We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous view, lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
Ranked #4 of 6 Bicheno B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were happy to arrive, Ken greeted us warmly and offered us the B&B room (with a spa) A lovely room, with everything we needed and more. The view was magic and the next morning the sunrise over the bay was spectacular and we watched it from the bed (see photo).
We went down to the Gulch and the blowhole and spent a lovely night in Bicheno.
Nothing is in short walking distance but we were fine as we had a car.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussieMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

About 2.5 km from the town centre. We first booked an apartment with garden view. On arrival, my wife immediately asked for ocean view and was willing to pay any price for it. We stayed in Room 5 which is small in size but the bathroom with Jacuzzi was huge. We just can't get away from the view, the peacefulness that gave us. Ken was very hospitable and paid all possible efforts to satisfy our needs. Very generous breakfast and useful information for restaurants, petrol station and helped to book a penguin tour. If we happen to come back to Bicheno, we would not give a second thought about accommodation.

Room Tip: Ocean view definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A superb view with the added bonus of wallabies and possums feeding at night on the front lawns.
A large airy apartment but in need of small refurbishment. Very adequate for our 3 day stay and close to the penguin beach. Local Pizza restaurant produced the best fish pizza I had ever tasted.
Recommended

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffSurryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We loved the location of this unit and found it to be very comfortable and exceptionally clean. The hosts were very helpful and I would recommend the resort to friends travelling in this lovely part of the world.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pamperedprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Excellent accommodation- great location close to Freycinet park, Wineglass bay etc. Superb views of unspoilt beach. Well equipped self catering property. Would have loved to stay another night but it was booked out. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahmelbourneaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A very nice experience. Friendly and helpful managers. Thanks for the advice to drive a few minutes to Gordon St to see penguins!!! Spacious and comfortable rooms. Lovely patio in front of unit with BBQ and table. We bought scallops and sausages from the excellent butcher in Bichino and then dined al fresco with the most wonderful view of the beach and ocean.

Room Tip: water facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile


Nice apartment with two bedrooms. We stayed for 1 night only. The place was clean and friendly. Fantastic view from the hall and from the bedroom.

The web sites says luxury but this is not the case. I would say its a confortable cosy apartment.
It's over promised under deliver. Someone who has stayed in luxury apartments will know there are certain facilities and standards to get to luxury status.
The bathroom shower was a disappointment. Water flow was sloooow. If you're tall you need to bend few times before to get under the shower.
Unfortunately you don't get mobile coverage.No wi fi facility.
I think this place could do wonders with a reno and and bit of fresh thinking.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Ramalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
1.8 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
22.9 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
1.6 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
136 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#2 of 12 in Bicheno
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat

Address: 18067 Tasman Hwy, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bicheno
Price Range: £68 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat has ultimate views over McLeans Bay, Diamond Island and Dennison Beach. Sunrise and phenomenal Sunsets are definitely a highlight 365 days a year with Winter sunsets being earlier and more magnificent and Summer sunrises gifting an enlivening start to the day (a joyful, inspiring morning high! An exquisite white sandy cove below is perfect for swimming, relaxing and experiencing the exhilerating purity only the ocean and fresh air can imbibe. A 10 minute walk to beautiful pristine Dennison Beach enables you to explore endlessly and find coveted artifacts. Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat is home to a family of Kangaroos, Wallabies and Possums, which you are most certain to be able to see in the evening. The bush is part of Ocean View as are the stars and tranquility. Nearby Wildlife tours and world renown nature environment parks make Bicheno's Ocean View REtreat fabulous for two day stays, and with cozy and comfortable Queen beds! 1 - 8 guests can be accommodated in the 6 well equipped units (4 self catering and 2 B+B. Breakfasts are well received and can be supplied not only in the B+B but also in the self catering accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing