place and 2 weeks later still gushing about how perfect WoB is/was.
Thank you Doria for taking care of my parents

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We recently spent 2 days at windows at bicheno and it was fantastic. The host doria was charming and runs a very lovely b & b with personal touches that were appreciated by my wife. The decor is modern and well maintained and breakfasts are delicious. Doria rotates her breakfast menu daily during your stay. Bicheno is a good base to explore the area though restaurants are somewhat limited following the closure of the well regarded French restaurant

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachboy2093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
0.3 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
368 reviews
1.4 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
22.8 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
16.7 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windows on Bicheno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windows on Bicheno

Property: Windows on Bicheno
Address: 13 James St, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bicheno
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windows on Bicheno 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one of the first to experience Bicheno's brand new luxury accommodation, boasting two beautifully spacious spa suites. Enjoy spectacular ocean views from your private balcony while sipping one of our local splendid wines and savouring a tasty cheese plate. Feel a world away from care while being only minutes walk to the beach and town. Luxurious linens, signature bathroom products, wide screen television with Austar and gourmet breakfasts complete this five star indulgence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windows On Bicheno Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing