We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise”

Settler's Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 18 Restaurants in Deloraine
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A surprise”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We dropped by on a public holiday after visiting the Marakoopa Cave and were surprised by the delicious food and the retro atmosphere offered. The owner said there are only two people working in the kitchen so a reservation is recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beerwah, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This restaurant was part of the motel we stayed in so it was convenient to go there for dinner. I was expecting a basic country offering but was staggered by the menu range for such a small town. The prices were very good and my husband and I chose different meals. Both were excellent and I would say that my lamb shank was the best I have ever had anywhere. Having so enjoyed that I could not resist trying the sticky date pudding which easily met my, by then, high expectations.
The decor in the restaurant was 1800s and it was a lovely atmosphere.
I would highly recommend stopping in Deloraine if only to eat at this restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had a very enjoyable meal here. The food wasn't fancy but very tasty. I particularly enjoyed the duck sausages. Unfortunately the chairs are rather uncomfortable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great food, slow service”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The atmosphere was great. Lovely dining room full of quaint artefacts. On each table is a double spread reproduction of a newspaper from 1882 (or so). The paper gave us something to read as we waited 45 minutes for our meal. Why a bowl of roasted pumpkin soup and a vegetable frittata with salad took so long I don't know. But others in the room asked us how long we had waited, when we had been served and they hadn't. It was not a busy night, thank goodness. However, the wait was worth it. The food was great - or were we over-hungry? I give the service "poor" but the food was "excellent", therefore an average experience

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dale47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Focus on the food and forget the hiccups”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Our accommodation was in Mole Creek and we didn't feel like having pub food so we headed to Deloraine and stopped at Settlers, the first restaurant we encountered entering the town. We did not have a reservation and arrived just before 8pm, but the waitress was welcoming although very busy as she was handling the dining room on her own. We ordered the spring rolls, caesar salad, fish & chips and sweet potato curry, which were all nicely cooked and presented.
Before leaving we booked for the next night which was Saturday.
Although Saturday was not as busy as our first night, it seems the kitchen was not running smoothly. The ordered vegetarian frittata was delivered as vegetarian lasagne and it was cold in the middle. We queried the mixed order with the waitress and did not really find out what happened; then we said if it was hot we would continue with the lasagne. We also had fish & chips and caesar salad - both of which were not as perfect as the night before. The fillet steak was supposed to be medium rare but it was medium to medium well done. We told the waitress we did not want to add more pressure to the kitchen and that we would continue with the dishes as prepared.
The wine list is quite interesting and not over-priced. The ambience is very pleasant and historically interesting. The glasses and jugs are all in ceramic adding to the rustic decor. There is a terrace with views of the mountains and pastures.
If it was our restaurant though we would not tolerate a client putting all his empty dishes together and physically taking them to the kitchen, which is via the reception. We saw the client do this on both nights! And the second time he risked creating an accident as he just clipped another client who was just standing up from their chair.
We are still giving a 4 rating as we do understand all restaurants may have an "off" night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussies11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Settler's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Settler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing