We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in First Class Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Charles Robbins
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Raj and Maureen were the most friendly, helpful hosts in this superb accommodation. We stayed in the Tom Thumb suite. On arrival, Raj gave us a tour of the property showing us the full range of facilities in the suite and presented us with a welcome cheese platter, sparkling pink wine and a decanter of port! We stayed for three nights and made full use of the lazy boy chairs, large TV, full y fitted kitchen and Jacuzzi bath which were a welcome relief after a full days sight seeing. The Charles Robbins is located in a prime area next to the River Tamar with Woolworth's just over the road and round the corner from the high street. On the day we arrived Maureen and Raj invited us out to dinner the following night with friends of theirs. We spent a lovely evening with good food, good drink and excellent company. Maureen arranged for us to go to Low Head one evening to see fairy penguins coming up the beach from a day at sea. Low Head and the beautiful beaches are just five minutes from this hotel. We had a hire car with which to explore this beautiful part of the world and had secure, gated parking in the hotel's courtyard. If you are looking for accommodation in George Town, wether for business or pleasure, we thoroughly recommend The Charles Robbins Hotel as the perfect place to stay, with the perfect hosts. Thank you Maureen and Raj.

Room Tip: All rooms are superb in this accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RRLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and reference. It was a great pleasure having you stay at The Charles Robbins. We look forward to the day you say you are returning to Australia and hope to keep in touch in the mean time. Maureen & Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

A bit of a late review, but I wanted to be sure to give them their due! This place was fantastic! A gorgeous huge clean room with super comfy linens and incredibly hospitable hosts. Big, fully equipped kitchen, lovely clean spa bath with bubbles, and even a massage chair! Maureen helped me with every little detail down to a local cheese and fruit platter and organizing a private catered dinner from a local restaurant. Breakfast basket for 2 was enough for a whole week of food, and we felt pampered and well taken care of. Outstanding value for what we received. I would honestly have paid more!

Lovely people, gorgeous room, one of the best. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Get the breakfast basket!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaineMarite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Raj and Maureen have created a boutique motel in an unlikely place. Not that George Town is without beauty and nearby attractions, but the level of appointments in this little motel belies the socio-economic disadvantage of the area.
We stayed 2 nights in the Bass suite which, like other suites reviewed, had everything one could wish for. WiFi, full kitchen, DTV, access to on-line movies, spa bath, and the ever helpful Raj, a model host.
Access to Woolworths for supplies is easy across to street and the river side walk is but a stone's throw away.
One is limited with respect to good eating in the immediate vicinity. We did not try the Peppers resort opposite unfortunately. Close by is a cheap and cheerful pizza/italian restaurant and two pubs offering what basically is pub fare. One is advised to consider a modicum of self-catering.
We can recommend this motel as a great springboard for the penguin rookery at Low Head and for the vineyards of Northeast tasmania

Room Tip: From what we saw, any of the rooms have charm. Ours was a courtyard room and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Equanimitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My partner and I stayed in the Cumberland suite which is appointed with every creature comfort you could possibly want in holiday accommodation. Enjoy plush leather recliners as you channel surf, make yourself a meal in the well equipped kitchen or enjoy the in room spa bath. Raj is a very friendly host who showed us all the features of the room. The Charles Robbins is well positioned for those wanting to travel to Low Head, tour the Tamar's wine region or just get away to somewhere a little bit different. Close to all the local shops and right on the water for those who want to go for a morning stroll. Highly recommended to those staying in George Town.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jarrod V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The self contained suite was well maintained and clean. We stayed at the Texel room which has the best kitchen, you can even find a rice cooker there! The accommodation is conveniently located which is just across Woolworths and next to York Cove. We did have our breakfast by York Cove. Hosts Maureen and Raj were helpful and friendly. If we come to George Town again, no doubt we will stay at The Charles Robbins again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cecily_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

A very comfortable place in the heart of George Town on the north coast of Tasmania, The self contained apartment has everything that you need, even baking equipment in a very well set up environment. The bed was very comfortable, as we wished that we were staying a few more nights. A sauna in the bathroom and foxtel, wireless internet connection included in the very reasonable price. A must stay when in George Town!

Room Tip: They only have 5 rooms, so I imagine that as the room we stayed in, they would all be of the same hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This accommodation was truly an eye-opener! We came across the excellent reviews by other fellow travellers on Trip Advisor and decided to take the plunge. What they have all said previously is correct. The accommodation is beautiful and certainly full of everything you would wish for in a room. As we only spent one night, we didn't need to use many of the appliances or sauna, but we certainly had a good nights' sleep in the plush bed. The room had good quality fittings and linens and was very tastefully decorated. Raj and Maureen were very kind hosts who went just that little bit extra to ensure our stay was comfortable and relaxing. I will definitely tell my family and friends to stay here if ever they are in the area. Thank you Raj and Maureen for a most enjoyable and memorable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Phoenix room which we loved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fluffyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pier
Comfort Inn The Pier
#3 of 4 in George Town
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers York Cove
Peppers York Cove
#1 of 4 in George Town
348 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tamar Cove Motel
Tamar Cove Motel
#2 of 2 in Beauty Point
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grove
The Grove
#1 of 3 in George Town
21 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Robbins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Robbins

Address: 3 Charles Robbins Pl, George Town, Tasmania 7253, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in George Town
Price Range: £79 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Charles Robbins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Charles Robbins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Robbins Tasmania/George Town, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing