We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hobart Cabins and Cottages
Albury
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“absolutely great”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

there were 18 of us that stayed here in the 2 houses that are available, one sleeps 15 and the other 9 i think it was. so much room, we all loved it. probably could have slept all of us in the one house. friendly and helpful

Room Tip: book 1 of the houses if there are a few of u
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlburyMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    16
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
24
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denham, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Hobart Cabins & Cottages during the month of January 2014. We had a wonderful stay and would recommend them to anyone who is looking for clean, comfortable accommodation central to everything and so easy to access. The cabins were a delight and suited our needs completely. The owners, Jason & Darlene were very friendly, which added to the enjoyment of the stay, and always on hand to attend any problems we may have had.

Room Tip: Anywhere in the park was nice to go as they are located in a quiet street, even though they are clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat Vic
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We had our honeymoon in Tassie and had our last leg in Hobart. When we got to our accommodation we were very impressed with the look of the entrance. First impressions! Jason the owner was friendly and made us feel very welcome. Not only that, he gave us an upgrade to the Rose Cottage seeing as it was our honeymoon. It was awesome! Plus it had a small kitchen so we could cook. Good money saver. But was an enjoyable stay and we had a good time! Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank duppy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Brilliant gated secure location. We were fortunate to have one of only 4 powered sites. Each site has it's own lockable shower and toilet in the amenities block. Also had our own sink....Hand towel, bath mat. Facilities were THE BEST! We have travelled and camped all over Australia. Side note...... Staff at a park we enquired at prior to securing a spot here can only be described as 'downright rude!'
Here the laundry had a kitchen attached, a clean comfy lounge chair .....vending machines available and a fridge for communal use. Only suitable for a smallish van or camper but definitely worth booking ahead to secure a site! We have NO hesitation in returning again! Felt safe.....it was spotless....our home away from home! Our neighbours were lovely too!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank daisy_flower_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
282 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed in a cabin for 3 nights with our two small children. We were overall disappointed with our stay here. The park is located in a residential area out of Hobart (although only a 10 minute drive to the city). The park grounds and gardens were in need of maintenance and the kids playground looked unappealing and unsafe. Our cabin was very basic which we expected for the price. The cabin really needed quite a bit of maintenance also - the front wooden steps were broken, the key lock was difficult to manage and the bathroom was cold due to large gaps in the gyprock surrounding the toilet. Most disappointing of all was unclean state of the kitchen. The fridge stank of garlic and the smell went through everything we stored in the fridge. The previous occupant must have cooked with a lot of oil which had splashed over everything including the portable hotplates and kettle. There was left over food in the colander and cutlery was unclean. The fridge leaked water and there was a constant puddle of water on the floor. On a positive note, it was a cheap place to stay and the beds were comfortable (with clean linen!).

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mewett_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glenorchy hotels

Tasmanian
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here under previous owners and was very disappointed. New owners have done an amazing job of renovations, making cabins very inviting and much more homely. A welcome addition is the heat pump which we really needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outonadate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Small, well maintained park. Very clean and quiet. Friendly and helpful staff. There were 8 of us and the house was just great with 2 bathrooms, heating in lounge area and hallways (a necessity in Hobart in winter) plenty of seating in lounge and well equipped kitchen/dining area. Would certainly stay again. Close to Brooker Highway which leads directly into central Hobart .

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
2.8 mi away
Claremont Hotel Motel
Claremont Hotel Motel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
30 reviews
2.6 mi away
Graham Apartments
Graham Apartments
#23 of 46 in Hobart
166 reviews
2.4 mi away
Discovery Parks - Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Riverfront Motel & Villas
0.9 mi away
Martin Cash Motel
Martin Cash Motel
#1 of 1 in Moonah
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Balmoral Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobart Cabins and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobart Cabins and Cottages

Property: Hobart Cabins and Cottages
Address: Elwick Caravan Park 19 Goodwood Rd, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7010, Australia (Formerly Elwick Cabin & Tourist Park)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Glenorchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hobart Cabins and Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hobart cabins & cottages is situated on three acres of park like settings, just seven ( 7 ) minutes from Hobarts CBD and the popular Salamanca market and constitution dock , just a few minutes walk from the entertainment centre and show grounds and five ( 5 )from the ever popular Cadbury chocolate factory ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hobart Cabins and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing