We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“giving it Excellent as had a superb deal”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bicheno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silver Sands Resort Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have stayed here twice this year,
Once in April and again in September.
I stayed on a pay one night, get one night free promotion.
I had one of the most expensive rooms but they are dirt cheap and when you get a second night free - how can you complain?
The views are fabulous-
Accommodation would have been PREEMO for its time and is a little dated but very comfortable and the afternoon sun poured in.
Be prepared to hear PENGUINS screeching from about 4 am each morning- all part of the fun!!!

Room Tip: Pick the most expensive rooms with the best view- The afternoon sun pours in still dirt cheap Chea...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Silver Sands Resort Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We where only going to stay one night, but sitting on the small deck and watching the sun set, it was agreed the view was so impressive another night would be an excellent idea. The rooms were basic and clean. Obviously an update would help, but then would the cost of a nights accomodation increase. Had a gret breakfast in the White Dog Cafe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenlea r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here one night. Place is old and needs a lot of refurbishment to bring it up to scratch.

We stayed in room with a double and a single bed. The double was OK, but kept sliding off the single a little. While the room was comfortable and the bathroom facilities were acceptable, with a nice hot shower, it would be nice to see a bit of freshness about the motel.

They had a guest laundry that was useful for washing clothes ($6:00 with dryer for a load) and breakfasts were served nice and freshly cooked bacon and eggs etc. Would have liked some yoghurt, but none available.

Surrounds of the motel with nice beach water views and short walk to town bakery that served excellent lunches was a bonus.

If I go back to Bicheno I would try another motel (say 4* if available), but if not available I guess I would try Silver Sands again. I could not imagine myself staying there more than a night.

Room Tip: Rooms with views to water.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This hotel sprawls across the headland at Bicheno and commands fantastic views over the bay. It was probably built in the 1970s and has seen little upgrading since then - let's just say it's a bit rought around the edges. However, for one night it was fine. The room I had was clean, bed comfortable, quiet - overall about the same standard as the cabin in the caravan park that I once stayed in (and paid more). It was a bit gloomy with no pictures on the wall, and the bare bones of a cupboard for your clothes - this might bother people staying more than a night. Overall I don't understand why the owners don't maintain this place - a good clean up, better furniture and a lick of paint would do wonders!

Room Tip: Some rooms have been refurbished and cost a good deal more than the unrefurbished ones, but I couldn...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simone_a13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

Room on grassy beach front are refurbished and excellent value for the of season rate we paid. The place is a hodge podge but we loved it and we will stay there again.
We think it is best place as so close to the beach and the fairy penguins were close and do great to see them.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This hotel is owned by Jan Cameron. Left in a terrible state. She also owns Anaconda. She however does not seem passionate about her hotel and park anymore? Seems very run down.. in need of a huge clean up. Great area, poor locals!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Spectacular views, friendly staff - but that's it. Tired, worn and an owner who thinks he is special. Stayed with family for three nights (6 adults, 1 child). Booked in for dinner on the 2nd night and while waiting saw the owner approach a 4 yr old & 18 month old in the designated play area and abuse them for swinging on the gate trying to get in. Then witnessed a family being told to eat dinner off their laps by staff as the owner and his family were seated at the table that had been reserved for them. Worst customer PR I have ever seen. We gave up our table to them and left in disgust. Until it is taken over by someone who is not a pretentious, self obsessed bully - give it a big miss.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank patandkathyallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
374 reviews
1.5 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
22.5 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
16.5 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
401 reviews
20.7 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Resort Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Resort Motor Inn

Address: Peggy's Point, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Price Range: £47 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Resort Motor Hotel Bicheno
Silver Sands Hotel
Silver Sands Resort Motor Inn Bicheno, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing