We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic rooms, friendly and roomy”
Review of Beachfront Bicheno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beachfront Bicheno
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic rooms, friendly and roomy”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Big rooms, very nice and new. Well prices. Friendly reception. Very nice bistro and bar attached at the front. Great location. Well priced for when 3 people needing somewhere to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chlohutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    208
    48
    8
    10
See reviews for
85
182
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We used Bicheno as a base camp to have a look around the east coast. We opted for a beach view room. Clean and modern. Would benefit from some basic crockery and cutlery. Watch out for the smoke alarm when using the toaster. Helpful reception when asking for places to visit. Only slight negative are the thin walls - we could hear faint snoring in the room next door in the early morning quiet.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We found this Motel be be very comfortable for our first night in Tasmania. We did find it a little different to the main land when seeking Motel type accommodation but this applied to our entire weeks tour. The room was inviting and well equipped with the restaurant above average for both evening meals and breakfast. The hotel next door was a welcome watering hole after our drive across the mountains from Launceston. If any complaint could be directed to the Motel it would be the cost was a little above similar stype accommodation on the main land. The management was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

When you drive into a Motel, you never know what to expect. From the courtyard of Best Western Beachfront Bicheno our initial impression was of an institutional facility. But when we opened the door to our room and walked in we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was spotless, spacious and comfortable and beyond the big glass doors was our own balcony with table and chairs and a great view out to sea. The room was air conditioned and the queen size bed was comfortable and fitted with an electric blanket. Milk for teas and coffees was supplied at reception when booking in and we were interested to see instant noodles included with the mini bar stocks! As expected, the large bathroom was not a disabled bathroom, but had a large walk in shower, grab rails fitted and a shower chair was ready for me at my request. The toilet pedestal is normal height so a bit low for my needs but the grab rail helped. Extra towels were provided readily on request. Our room was several doors down from the onsite Bistro Tavern but we weren't disturbed by noise at all even though it was a Thursday and Friday night. We didn't eat at the motel but instead went to the Sea Life Centre, almost across the road, for lunch (delicious!) and made our own sandwiches and breakfast. We found the staff helpful and friendly and Bicheno is a beautiful place to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeralRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at Bicheno for 2 nights and found the BW was a very good base for what we wanted to do. Very clean and well equipped - breakfast in the room was included in the price. We paid extra for the ocean view and had a really nice patio area overlooking the water. Can't fault it.
Unfortunately, there was a lot of Japanese in a big party in different cars, who were so noisy with banging doors and shouting until the early hours, then they started again before breakfast. Some thought for others would have been nice!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed here one night while on a trip around Tasmania. We were mainly in Bicheno to do a penguin tour before heading on to Freycinet the next day. The hotel was basic but all you need, and the swimming pool was very much enjoyed after a hot day in the car.

The penguin tour picked us up from the hotel, along with the entire bus load, many of which seem to have come to meet at the hotel from other places, so that was handy that we were staying at the pickup point. We didn't collect people from anywhere else.

We had dinner in the restaurant which was very nice.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vaughan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,139 reviews
305 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 492 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great location, walkable to ocean, access t penguin tour, clean basic motel accommodation, staff friendly, attached bistro, AC, worth a stop! Close to highway, laundry available, flat screen tv and good free wifi

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
1.2 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
338 reviews
22.6 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
450 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#3 of 12 in Bicheno
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Bicheno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Bicheno

Property: Beachfront Bicheno
Address: 232 Tasman Hwy, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachfront Bicheno 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this centrally located Bicheno resort, situated directly opposite the beach and minutes from scuba diving, fishing spots and penguin tours. Beachfront Bicheno is the most ideally located accommodation in Bicheno. Located opposite the beach, Beachfront Bicheno affords breathtaking views of Waubs Bay and is the perfect base to explore Tasmania’s stunningly beautiful east coast.Beachfront Bicheno offers well-appointed rooms with reverse-cycle air conditioning, FREE high-speed internet and cable TV. Some rooms offer panoramic sea views. Additional facilities at this Bicheno resort include a licensed restaurant and bar, swimming pool, BBQ and children’s playground.For superior customer service and a central location in Bicheno, make a reservation at BEST WESTERN Beachfront at Bicheno today! Winner of TripAdvisor 2013 Certificate of Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beachfront Bicheno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bicheno
Bicheno Best Western
Beachfront Bicheno Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing