We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury”
Review of Peppers York Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers York Cove
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed at this establishment as a base for the Tamar Valley Wine Trail. What a surprise. It was very roomy and quite cosy to the extent my wife said she could live here. The lounge room and eating area along with the large decking area was a winner. Would recommend this facility to anyone for a base to the vineyards

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    105
    30
    9
    10
See reviews for
72
153
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I highly recommend this property. The 2 bedroom water view apartment was huge and very well appointed. Huge kitchen, really nice bathrooms, bedrooms and large lounge room and balconies overlooking the lake. The service was also very good and accommodating and the communication between the front office and restaurant was very impressive. The onsite restaurant/bar was also excellent. We dined there for dinner and breakfast and it was delicious. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Get a waterview apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kylie24_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

After forgetting there was a big sporting event on in Launceston accommodation was a little scarce so we decided to try outside of Launceston and stayed at Peppers York Cove in Georgetown. The accommodation was amazing. We had an apartment with fantastic kitchen and great appliances. The living area was huge and the full length balcony great for sitting on and enjoying the last of the sun on what was a very nice winters day. Bed was very comfortable and the TV in the bedroom an added bonus. Staff were very friendly. Had dinner but unfortunately was a little disappointed. The breakfast the next morning was very nice however. Would return - no problem.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
914 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Well I thought this place was lovely - even though I didn't have an apartment or anything near as nice as some of the rooms described by other reviewers. It looks like they set the rooms up so they interconnect, so at the front overlooking the water, there are the super duper apartments other people have described. It looks like those ones have the kitchens and great views and are two bed apartments. And then there's the rooms like I stayed in, which have a connecting door presumably to the second bedroom and front apartment.

The complex is very very new. Quite modern and attractive inside though very hollow and echo-y in the hallways, so the slightest sound of people moving around is amplified and if you get a gaggle of people all talking, it sounds like you are at a football match. Definitely not a nice way to be woken up at 6.30am as I was.

However, even though I only had a room and even though there was no view to speak of, the room was very nice. Large bathroom with separate bath. Also a separate toilet. Quite a lot of hanging space and cupboards and bathrobes. Yay. Lovely fluffy bathrobes. So I had a bubbie bath and then wrapped myself in the robe and relaxed for the night. But it was the bed that did it for me. So very inviting. Couldn't wait to go to bed, and it was quite lovely and comfortable. Probably had my best nights sleep in a while.

We ate in the restaurant and I thought the food was superb though the service was pretty poor (there was only one other couple in the restaurant). Also had breakfast as it was included in the price of the room. I didn't think much of the breakfast but the prices were reasonable.

I think this place would be fantastic for a romantic weekend away, especially if you got one of the fabulous front apartments on the top floor. The views would be just lovely from there. Could also be a good place for groups of people with the interconnecting room scenario. The complexes consist of two storey town houses with two apartments per floor and two single rooms per floor, so a very large group could potentially take over an entire town house!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie N, Manager at Peppers York Cove, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and review of our resort.
We are very lucky to have such a beautiful location. I would love to hear more in regards to the service you received in the restaurant and invite you to contact me at lucie.nicol@peppers.com.au
We strive to produce great service as we believe this compliments the food to produce an overall enjoyable experience and are continually providing on going training to our staff to do so, and any feedback in greatly appreciated.
Kind Regards,
Lucie Nicol
Operations & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Fantastic Accommodation highly recommend a 1 bedroom apartment, extremely spacious, modern & clean. Fantastic service staff extremely helpful and friendly. Would recommend having breakfast at the hotel it is top notch, also dined here for dinner both nights which would highly rate. Bed's are comfortable, Full Kitchen, TV in bedroom and Living Room. Fantastic Grounds, loved the Games Room (although bit pricey to pay the games / pool) Pool is heated, great view and secure undercover parking. Approx 25 minutes drive from Launceston. Would definitely stay here again when next in the area, would have to be one of the best Peppers I have stayed at.

Room Tip: 1 Bedroom Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentoztravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband & I often go for a drive on a weekend for our coffee and today drove up to Georgetown from Launceston. We first went out to low head and Bell Buoy Beach then back to Peppers in Georgetown. We arrived there at 3.55pm and was told that they close the café/bar at 4pm and it was too late to get coffee. The hotel itself remained open and it would not have been a problem to sit in the café/bar/reception area as they were open anyway but the girl was too lazy to make 2 cups of coffee. As we have been there many times before, I don't ever remember being told they were closed but I do know that we will never go there again.
What sort of hotel closes a bar/café area at 4pm? We drove back to Launceston and had our coffee at Hotel Grand Chancellor.

Room Tip: I would not personally stay here on principal although the location is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie N, Manager at Peppers York Cove, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We apologise for any inconvenience caused to you. Our restaurant closes early on Sundays, with lunch finishing at 3:00pm and no dinner service. Generally the staff would have been able to serve you at that time having been any other day, however the coffee machine had been cleaned with a chemical cleaner on Sundays and had been turned off for the evening as part of the pack down, with reception staying open slightly longer for hotel check ins.
Once again, we apologise for your disappointment and hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Lucie Nicol
Operations & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Booked to stay here for 2 nights, advising a late arrival. When we arrived reception was closed - no big deal - but no-one answered the after hours number. Still waiting for a return call. Bizzare. Seriously what is the world coming to

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Joshwarbo546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pier
Comfort Inn The Pier
#3 of 4 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Charles Robbins
The Charles Robbins
#2 of 4 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
24.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
19.0 mi away
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
#1 of 1 in Grindelwald
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.1 mi away
Low Head Tourist Park
Low Head Tourist Park
#1 of 6 in Low Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers York Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers York Cove

Property: Peppers York Cove
Address: 2 Ferry Boulevard, George Town, Tasmania 7253, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers York Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Tamar River, Peppers York Cove is a premium waterfront resort designed to deliver an unforgettable array of experiences just a 30 minute drive from Launceston. The resort's stylish accommodation includes a range of hotel rooms, one, two and three bedroom apartments each appointed with deluxe decor and furnishings. Each apartment boasts sliding doors that open to either a courtyard or balcony with river views. A stone's throw from the oversized balcony to the Majestic Tamar River, as well as beautiful manicured lawns, the apartments feature the latest kitchen, laundry and bathroom facilities. With ensuites, spas, open plan kitchen, dining and lounge, central heating and 3 underground car spaces you have everything you need. The luxurious and modern hotel room features a king size bed, deluxe bathroom with a bath, separate shower and even features heated towel rails. Each room offers central heating, a minibar, tea & coffee making facilities and room service from one of the finest Tasmanian restaurants at your fingertips - Cove Bar & Restaurant. Within the resort you can indulge your senses in countless ways. Relax in the heated pool and spa, workout in the fully equipped gym or simply kick back on your apartment's own private courtyard or balcony overlooking the Tamar River. At the Cove Restaurant and Bar you can sample award-winning wines from the region before savouring the infinite flavours of modern Australian cuisine made from the freshest local produce. Overlooking the marina and Tamar River, you have a choice of inside or year-round outside dining while taking in captivating Tamar Valley views. ****NOTE: COVE BAR AND RESTAURANT IS CLOSED ON SUNDAY EVENINGS & MONDAY LUNCH**** The resort is perfectly positioned to launch all kinds of adventures. From Low Head, you can take a penguin tour to see the world's smallest penguins clamber to their nests each night or visit the two main beaches, East Beach on Bass Strait, or the quieter and safer Lagoon Bay on the estuary. Picnic areas with electric barbecues are featured near both beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers York Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers York Cove Tasmania/George Town, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing