We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A squalid infestation of creepage”
Review of Highview Lodge

Highview Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deloraine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highview Lodge
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A squalid infestation of creepage”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

On a recent stay in Deloraine, my partner and I were extremely disappointed in this accommodation, for so many reasons! We stayed in a 'double room' which had a double bed under a bunk bed, and another bunk squashed into this timely bedroom, which had no windows! At night time the room would become very cold, no heating was available, except for the complementary hot water bottles offered to us by the creepy manager's creepy parents. On the topic of managers, 'Alex' is the manager/resident at this complex is quite strange, we did not feel comfortable with him. In addition his parents would visit everyday and hang about the lounge room watching/commenting on things you do which was annoying and invaded our privacy. The whole place is a complete mess, and the managers mother told that the rose bushes havent been pruned in at least two years, evident as they are taking over the whole balcony and growing through the floor boards. Men's bathroom is located outside, the shower head sprays a fine mist in an attempt to save water, and you're expected to MOP THE FLOOR after every shower to save creepy Alex the effort. Still using a roughly 7-inch box TV with bunny ears and the old analog system. Kitchen is filthy.

Don't believe the false advertising that this is a YHA hostel, it is no longer listed with them for good reason.

If looking backpacker style accommodation in deloraine, do yourself a favour and check out the deloraine hotel or bush inn first. Good luck and happy holidays!!

Room Tip: Don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Embi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    0
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Very peculiar owner/manager. Parents also somewhat odd. Discouraged from using washing machine, referred to laundromat 15 mins walk away. Not very clean although bedding OK. Messy environment. Only 1 mens shower, 2 for ladies. Toilets 1 for each + 1 shared. Mens outside no shelter. Could be 18 guests. Best feature is price $25 night for dormitory.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Deloraine hotels

Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Resident manager Alex's introduction included news that "we all use the women's showers/toilets" -.2 tiny showers and 1 toilet. ! Luckily we were the only ones there for 3 of the 4 nights we were reluctantly there.
The place is a mess. Stuff and or junk left in every room. We paid extra for a tiny twin room. It had a double bed with a bunk bed over it, 2 bunks and no windows !
Alex's' parents come in to do some cleaning and wash his dishes.
We are 2 old codgers on a fishing trip so we could put up with it.
We loved Deloraine. There are bakeries and coffee shops, the parks are beautiful and all the old buildings together with modern streetscape make it a delightful town.
The YE OLD BRITISH HOTEL offers great cheap meals and affordable accommodation
Try it instead of this place .

Room Tip: Solo female travelers DO NOT go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

this Hostel was inadequate - not clean - dead snail and spider in bathroom. manager- owner was weird - only time I saw him apart from paying for dorm, he started talking about cannabilism of children, as though it was an enormously amusing topic. It's is NOT a YHA , now a shabby backcrackers

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sime_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deloraine hotels
0.6 mi away
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#2 of 8 in Deloraine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain View Country Inn
Mountain View Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Deloraine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bonney's Inn
Bonney's Inn
#1 of 8 in Deloraine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quamby Pines
Quamby Pines
#7 of 8 in Deloraine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
10.2 mi away
Birdwing Bed and Breakfast
Birdwing Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 10 in Deloraine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blakes Manor Deloraine
Blakes Manor Deloraine
#2 of 10 in Deloraine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highview Lodge

Property: Highview Lodge
Address: 8 Blake St, Deloraine, Tasmania 7304, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Deloraine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Deloraine
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Highview Lodge Deloraine, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing