We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Captain's At The Bay
Ranked #1 of 19 Apollo Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Had a wonderful stay here, a nice romantic room! Everything was spotless, no complaints at all. Would definately recommend. Only thing was loud banging doors as everyone else opened and closed their doors but I think this was due to a large family group sharing our wing hence lots of moving about between rooms!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 404travels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    145
    32
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
388
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in April and we were in the bridge room for two nights. What a lovely room, bath in the main room for a romantic touch lovely clean bathroom and large verandah overlooking the ocean.
Breaks basic but very friendly staff.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ozmurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed in a terrace room for two nights and could not fault anything. The room was excellent very good size and comfortable. Service was very good and the breakfast fantastic. Would recommend this as a base for exploring great ocean road attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 64jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Recently stayed here in the Bridge room, beautifully decorated and the bath in the bedroom added a touch of luxury. Friendly welcome and ideal for a short getaway for couples exploring the Great Ocean road.

Room Tip: Worth staying in the Bridge rooms beautiful view over the coast from the balcony and luxurious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovefood92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We were two couples travelling and chose to stay in "The Loft" as a finale for our 4 day road trip.
Honestly, it's very nice, but I found it impersonal and cold compared to much cheaper accommodation we had in Port Fairy and Peterborough. I guess it's because Apollo Bay is much closer to Melbourne and gets a lot of weekend trade.
$250 for the night included a reasonable continental breakfast though.
The maximum we paid elsewhere was $170 for a 2 bedroom double story cottage where we cooked our own toast and eggs, and had tea and coffee provided. Shrug. I guess everyone is different and the really tastefully decorated Captain's is very nice accommodation.
We were able to stroll to the pub for drinks before buying takeaway pizzas for our evening meal.
In conclusion, it's very nice, but a bit more like a hotel than a B&B, and again, I think too expensive.

Room Tip: Can't comment on others, but "The Loft" is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were refered to this as our original acomodation only had one night available. The original was great and this was just as good staff more than helpful ( when i told them we were checking out across the road they got the cleaners in early and we were able to move straight across at 1000 in the morning) The rooms were terrific and the breakfast was great and all for only $100 . All staf were wonderful and rooms very clean neat and tidy as well as new.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
156 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed one night here while driving through the Great Ocean Road and I must say the room as one of the best we had in Australia. We enjoyed the small terrace just outside our bedroom. The hotel is conveniently located near the beach, each room has one parking space allocated and staff can lend you beach towels if you want to go for a swim.

We decided not to go for the cooked breakfast, it was very hot and eating bacon and eggs felt inadequate to us. The standard one was just ok, although too sweet for my taste.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.2 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
1.6 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's At The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's At The Bay

Property: Captain's At The Bay
Address: 21 Pascoe St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain's At The Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captains at the Bay is a modern, well appointed Bed and Breakfast centrally located in the seaside village of Apollo Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Captain's At The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s At The Bay Hotel Apollo Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing