We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, maintenance needs to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good location, maintenance needs to improve”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed here with friends in March in a deluxe two bedroom villa. The location of Rayville Boat Houses is fantastic in a quiet street within easy walking distance to the beach and shops and the owners were friendly and helpful.

One area we all felt really needed to be improved on however was the maintenance, there were quite a few blown light globes in our villa and some of the windows upstairs in the bedrooms wouldn't close properly, so I'm glad we didn't visit in winter! The water temperate in the shower was also very touchy and it was hard to get a nice temperature that wasn't super hot or cold. I think they also need to trim up the bushes on the driveway as we were in a small car and it only just fit through, so I'd hate to think how a 4WD would get through without getting scratched. Hopefully some of these issues have been resolved as we did fill out the feedback form before we left.

Overall we had a nice stay but I don't think I'd rush back unless improvements were made.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank jessw188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    45
    25
    8
    9
See reviews for
57
72
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We did the 100k! The Boathouses were our starting and finish point, directly at the harbour on the sea side of the road, Very convenient, great, large Spas in the villas and then of course sitting at the fireplace .... especially afterwards .... divine. Really nice managers too.

Room Tip: If you need a good kitchen, select the 2 Bedroom villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

These cute villas in the marine type decor were again beautiful and very. The combination of cosyness with the large Spa and a crackling fire is great! Nice to walk from the beach directly home. Free of charge golf clubs the next morning were worth a delay on the golf course in front of the property before shooting off to the Apostles.

Room Tip: The little villas in the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were coming down on a very busy weekend, so didn't have much choice for a romantic getaway and booked this property even though the price of $330 was ridiculous and that was slightly discounted! But, we were pretty excited and expected amazing and outstanding accommodation. On arrival it was instant disappointment. the place looked like a backpackers hostel near the reception. We figured the apartment must be pretty outstanding then! But no! This place is portrayed on the internet as being quiet romantic......sorry to disappoint! Broken window in 2nd bedroom that was stuck open and banged all night (it was a stormy windy night), the bathroom had no toilet paper or any other little added touches like shampoo or conditioner. The apartment was tired and couldn't be more un romantic. It is ridiculous that we had to empty the apartments bins before we left. No service here! Huge huntsman on the high wall above the TV which really added to my horror although that isn't any ones fault! The bed was comfortable but this place is certainly not a romantic retreat and was no where near the value. We filled out the guest feedback form and stated our concerns about cleanliness, repairs etc and have not had any follow up so obviously those feedback forms mean nothing! We have been staying in the Bay for some years, and never have we ever had to pay this price or experience such tired accommodation for the money. Families with kids, surfboards and dogs should be welcomed here!

Room Tip: Families only - don't come if you expect a romantic getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights after reading reviews and checking the web site.
Our excitement turned to disappointment when we saw the unit. For a start a large car cannot fit into the carport. The unit had no washing machine or dryer as stated on the web site. The spa was so covered in mould we thought better of using it. The dish washer has been repaired with a piece of wood. I am sure that's healthy. The only a/c is upstairs in the hallway so you have to sleep with the bedroom door open and the hall has no blinds so room was light. As the bathroom is downstairs make sure you don't need to use during the night as the staircase is a killer. The fire place didn't even have matches. The cobwebs in the bathroom look weeks old. This place is very overrated. If your in Apollo bay I am sure you can do better. We won't be staying here again ever and we didn't even get out view or here the ocean.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Merredin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed in number 6; not the best position as overlooked the BBQ area and next door to reception. If we had booked for longer than one night I would have asked to be moved to another boathouse, however it was an overnight stay for us, so ok.
The house was clean/comfortable and more than adequate. The air con could have been better or it wasn't working properly because we baked upstairs overnight. Check in was smooth and the owner/manager was most helpful advising us of where to eat etc.
I would certainly return if visiting the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs property as we felt like we were in a goldfish bowl near reception. Do not acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazdaTynemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Very comfortable and nicely decorated apartment in Apollo Bay, a nice place to rest after a long and winding Great Ocean Road!
We stayed there on a cold and rainy night, and were very happy to find a chimney.
It is little disappointing that the property is not actually facing the ocean… must be the only spot from where you cannot see the ocean in the small-town of Apollo Bay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Epiktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.7 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
1.3 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse

Property: Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse
Address: 9-13 Noel St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OVERNIGHT AND HOLIDAY ACCOMMODATION - Rayville Boat Houses provides overnight and holiday accommodation in fully self-contained deluxe villas with a nautical theme on the ocean side of the Great Ocean Road - inside Apollo Bay. The stylish * * * * 4 Star Rayville Boat Houses are self-contained, deluxe, stand-alone Villas (AAA Tourism Rating) and a luxurious Penthouse. RECEPTIONAt our reception you will receive a warm welcome and advice about all the adventures of the Great Ocean Road as well as FREE WIFI, golf clubs, fishing rods, etc.. . Linen, towels, soaps, tea/coffee and wood for the woodfires are being provided.WHERE ARE WE?Walk to the beaches (60m) across the golf course, to the harbour or back up to the Great Ocean Road (60m) and to the shops and restaurants, attractions and markets of Apollo Bay.Enjoy being lulled to sleep by the roll of the waves from the ocean. The property is directed off the Great Ocean Road towards the golf course and the sea and is therefore quiet, away from crowds or traffic. VILLAS & PENTHOUSE. The modern and spacious Boat Houses are tastefully decorated in a nautical theme and all villas have cozy wood-fire, large corner spa, private balcony, full kitchen, television, stereo, video, individual car-port, air-conditioning and are fitted with all the latest amenities.While the Ocean View Villas have views from their terrace towards theocean, the romantic Deluxe Loft and 2 Bedroom Villas are not only cozy but also provide a view of Apollo Bay's amazing ranges from their verandah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayville Boat Hotel Penthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing