We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place with Great Views”
Review of Sandpiper Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandpiper Motel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Place with Great Views”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed in Room 16 with Ocean views, it was a lovely room that had been renovated, comfortable bed and we were very pleased. Bronwyn was very helpful and attentive with information about the local area and where to eat and John was only to eager to help with the TV. Very convenient to everything but most important it was walking distance to a lovely beach. Thank you for a great experience, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza-jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
It's good to hear guests are noticing our winter makeover. We are just completing the smartening up of a number of rooms over the quieter period. The View Rooms 15,16 and 17 have had a complete makeover. As a result of guest feedback we have installed sound deadening underlay in these rooms and tested the result. Now very difficult to hear any footfall from these rooms to below in rooms 18,19,20. We will be doing the same in the other View Rooms, 5,6 and 7 in October. We will post some more photos on the Trip Advisor page. Oh! and thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    209
    46
    17
    4
See reviews for
98
381
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Great room, great price. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The place was spotless, quite, well furnished and within walking distance of the beach and town. Almost forgot to mention the wireless internet here is pretty snazzy.I got a free pass to use it during my stay. Well worth the stay. Definitely recommend it!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
This reviewer has taken 9 months to respond according to their stay date but it was worth the wait! Thanks very much for those kind words, we really appreciate them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel is at one end of town and has plenty of onsite parking. We were greeted by a lovely, friendly lady upon arrival and we were offered a small carton of milk to make tea with – what a brilliant idea and perfect for us Brits who like our tea!

The road that the hotel is on is very dark to the point where I would actually say there was no street lighting at all but that seems to be quite common in the many areas we stayed in during our Great Ocean Road trip. The Hotel itself is very sweet and cosy. We had room number 1 or 2 (can’t quite remember since we stayed there over Easter). The room was spacious and had basic self catering facilities. It was well maintained and very clean. The main strip in Apollo Bay is by the waterfront and quite long. The hotel is about a block away from the main strip and there are plenty of eateries within a few minutes walk and even more if you don’t mind walking a little further.

Shame we only stayed here one night. Would stay here if I was ever in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bundleorbindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
It's a pity more guests don't realise it's worth staying a couple of nights to really enjoy what is on offer in and around Apollo Bay. There are great restaurants in town and fantastic scenery in the Otways and along the coast. Come on down!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

From the time we arrived at reception we were made to feel extremely welcome. Bronwyn and John were fantastic hosts and nothing was to much trouble. The location of the Motel was great just one street back from the main drag and less noise. It was easy walking to the shops and restaurants. We were very lucky that the weather was so perfect and Apollo bay looked lovely. We were given some excellent advice on things to do and places to go. Our room was beautiful we had the Spa room, it was fantastic. We wished we could have stayed longer. We would certainly recommend this Motel, to any one visiting Apollo bay. Thank you to Bronwyn and John we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask the Hosts for their suggestions and information
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomsand38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
What a great review. Makes us proud to be part of the Sandpiper team. Well done Bronwyn and John! Let's hope all prospective guests read this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here over a weekend. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Bronwyn made us feel like old friends. The location is very good as well being just a short walk to the beaches, and the shopping strip was just around the corner.
The room was very nice and clean, we were in room 16 which also had a nice view out to the beach. Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Room 16 has a nice view of the beach,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Bronwyn scores some more brownie points! Well done Bronwyn! Very pleased these guests enjoyed the view. I'm sure they also heard the ocean rolling in as well. These View Rooms are close enough to the ocean to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean rolling on to the beach. A powerful sleep inducing sound.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The apartment was really big with everything you need! Free wifi is available. The laundry room however closes quite early which was a shame for us as we arrived late. There is good food just a short drive away in town. The place is extremely cosy. Went during winter, the heater was a tad too strong for my friends but just right for me : ) However the road to the apartment that we stayed was filled with pebbles/rocks on the floor (damaging to the wheels of the luggage) but no complaints on that for the quality of stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onevonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Our 2 bed Apartment has recently undergone a makeover with regards to the configuration. We now have bedroom with a queen bed; the other bedroom now has a queen bed and a single. We have dispensed with the bunk bed. Pleased to see this guest enjoyed the facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Loved the warm friendly greeting from the time we checked in. Service great from check in to housekeeping.Walking distance to beach & shops. Would definitely stay again & recommend it to family & friends.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a patio so you can enjoy the outside even on a rainy day, beautiful trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We have made a great selection with our new managers! This is another review where the warm greeting is mentioned, well done to our managers. We pride ourself on the welcome we give our customers. After all, we wouldn't have a business without our customers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apollo Bay
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.4 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
22.2 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
1.8 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Motel

Property: Sandpiper Motel
Address: 3 Murray St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpiper Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandpiper Motel has recently been completely remodeled and provides simple, stylish and contemporary accommodation at a reasonable price. The Motel caters for both couples and families and has sufficient flexibility to look after groups. We are only a gentle stroll from the many and varied restaurants in the centre of Apollo Bay and there is lots to see and do in the vicinity so why not stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpiper Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Apollo Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing