We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers York Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peppers York Cove
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
1 review
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Travelled recently with the family to get a away for a couple night over the Christmas break and thought we would give Peppers York Cove a try. Being that it was right next the boat ramp for access to the Tamar River the spot was perfect for our needs.

The resort exceeded our expectations in all it had to offer. The rooms were great size, really large and comfortable for me and my wife as well as our 2 children. Each room had its own ensuite and there were 3 large flat screen TV's in the apartment. The apartments overlook the water too which ads for a great sunset in the late evening.

The service was top class and the staff extremely friendly and knowledgeable.

The food in the restaurant was world class. The chef deserves the accolades he has managed to receive in recent times as the food was full of flavour with really generous portion sizes.

I would recommend this resort for anyone looking to get away for a quiet, relaxed trip.

Room Tip: Apartments have great views.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    100
    26
    9
    9
See reviews for
60
140
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Booked one night here as part of a two night visit to the Tamar Valley. Stayed the first night in Launceston and then travelled north at a leisurely pace, taking in the wineries on the eastern side of the valley. Our plan was to arrive at Peppers late afternoon and then enjoy a relaxing evening culminating with dinner in-house. Several of the cellar door staff we chatted to en route said how good the restaurant at Peppers York Cove was and assured us we wouldn't be disappointed. As we planned to have dinner and had eaten a cooked breakfast, we resisted having lunch at any of stops along the way.
It was therefore massively disappointing when we checked in at Peppers at around 4pm to discover that - it being Sunday - the restaurant and kitchen were entirely closed for the evening and that our only viable dining options were the local RSL Club, a couple of takeaways, a Chinese food outlet, and one of two pubs. While these establishments possibly do what they do quite well, they were understandably not set up to provide (and were certainly no substitute for) the 5 star dining experience to which we had been looking forward, and the prospect of which had influenced our booking decision.
In actual fact it wasn't just the restaurant at the hotel that was closed, EVERYTHING including its bar was closed, making the establishment feel like something of a ghost town.
Although we booked online, we had cause (due to technical difficulties) to speak to a member of staff at the hotel twice as well as a member of the central reservations team. While it was clear that we were only booking a Sunday night, neither party pointed out that we would not be able to avail ourselves of the full service and facilities!!
We feel strongly that the online booking system should issue a pop-up alert/warning to anyone booking a one-night Sunday stay, as the experience does not, and can not, equate to that of other nights, yet appears to attract the same rate.
We had booked a package that included breakfast. Rather more upbeat and welcoming service and a spontaneous explanation of what was on offer would have made this a more enjoyable experience!
Although we have stayed at and been impressed by several other properties in the Peppers chain, this - with the exception of the room which was excellent - failed to deliver to our expectations.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_Golley, General Manager at Peppers York Cove, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Starky4,

Thank you for your comments on your experience at Peppers York Cove and we are sorry that your expectation weren't met.

Generally notification is sent to guests who have booked through our website to advise them of early reception closure and also unavailability of meals on a Sunday if guest are due to arrive that day. I will follow up as to why this notification was not passed onto you and again apologise you were unable to enjoy our award winning food.

If you are ever travelling through this region again I urge you to contact me directly at the property so I can invite you to enjoy a discounted meal at our establishment.

Kind Regards
Alan Golley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose Bay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Five of us stayed here, in three bedroom luxury. The accommodation was modern, clean and very comfortable. The staff were helpful and cheerful. The food was fantastic and very reasonably priced - the menu included entre & main sized meals for most choices and both very good portions.

The resort has a gym and a pool as well as kids play area.

In all very good value.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abelev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_Golley, General Manager at Peppers York Cove, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Abelev,

Thank you for your review of Peppers York Cove.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the resort to be value for money.

Kind Regards
Alan Golley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The experience of this resort is mixed - like a lot of the Tasmanian experience. The Tamar Valley is picturesque but it struggles with the competing values, evident in much of Tasmania, between promotion of the natural beauty and richness of the landscape and natural attributes and the imperatives of progress and jobs = development, industrialisation, forest plantations and logging, mining ventures etc.
So - Peppers sits nearby the river, but feels a bit sterile and empty, a bit lost in the surrounds.
The rooms are clean and spacious, the decorations pleasant and the furnishings comfortable. Yet all still a bit soulless. We stayed there around the Xmas/New Year holiday period and while grateful for the quiet, felt somewhat isolated nonetheless.
There were some amusing aspects eg the in-room information boklet promised a library of rentable DVDs - but in its absence we checked with Reception and were given a small list of DVDs from the 1980s ! along with the comment:"We got sick of the DVDs being pinched so this is what's left" Why not increase the deposit for use to more than the DVD is worth and keep the DVD library up to date?? Asked for a skim milk coffee - sorry no "skinny milk" ...... OK a first world problem but the resort does offer itself as a first class establishment.

Room Tip: on the river, on first or ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_Golley, General Manager at Peppers York Cove, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Elizabeth O,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Peppers York Cove. We always appreciate feedback to help us improve on our standards and exceed guest expectations.

It is disappointing to hear that you feel the resort was sterile, "soulless" and isolated. We like to think that we have a quiet and peaceful feel to our property which reflects the quiet and peaceful nature of the Tamar Valley whilst providing spacious rooms with modern furnishings and appliances as well as great views of the river and near by small coastal township of George Town. We thank you for your opinion on your room and the restaurant décor.

The resort while located in a quiet coastal town, is only 15 minutes from the closest vineyard and 30 minutes from Launceston which we feel makes it quite accessible.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts on our property with trip advisor and hope that your comments help people make an informed decision about where they would like to stay whilst visiting this beautiful and peaceful region of Tasmania.

Kind Regards
Alan Golley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I just spent two days at Peppers York Cove for our 20 th Wedding Anniversary and we had a wonderful time.

The service was excellent from all staff.

The food was outstanding...we have travelled all over the world and can say without a doubt the food we had at dinner last night was first class. Congratulations to the Chefs and kitchen staff.

We would recommend Peppers to all our family and friends

Well done and Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_Golley, General Manager at Peppers York Cove, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Leanne T,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our property and once again congratulations on your 20 year anniversary.

Its great to hear we were able to make the occasions a joyful one for you and am please you have shared your experience with trip advisor.

We hope you come back soon.

Kind Regards
Alan Golley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We recently spent a couple of nights at this hotel. The location offers convenient accessibility to the wineries however the aesthetics and feel of its neighbouring surroundings significantly detracts from its appeal. The dining and bar areas are reminiscent of an RSL club. The room was sufficiently spacious but NOT 5 star standard. The pool and gym areas are very mediocre. Generally it lacks the ambiance you would typically associate with a 5 star hotel, including the calibre of service. A good base to explore the wineries if you are a wine buff - definitely not a destination in its own right. Overall a very underwhelming experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinceremente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_Golley, General Manager at Peppers York Cove, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Sinceremente,

Thank you for your comments and review of your stay at Peppers York Cove - Tamar Valley. It is disappointing to hear that your expectations of our property were not met and if you have any specific examples of where you were let down please email me directly at the property as we are always looking for ways to improve our service delivery and exceed our guest expectations. We are regularly making changes and adding to our décor to create an ambient environment for our guests.

Peppers York Cove does not advertise as a 5 star luxurious hotel but we do advertise ourselves as a 4.5 star service apartment resort with a mixture of Deluxe Hotel Rooms as well as 1,2 & 3 Bedroom, fully serviced apartments. We market ourselves as the gateway to the Tamar Valley Wine Route and are by far one of the better resorts in regional Tamar Valley as a majority of our trip adviser reviews reflect.

Cove Restaurant and Bar at Peppers York Cove has again for 2014 been awarded a Chef's Hat through the Australian Good Food Guide and is one of only 9 restaurant in the North of Tasmania and 26 restaurant throughout the entire island of Tasmania to be awarded this prestigious award. The restaurant boasts 180 degree views of the Tamar River through floor to ceiling glass windows. I don't believe you will find an RSL in Australia that compares with what we have to offer, but we thank you for honest opinion.

Kind Regards
Alan Golley - General Manager
Peppers York Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, a family of 5 people - 2 adults and 3 children under 12yo.
We flew in from Sydney on a 7 am flight (got up at 4 am that morning). We arrived at the hotel at about 11.30 am hoping to check in a little earlier( most of the time it's not an issue at other hotels) , the receptionist seemed very stressed and busy, she told us that the room was not ready yet , but we will be able to check in at 2 pm (their normal check in time). Fair enough we thought, so we explored the area till about 2pm, came back only to be told that it would be a bit longer ... We ended up in the room at 3.45 pm with lovely cleaning ladies (who were very sweet and extremely apologetic ) still finishing up. Seriously ??? Our 3 children were exhausted ! This part was rather disappointing. We had lunch at the restaurant whilst we waited, the food was good.
Otherwise, the location is just gorgeous, right on the water, the rooms are very spacious, modern and clean, restaurant and cleaning staff were very friendly !

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_Golley, General Manager at Peppers York Cove, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Lisa K,
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at Peppers York Cove, Tamar Valley. We always appreciate constructive comments that help us to improve our standards and exceed guest expectations.

I am sorry to hear about your experience at check in on the day of arrival to the hotel. As we advertise 2pm check in it is expected that the room will available for you no later than this time and the fact that it was not on this occasion we have no excuse for and I apologise for the inconvenience. I will investigate as to how this has happened on this particular day and ensure we put in place practices to ensure it does not happen again. This is a very rare occurrence, is not common practice at our property and generally stems from circumstances out of our control.

As you have mentioned, most hotels can accommodate early check ins and often we can too if we have rooms that were not utilised the night before. As this was a particularly busy time for the hotel, we did not have the rooms spare and your understanding of this is appreciated.

Warm Regards
Alan Golley
General Manager - Peppers York Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pier
Comfort Inn The Pier
#3 of 4 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Charles Robbins
The Charles Robbins
#2 of 4 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
24.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
18.7 mi away
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
#1 of 1 in Grindelwald
3.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tamar Cove Motel
Tamar Cove Motel
#2 of 2 in Beauty Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers York Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers York Cove

Property: Peppers York Cove
Address: 2 Ferry Boulevard, George Town, Tasmania 7253, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers York Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Tamar River, Peppers York Cove is a premium waterfront resort designed to deliver an unforgettable array of experiences just a 30 minute drive from Launceston. The resort's stylish accommodation includes a range of hotel rooms, one, two and three bedroom apartments each appointed with deluxe decor and furnishings. Each apartment boasts sliding doors that open to either a courtyard or balcony with river views. A stone's throw from the oversized balcony to the Majestic Tamar River, as well as beautiful manicured lawns, the apartments feature the latest kitchen, laundry and bathroom facilities. With ensuites, spas, open plan kitchen, dining and lounge, central heating and 3 underground car spaces you have everything you need. The luxurious and modern hotel room features a king size bed, deluxe bathroom with a bath, separate shower and even features heated towel rails. Each room offers central heating, a minibar, tea & coffee making facilities and room service from one of the finest Tasmanian restaurants at your fingertips - Cove Bar & Restaurant. Within the resort you can indulge your senses in countless ways. Relax in the heated pool and spa, workout in the fully equipped gym or simply kick back on your apartment's own private courtyard or balcony overlooking the Tamar River. At the Cove Restaurant and Bar you can sample award-winning wines from the region before savouring the infinite flavours of modern Australian cuisine made from the freshest local produce. Overlooking the marina and Tamar River, you have a choice of inside or year-round outside dining while taking in captivating Tamar Valley views. ****NOTE: COVE BAR AND RESTAURANT IS CLOSED ON SUNDAY EVENINGS & MONDAY LUNCH**** The resort is perfectly positioned to launch all kinds of adventures. From Low Head, you can take a penguin tour to see the world's smallest penguins clamber to their nests each night or visit the two main beaches, East Beach on Bass Strait, or the quieter and safer Lagoon Bay on the estuary. Picnic areas with electric barbecues are featured near both beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Peppers York Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers York Cove Tasmania/George Town, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing