We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks good, but is a bit average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Iluka Restaurant

Iluka Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 30 Restaurants in Apollo Bay
Cuisines: Pizza, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Looks good, but is a bit average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This place had been around forever, centre of the Main Street so has a good market share of passing trade and tourist action. I bet the locals don't bother. Food was ok and a good variety, it was a long weekend so it should be fresh as high turnover not stale sitting around waiting for customers. It has restaraunt and full take away.
The staff were disinterested and a little unfamiliar with customer service. Took forever to write down our simple order.
The HOT CHOCOLATEs were terrible. Just water on top of powder with a dash of milk, but made at the coffee machine. Very wishy washy.
If we hadn't already driven off I would have gone back to ask for a proper one as they charged the standard full milk price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank carliz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    38
    18
    14
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Naked Fish and Chips.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The restaurant looks welcoming and the service is just ok (don't bother to smile to customers). We ate naked fish and chips. Just the fish and the chips, like seriously? No mayo, no sauce, or salad, or at least a slice of tomato. and $1 for the sauce? Just unacceptable if u have to pay for the sauce. And it's the only halal restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliaOthman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just like many that come and go.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Yeah you guys hopefully won't be around much longer. You rude service , and no idea how to keep your customers clearly show u have money to start a business but No idea how to run one.Food was garbage and the wrong order and your staff are s**t house!! Hurry up and move on please!

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WHY BOTHER?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Sick and tired of restaurant owners like this, there are plenty in Apollo bay and it spoils the place completely!!
Virtually 70 percent of tourist businesses are run by people with NO IDEA about customer service or food prep!!

As usual we went away for a relaxing weekend with friends and ended up in this place.
It looks welcoming, then the waiter with a no care attitude proceeds to give the 3 degree "yeah yeah I know the one, yeah yeah what next"...Ended up bring my girlfriend the wrong wine, the wrong pizza and even the wrong beer. Are you for real?>
This was proceeded by a younger waiter coming out to tell us the previous waiting doesn't speak English!! Well it seemed he understood enough. The group next to us then started to complain about their incorrect orders too!! Also if you’re going to talk s**t about your customers complaining DONT do it in front of them in your language as its pretty damn obvious you clueless morons! Can’t wait till you shut down!!
Again, more certifications are needed before people like this can just open up shop just to get rich and leech off the tourism industry!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Try the pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

After having awful fish and chips at a few doors down, we wanted something affordable but not disgusting. This place offers affordable budget meals. We chose the pizza with the lot which exceeded expectations! The family size is gigantic!

Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iluka Restaurant also viewed

 
Apollo Bay, Victoria
Apollo Bay, Victoria
 

Been to Iluka Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing