We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Motel Marengo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel Marengo
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

One of the few places that would let you book just one night on great ocean road for a decent price.
It's a small place with only a few rooms (10 or so?) and they are right opposite the reception. The rooms are are 'cottage' style and big enough for 4 adults to stay comfortably. The place was clean, quiet and well maintained. They also had a pool and bbq area although we didnt stay long enough to use it.

The location is pretty good too. It's 5 mins to Apollo bay, 15 mins to great otway national park where you can see wild koalas (on the road to the lighthouse) and it's also at a good mid-way point on the way to 12 apostals (1 hours 15 mins to get there)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joerajeev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    94
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
101
120
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed one night at Motel Marengo. Our party of 5 had 2 rooms for our stay - each room had a queen bed in main living area and a separate room with 2 x single beds. Although the motel is an older style motel it was very clean and comfortable. Don't be put off by the motel being on the main road as no traffic was heard during the night. The gentleman in reception was very pleasant and offered suggestions for dining etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Well worth talking to James about the region and what to do/visit for the time you will spend there. As we stayed at the motel for five nights, we were able to explore the areas that James had suggested - as well as others. Relaxed and comfortable. Just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank residingtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

All those positive reviews are spot on! Stayed for 2 nights with visiting relatives. Room was v. clean, James was super helpful, feeding the birds went down well as did some of his suggested activities in the area. Comfy bed, slept well both nights. Walked the 30 mins or so into Apollo Bay on one of the evenings - path almost all the way. Would definitely stay again next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Being a long weekend, we were a bit disappointed as we were not able to secure a booking at the usual place we stay at Apollo Bay. Motel Marengo turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Although the rooms are not brand new and flashy, they were spotlessly clean. The BBQ outside was awesome, and we had a great time. Although not in the center of the town, the motel is still reasonably close to the town. I will probably stay at Motel Marengo again for my next trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank in_oz_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed there in September and awarded the place 5 stars. We stayed again in March (with different family) and needless to say the place was top notch again.

A highly recommended stop over for a two day Great Ocean Road trip. Great rooms, great staff, great location, great facilities...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S1m0nT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We visited this Motel some two years before when the owner had not long been there.Since returning it was nice to see the improvements that James and Andy had made.
It was once again the best value on that route,along with the friendly owner /operator makes it for us an easy choice. They had put in new beds,curtains and blinds which made for a comfortable sleep.
We also enjoyed the pool and spa which was a really good temperature. Extremely clean rooms.
A bonus was the free movies in the room.Will use again when we are next in area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apollo Bay
1.8 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
609 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
1.5 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
1.7 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
1.4 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Marengo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Marengo

Property: Motel Marengo
Address: 26-28 Great Ocean Rd | Marengo, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel Marengo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel Marengo is a small independent family owned and run motel set back in a quiet area of Apollo Bay, but still maintaining easy access for guests with its Great Ocean Road location. The motel offers comfortable well equipped 1 and 2 bedroom suites, sleeping 2 to 5 guests. All the units contain Kitchenette's with fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle, crockery and cutlery adjacent to a dining area. The property boasts a lush tropical pool area with heated spa nearby to a BBQ / Picnic area and an abundance of colourful native birds.Other inclusions at the hotel are as follows :- FREE Foxtel Cable TV (platinum) package with over 100 channels including 10 complimentary Movie channels and Sports channels- FREE Wifi, FREE Wetsuit Hire and Body Boards (Beach is located 3 minutes walk)- FREE Board games for any rainy days during your stay- FREE DVD Library (*DVD player surcharge $10 for entire stay)- FREE guest BBQ ....And lastly but we think most importantly...we can give you great tourist advice to let you know what the highlights of the area are, the nicest walks, the biggest waterfalls, where to spot wildlife, the best viewing points for sunset and sunrise. We can also provide you with local maps at no extra charge, and having toured the local area extensively ourselves we can also offer advice on other areas you maybe intending to visit after your stay in Apollo Bay to make sure you make the most of your time in this beautiful region of ours. ****** We recommend that before you book online, you check out our direct website as we can offer lower prices by selling direct to the public, more room options which are unavailable to online agents and better booking conditions giving you greater flexibility with your travel plans ******* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel Marengo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing