We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in an expensive part of Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Skenes Creek Lodge Motel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Lismore, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Value for money in an expensive part of Victoria”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We booked last-minute-ish for a trip on the GOR, and chose this property not so much for the price - which was excellent compared to most on the route, including private hostel rooms - as the availability, so I wasn't expecting much. However, it was clean, comfortable, and featured a lovely ocean view. Walking distance to a lovely rocky, tide-pooly beach for the kids. Helpful, kind staff. Probably priced like it is because it isn't in town, but hey, if you're driving the GOR you've got a car anyways.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    19
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
28
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Property is clean, and has a fun grass area that our kids enjoyed running around on. Location is so-so, nothing is really within walking distance. Rooms are fairly old, with cinder brick walls. It wasn't really bad, nor was it really good. Just a place to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zracoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The motel is set back from the road across from the beach. The room was nice and had a refrigerator and good AC. As it was a holiday weekend, they got lots of $$ for just a motel. The owners were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Pulled into the lodge 2 days before New Year on a long shot that there may be a room available. We got the last room at a discounted rate for New Year! It's a 3 star and has to be assessed on that basis. We give it 5 out of 5. Sea view, great owners, log fire in room. We landed on our feet.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BarraCOOda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked two standard double rooms at the beginning of August for 1 night. On arrival we were given a warm welcome and told that we had been upgraded to ocean view rooms, which was good. The room was compact, but managed to contain everything we required to make breakfast very neatly. Everything was spotlessly clean, and electric blankets on the bed and an electric room heater soon made it very cosy.
As it was out of season food wasn't available on the premises, but the owner directed us to several good places to eat in Appollo Bay, a five minute drive away, which wasn't a problem.
In the morning we watched the sunrise over the ocean from the veranda and walked along the lovely beach across the road.
I would happily have stayed longer but our time was limited, and my son is now a motel convert.
This is not a place to stay if you want huge rooms and facilities, but you won't beat it for value or location.

Room Tip: We loved the ocean view rooms on the end of the row, but the surf was very noisy. If you have troubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilly2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The family, 2 +2 (16 +12) stayed for one night in a family room while driving the great ocean road. Our room was warm and spacious with a queen bed, bunks as well as a couch, decent Tv and microwave, toaster etc. our son is 6 foot 3 and he was comfortable in the bunks. The bathroom was clean but basic, a little chilly, but it was mid winter. There was no noise and we slept well. The location is beautiful, ocean views, cows and beautiful hills out the back. We ate at Chris's restaurant which is up the hill. Fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turtonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

An older style motel located along the highway several miles from Apollo Bay. The room was clean and comfortable. Home style meals in the dining room served buffet style. Supurb ocean views and easy access to the beach across the highway. The bed was comfortable, hot showers, and basic coffee/tea facilities available. Wine was available for purchase in the dining room at a reasonable price. The only drawback was that it was not located in Apollo Bay. However, at night it was incredibly quiet. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Definitely a place worth staying at if distance from Apollo Bay is not an issue.

Room Tip: Request a room with ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver_Budgie_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apollo Bay
3.5 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
615 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
18.7 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
3.5 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
5.0 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skenes Creek Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skenes Creek Lodge Motel

Property: Skenes Creek Lodge Motel
Address: 61 Great Ocean Rd | Skenes Creek, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Skenes Creek Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Management July 2015! Skenes Creek Lodge Motel is situated on Victoria's iconic Great Ocean Road, just on the outskirts of Apollo Bay - only six minutes drive from the town centre, or just over two hours south-west of Melbourne's CBD. Our Great Ocean Road accommodation is conveniently positioned on the Otway Coast (between the legendary Surf Coast and the stunning Shipwreck Coast), and has spectacular panoramic views of the Southern Ocean and nearby Apollo Bay. Skenes Creek Lodge Motel features a peaceful garden setting by the beach, on a spacious property that lies between the rugged coastline of the Great Ocean Road, and the green foothills of the Otway Ranges. Joyce, your host at Skenes Creek Lodge Motel, takes pride in offering you clean and comfortable Great Ocean Road accommodation, along with excellent service, and a friendly welcoming atmosphere that makes you feel like a valued guest, not just another nameless traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Skenes Creek Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing