We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon wander...”
Review of Liffey Falls

Liffey Falls
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Deloraine
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon wander...”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We live about 50kms north of Launceston but only moved to Tasmania 2 years ago. We took a drive to Liffey Falls last weekend (so it is SUMMER here in Australia) . It took about 1.5 hours from our place. We have also heard the debate as to whether Russell Falls is better. It was a lovely walk down through the forest area and those who maintain the park are to be congratulated on the small 'rest' areas along the way down (and of course, then up again!) there are a few small viewing platforms strategically placed along the walk. We saw lots of young families dong the walk - it might be a challenge for toddlers but real littlies can be carried on ones back and probably 5 year olds up would be able to manage it. It would probably be pretty slippery in winter or after rain but the track itself seems very well maintained. In the dry it was fine, just a bit uneven with tree roots etc. We parked in the Upper carpark (clearly missed a Lower park) but saw sign to it. The estimated times to walk the track are realistic. The road into the area is narrow and it is clearly signed that short wheel drive vehicles are the only vehicles to use the track. We had to pass other vehicles a few times and it takes politeness and care to navigate around each other. If a small vehicle came across a long vehicle, it woudl be a big problem. Not only is the road fairly narrow but there are low hanging/growing trees in parts also. At the moment the waterfall has running water but it is not gushing by any means - i suspect in winter it would be a different scene. With only a small amount of water there, it would be a brilliant place to take a picnic down to and paddle in the water and climb over the rocks/stepping stones. The water is crystal clear and it was a delight to be down there. A bit pebbly and slippery so a good idea to wear shoes that can be left on in the water - or just take the chance and take a dipping which in hot weather is not such a bad thing!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank nimhnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    50
    4
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth Town, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Liffey Falls is set in part of Tassie's World Heritage Listed area. It's stunning and an easy walk (with only a few uphills if you do the walk from the top car park) for anyone of average fitness. The walk from the bottom car park (the Liffey camping area) is longer. Picnic tables and toilets available. If you love nature and you're interested in Tassie's wild places, don't miss it. :)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lones7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Nothing can beat our mother nature!!”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Beautiful falls... Can't explain the beauty. From highland lakes road around 8 Km unsealed (dirt) road to reach the falls. Normal cars can also reach the falls but with little cautious.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank onlyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“an absolute must see”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

The drive in is through beautiful forrest, the walk to the bottom of the falls is through magnificent rainforrest & would be worth doing even if there were no falls there. The falls themselves are absolutely beautiful. Whatever you do, do not stop at the 1st or 2nd viewing platform. You have to go to the bottom to really appreciate it

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dags111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverstone, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“very pretty”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

well worth the easy stroll to visit these very pretty falls. nice way to break up the trip through the midlands too. we even got the kids to do it!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tassie_Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liffey Falls also viewed

 

Been to Liffey Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing