We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arctic-Thai-Rural Budget Accommodation”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Empire Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Deloraine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Arctic-Thai-Rural Budget Accommodation”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I have to say, I only booked into the Thai suite here because I was totally fascinated with a very authentic thai suite in the middle of a regional Tasmanian town. Its fair to say I barely looked at the other amenities, or though through my actions, and I was also somewhat excited about the thai restaurant downstairs, which was rumoured to be very good. The hotel is great in that it is a classic Tassie pub, the staff are lovely and super helpful. The bad part for me as a gal business traveller was that it was a shared toilet pub style, which i'm not fond of for midnight dashes in your pi's, and also it was so cold I thought I might die and be found like Mawson clinging to my Thai bed. No electric blanket and a very small heater was inadequate for the beginning of a Tasmanian winter, and I had booked for two nights and ended up leaving after one as I simply couldn't have taken another night there. I think the rooms are great thematically, and if you are a warm blood who doesn't mind a shared toilet, have the hilarity of the asian suites in Deloraine, or stay there in summer.

Room Tip: Choose the Thai or Japanese suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PollyMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    26
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
35
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tasmania
Level Contributor
360 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Had lunch here today was lovely had the beer battered fish and chips trevalla good quality excellent size serving dressed salad and crunchy chips. Coffee excellent nice and strong and local beers on tap. For 2 $40 for main and a beer each will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TasmaniaLovesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I have never eaten in at the Empire Hotel, only gotten take-away, but have always been most impressed with my meals. There is plenty to choose from, the prices are reasonable and the food is always prepared quickly. Yum!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLG2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Visited Saturday night just gone,I had a green curry, partner had a seafood combination stirfry. We both really enjoyed our meals.

Have eaten there previously and meals have always been good.

Didn't stay in the accommodation this time, but have previously stayed in the Thai themed room. There is also a Japanese themed room. They are lovely rooms unfortunately no ensuites though.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2shea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

In recent times, we travelled extensively throughout W.A, N.T, Tasmania and our home State of Queensland. We like dining out. A lot. My partner is a self confessed 'foodie' and I like very rare (blue) steak. Throughout our travels we dined out an estimated three times weekly. Over the last twelve months, this makes for approximately 150 dining experiences. I would have ordered about 100 steaks.

Frequently, we needed to explain to waiting personell what a 'blue steak' meant ( including both english and non-english speaking staff) Even so, many of the steaks were actually presented on my plate in a medium rare condition. On the odd occasion they came out rare, but were so fat, grizzly and chuncky to be rendered inedible. Indeed, after consuming some 80 plus streaks, I gave up on steak for a few weeks lest I be disappointed.

Whilst visiting Deloraine, my foodie partner pointed out the Empire Hotel, indicating that 'hey, perhaps they do a good steak, whaddayareckon?' I realised it was the Thai food that lured him, but never mind, being an optimist I decided to order a blue steak.

What a delightful, mouth watering surprise! This unobtrusive, unpretentious restaurant delivered what was unquestionably the best steak I have ever had the pleasure to introduce to my refined taste buds! An unmitigated winner! We came back the next night and again they delivered! An absolute treat, and imagine our sheer culinary joy ( Yes, my partner simply LOVED the Thai dishes!) in finding this restaurant.

The only down side of all this is that we actually live way up in North Queensland. We have sufficient dining experiences to realise that no other restaurant is going to surpass the Empire Hotel. So I guess we will have to come back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xarz2dt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deloraine
13.5 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mountain View Country Inn
Mountain View Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Deloraine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonney's Inn
Bonney's Inn
#1 of 8 in Deloraine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Deloraine Hotel
Deloraine Hotel
#8 of 8 in Deloraine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arcoona Manor
Arcoona Manor
#4 of 8 in Deloraine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quamby Pines
Quamby Pines
#7 of 8 in Deloraine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 19 Emu Bay Rd, Deloraine, Tasmania 7304, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Deloraine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Deloraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small, family run Heritage listed hotel is set in picturesque Deloraine - a vibrant arts community located in the Meander Valley at the foot of the Western Tiers. Deloraine is an ideal base for a wide range of activities including cycling on some of the best roads in Australia. The surrounding district provides a number of rides suited to all cycling capabilities. We can provide you with secure storage for your bike and recommendations as to where to ride. The hotel is also a great jumping off point for the World Heritage Area and Cradle Mountain. Our cafe, 'Cycles' serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The menu is focused on local seasonal produce with a range of tapas style shared style plates and seasonal mains. All rooms have been refurbished with a light feel and are found on the first and second floor of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hotel Deloraine, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing