We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice room”
Review of Beachfront Bicheno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beachfront Bicheno
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location, nice room”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We had a ground floor sea view room. Room was well appointed, bed was comfortable ( not always a given, in my experience), staff friendly. Ate next door at the bistro and had a very nice seafood platter. It was nice to sit on the balcony of our room with a view out over the fishing boats.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank blackduckNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    208
    48
    8
    10
See reviews for
85
182
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

The room was decent and we thought we would settle in fine. However, when we switched on the aircon, it blew out hot air so we called reception for help. They could not explain the cause and gave lousy excuses, although they managed to get it work, but only for some hours. While we were sleeping, at about 4am, the aircon blew out hot air again. Given the timeing, we didn't think we should call for help, but we certainly did not have a restful night - something one would expect to get from choosing to stay in a motel. Anyway, we set off early to get breakfast before checking out, and when we got back at about 9am, we were surprised to see housekeeping clearing our room out already. While we had already packed our bags and brought them from the room, we still had some time left to utilise the room before check-out, but it seemed that they were eager to clear us out. Well, generally, the experience was not pleasant.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank janeloee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graciepapa
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Though this place is not really beachfront as in next to the beach but it does offer you a great unobstructed view if you take the rooms facing the sea. We wanted to upgrade upon arrival but they were full.

We took a room facing the pool. Of course there would be kids splashing around in the morning but that's to be expected. The room was of a decent size and was clean. The bathroom was well maintained and has a heating lamp for winter.

This place is also walking distance to where the Bicheno Penguin tour departs. Just a 5 mins walk.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank graciepapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We changed our mind about staying in Swansea & called in to Beachfront Bicheno at around 5:45pm with no booking.

Reception staff were very friendly & gave us a fantastic rate. We had a poolside room and my teenage daughters enjoyed a swim after a delicious meal in their bistro. The pool was heated & very clean.

Our room had free wifi, foxtel & a wall mounted flat screen tv. Beds were comfortable and room was very modern. Lovely little courtyard to sit in too.

I'm already planning a return trip here with my hubby. Make sure you head down to the rocks at dusk to see the penguins & try the glass bottom boat.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed in a waterfront room. The rooms have been recently renovated, they aren't huge but more than adequate for a short stay. Everything in the room was fine, the flat screen TV has been mounted fairly high on the wall and you get a sore neck if you watch it for an extended time. Being picky I thought the walls between rooms weren't very soundproof, I could here the people in the next room, and new when they flushed the toilet. There is a very nice harbour view from the room, and each has it's own small front balcony, very nice to sit out on and soak up the view and beautiful fresh Tasmanian air. Parking directly out front of room. Bicheno is a nice little town, I agree better than Swansea, the hotel is connected to the Pub where you can get a meal and a cold beer. Or it's a 5 minute walk in the township where there are a few shops, a mini supermarket and cafes. It's not far from Coles Bay(Freycinet national Park), and the Bicheno Blow hole is worth a look.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieGlennB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We booked one of the poolside rooms and stayed here with our son. The room was small yet nice. A small dining table, queen and single bed, desk and bathroom area. The interior of the room was clean but when we opened our sliding door to the small outdoor area we found cigarette butts around the grass. A nice spot, bbq area and picnic tables, small playground and pool area. We didn't use the pool or the restaurants. Parking is available near each of the units and its so close to the town. Recommended but disappointing the grounds weren't exactly tidy. Service was good and staff seemed friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I was glad that I changed my mind in the last minute & stayed here instead of Swansea. It is a good size bedroom & clean. Our room was on the pool side, very convenient for the kid to go for a swim. The hotel is within the walking distance to the center of town. Nice pizza restaurant just down the road & nice bakery (Blu Edge Bakery), they have half a wall covered with awards!!!. I personally like this town better than Swansea. It's only half an hour to Freycinet National Park. Bicheno Blowhole is just 5 min drive from the motel. The White Dog Cafe at the end of the road must be a terrific spot for breakfast/lunch on a sunny day. Nice view of the ocean if you have the front room. I didn't have any problem with Jennifer (the receptionist) as mentioned by other viewers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friendster10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
1.2 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
339 reviews
22.6 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
450 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#3 of 12 in Bicheno
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Bicheno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Bicheno

Property: Beachfront Bicheno
Address: 232 Tasman Hwy, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachfront Bicheno 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this centrally located Bicheno resort, situated directly opposite the beach and minutes from scuba diving, fishing spots and penguin tours. Beachfront Bicheno is the most ideally located accommodation in Bicheno. Located opposite the beach, Beachfront Bicheno affords breathtaking views of Waubs Bay and is the perfect base to explore Tasmania’s stunningly beautiful east coast.Beachfront Bicheno offers well-appointed rooms with reverse-cycle air conditioning, FREE high-speed internet and cable TV. Some rooms offer panoramic sea views. Additional facilities at this Bicheno resort include a licensed restaurant and bar, swimming pool, BBQ and children’s playground.For superior customer service and a central location in Bicheno, make a reservation at BEST WESTERN Beachfront at Bicheno today! Winner of TripAdvisor 2013 Certificate of Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beachfront Bicheno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bicheno
Bicheno Best Western
Beachfront Bicheno Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing