We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
Review of Chocolate Gannets

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chocolate Gannets
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Visited as a return traveller after receiving a discount offer.

Last time was 8 years ago and showing some age since. Coffee machine is now terrible and njot worth the effort and the place needs a freshen up with paint and some attention to fly screens etc.

Having said that, we still very much enjoyed our stay. The location is still stunning even though we were in Unit 1 i.e. not at the front. Still great views from the front deck and our master bedroom - we left the window open all night and listened to the wonderful soothing sounds of the sea. nice comfortable bed and good linen, plenty of pillows to chose from. Generous sized double spa too and again you could lay back and gaze out to sea.

Nice breakfast provisions - yummy muesli, good read, preserves and plenty of fresh fruit. Tea a bit light on and coffee machine not worth the frustration.

Very roomy, large lounge with a view and comfortable furniture. Bedrooms and bathrooms also roomy and the view out to sea from the shower was great.

Getting across the busy road to the beach may be a trial for families especially as it finishes through uncut grass and a fairly sharp bank.

Unit 1, even at the rear, was fine and we loved our stay.

Room Tip: Unit 1 a little cheaper than the front two units and quite fine - still a lovely view and close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 255100Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest M, Guest Relations Manager at Chocolate Gannets, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hi Charlie
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and glad you enjoyed your stay and the views from Villa 1. We are aware of the issues you mentioned and are trying to get through most of these.
Hopefully it wont be another 8 years till you stay with us again.
Hope to see you soon.
Chocolate Gannets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    14
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at Chocolate Gannets for 3 nights in December. The villa was spacious and the location was very convenient for Apollo Boy. It probably did deserve its 5 star rating 10 years ago when first built but it now looks a little tired. It could do with the grass outside being cut and a walking path to the beach. There were some good touches with fresh fruit and chocolates and a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TK1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest M, Guest Relations Manager at Chocolate Gannets, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Hi TK
Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are assessed by AAA Tourism for our 5 Star rating and were inspected last October. We are not self assessed. You have to remember that we are self contained villa's.
We are located on a natural setting and try to maintain this aspect without destroying the sea grasses.
Thanks for the suggestion of the walkway to the beach but I would have thought that the wide driveway we have is more than ample. We only have 4 villa's so there isn't a traffic issue with walking down the drive. If you're suggesting a walkway on the beach side of the Great Ocean Road then that's out of our hand as don't own the land.
Thanks for staying with us and hope you come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Greeted on arrival with construction work beside our villa which we were not made aware off. Told we had uninterrupted ocean views which is true for the front villas but not for two behind which had views of the two front villas. When we questioned manager were told nothing he could do no refund or compensation, he put us on to the owner who abused my wife for wanting a refund .The condition of accommadation is run down with wood rot and tiles with grout lifting and very second hand furnishings and food supplied was past its use by date! Don't know how they ever got their 5star rating as there isn't even a footpath from the premises to the beach just a steep driveway to share with cars . This place needs an upgrade and more honesty in their advertising and most all to conduct their business with professionalism.

Room Tip: Make sure if you decide to still stay here you demand one of the two front villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank james j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest M, Manager at Chocolate Gannets, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Hi James
Thanks for your review. I have to apologize for the noise the construction caused. These works had taken longer than anticipated with weather also playing it's part delaying completion.
I'm sorry to remind you that you made your booking via Booking.com and never spoke to us directly in regards to the views. You would have seen on their website photos of the available views. In saying that your villa is the only villa which has views of Apollo Bay township lit up at night from the spa room.
We are always making improvements to our premises but I can assure we have no second hand furniture.
Sorry you were disappointed with your stay but you come again and stay in one of our Premium Villa's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This stay exceeded our expectations. Villa 4 was private with uninterrupted view of the sea and Apollo Bay was beautiful at night. The area was extremely large with a king bedroom (with 10 pillows to choose from), another bedroom with two single beds, fully equipped kitchen, ensuite with double shower and toilet, separate bathroom and spa room (with a view to die for). Nice touches included awaiting wine, chocolates and well stocked fresh supplies for breakfast. The fireplace was a welcome addition but a delight to also experience from the spa room and bedroom.
Blue wren, gold finches ad a variety of honey eater kept us entertained whist resting on our private deck admiring the sea views!
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Villas 2 and 4 have uninterrupted sea view. Worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest M, Guest Relations Manager at Chocolate Gannets, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hi AussieRoamers
Thanks for your review, it is much appreciated. Apollo Bay is a wonderful part of the world, peaceful and serene, where you sit outside, watch the waves roll in and not have a care in the world.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bairnsdale, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

A wonderful time spent at Chocolate Gannets, the villa was very spacious, clean and well maintained. The basket of goodies included breakfast provisions, wine, chocolates and more. The view from Villa One was lovely, rolling hills, ocean, sand and the lights of Apollo Bay at night. Sheep on the hilltop, Wallaby's in the neighboring land and daily visits by little wrens and finches I don't doubt that the view from the front villas would be amazing but Villa One did not disappoint. The ambiance of a wood fire, double spa with ocean views and a shower with a view all added to the experience. I loved the swing on the deck a great place to relax after a day of exploring the Great Ocean Road.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest M, Manager at Chocolate Gannets, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Hi Sheila,thanks for your positive review, glad you enjoyed your stay in Villa 1. It is a hidden gem, the only villa we have that has views of Apollo Bay township lit up at night from the spa room. There's nothing like the romance of lights flickering in the distance.
All our villa's have a spa and fireplace and though the front villa's have uninterrupted views, even the rear villa's have enough partial views to make one's stay an enjoyable one as is evident from your comments.
Thanks for staying with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Overall happy with experience and understand both the positive and negative reviews here. I think it's all about expectations. I stayed in villa four at the front had one nigh by myself to relax then husband and two young kids joined the next day.

The pros: the view from the deck is Amazing. I sat out on the swing with a glass of wine, book and blanket for half a day. The view from inside the house is also great and you really feel like you are on the beach. It's also really big ans spacious with two bathrooms and generous rooms, the beds were really comfortable and you had everything you need for even a long stay with laundry and great kitchen. The service was also great. Left something there and they posted it out the next day. The finance was also fantastic.

The cons: there was a strange smell that took hours to get out of the house. wasnt sure whether it was septic tank or spa chemicals. No signal for tv on first night and the place is a bit dated now. Very nice but don't expect to walk into an interior design magazine. If you won't that we stayed at a great place in wye river but it was also 900 a night!

Great food in Apollo bay. Enjoyed wickens deli, the bay leaf and had stress free dinner at great ocean hotel as they had a corner for kids and live music

We will be back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Supasuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest M, Manager at Chocolate Gannets, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Hi Susan
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed the day to yourself before the rest of the family arrived, sitting on the swing, listening to the waves roll in, its a beautiful part of the world.
Sorry about the smell, it was probably the septic tank which has now been rectified. Hope it didn't spoil your time with us and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

Chocolate Gannets is probably the best self contained accommodation in Apollo Bay.
There are 4 units. We had a rear unit which wasn't anywhere near as nice as the front 2 from an aspect perspective.
Most furnishings and fittings are 1st class including German kitchen appliances but some things let it down a little.
Beautiful looking Miele coffee maker makes the worst coffee you could imagine, we went into town for a take away.
Fortunately the owner provided 2 cans of insect spray because the flys we're prolific.
As the best in town, probably gets away with the price but a little competition would require them to drop the price by $100/night. We paid $365.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NeverHome2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.7 mi away
Seafarers Getaway
Seafarers Getaway
#2 of 32 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
5.4 mi away
Points South By The Sea
Points South By The Sea
#1 of 2 in Wongarra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chocolate Gannets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chocolate Gannets

Property: Chocolate Gannets
Address: 6180 Great Ocean Rd, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chocolate Gannets 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chocolate Gannets is only 2 1/2 hours drive south west from Melbourne, on the Great Ocean Road, directly opposite a beautiful sandy beach. Surrounded by rolling countryside yet only about 2.5 Kilometres from the Apollo Bay restaurants and cafes, just a 30-40 minute walk along the beach into town.Our 5 star self contained Sea Villas provide luxury accommodation with spectacular views of the southern ocean and its ever changing moods and hues. Each Villa can accommodate up to 4 guests and we are also children friendly. Whether you are just passing through or looking for a family or romantic getaway Chocolate Gannets allows you to have a little indulgence while you are away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Chocolate Gannets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chocolate Gannets Apollo Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing