We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apollo Bay Guest House
Ranked #2 of 20 Apollo Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed in the studio which has a little kitchen area, nice living room area, and upstairs bed and bath. The room was quite nice, and very private. The continental breakfast supplied was quite adequate with granola, cereals, toast, yogurt, fruit, jams, press coffee, and there were shortbread cookies to have for dessert. The B&B is located on the edge of the tiny town, and it is an easy walk into town for dinner. The wifi signal barely reached into our room, but was usable right by the door. Beautiful courtyard and very helpful proprietor.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ssgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

This beautiful house is superbly decorated in French style and overlooks the beach and inlet. The gardens are also superb . We stayed in one of the two bedrooms in the main house. Each has lavish furnishings with great attention to detail and an ensuite bathroom. There is also a separate studio room. The lounge area is spacious and comfortable with tv and wifi. Maree, the host, could not be more helpful or gracious with local information and making restaurant bookings. Breakfast was generous and beautifully prepared. The house is located about 10 minutes walk from the main part of Apollo Bay. It's a touch of luxury but if you are looking for that special place on the Great Ocean Road that's a little different, this is it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed here with my brother and his wife. They had just finished a huge cruise of NZ and I flew in to meet them in Melbourne and drive them back to Adelaide along the Great Ocean Road. As they are high end travellers I was concerned about the accommodation along the way. Mostly B&B's and motels. Well this is sort of a B&B but it's a purpose built building that's about 10 yrs old. The owners live on one side and the main room, breakfast room and entry hall separate the wing with the three bedrooms/ensuites. So you don't have the feeling that you are intruding on someone's space..it's homey but private. Beautifully decorated with French antiques and toile soft furnishings. Very modern and tasteful bathrooms. French doors open to a deck that overlooks the wetland and ocean. Lovely outlook. Comfortable bed! Breakfast is continental with great homemade muesli / granola, fresh fruit salads, toast and jams etc. Assortment of teas and cappuccinos. I don't like B&B's...but I'd come back here in a second!

Room Tip: I saw two of the three..they were both gorgeous! It would be a romantic place to stay..not really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5starry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My wife and I stayed last week of February 2012 for two nights and I only wish it had been longer - it was like a small retreat where we just totally relaxed and switched off after a long journey - and an unfortunate stop in Port Campbell which really was not for us! We arrived in Apollo Bay without a booking and were very lucky to get booked in through the Tourist Information Centre though we had read about the B&B. It was absolutely perfect for us beautifully appointed with Maree and Vin very attentive and offering advice on places to eat and visit.
The only place to stay in this area.

Room Tip: Any one would be perfect - loved siting on the deck at the back door having a glass of wine - just p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Cannot speak highly enough of this place; the hospitality was second to none. The quality of the house was a highlight and the view is amazing. You must stay here! I'll be staying here again as quickly as I can!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DsrgrdMnyAqrCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I was recently in australia visiting a friend and we were planning a road trip down the great ocean road. She mentioned that it was mostly B&Bs, no real hotels and the ones that were there were kind of over-priced due to the location. We looked on trip advisor and found this place, it was pretty highly rated so we went with it and so glad we did! It was a great choice. It wasn't cheap but for the price of other places in the area it was so nice. The ocean view rooms (not sure if there are non-view rooms) were awesome, the view as one of the best i've ever had. Nice little patio with two chairs and table out there to enjoy the scenery and weather. Room was a bit B&B for my taste, overly girly decorations mostly but it was clean and comfortable. The mini-fridge was nice, having wifi was also nice although it didn't work great. I didn't say anything to the staff because it wasn't important and I wasn't spending much time in the room but that about the only negative. I was surprised they had it at all, but maybe now its common everywhere. They had stuff out for tea/coffee anytime you wanted which was nice and we took full advantage of that to make tea and sit out on the patio with it. Perfect way to spend an afternoon! They also helped us find a good restaurant for dinner, although we were slightly annoyed that the restaurant said they only had times at 6 and 8:15 so we opted for the later time and then waited around for it. when we went the place was empty! I don't think that was the fault of the B&B though. The bathroom was nicely updated and modern, and they had a good quality hair dryer which to me is a big plus in a hotel room. Going with a friend and sharing the queen bed was a little less than ideal, it would be nice for some of those places to have the two twin type of beds but we knew that when we booked it and for most people visiting that type of place (couples) it would be fine. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was also very good.

Room Tip: make sure you get ocean view, it would be a real shame to come here and not get the amazing view. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megs2219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maree1412, Owner at Apollo Bay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Meghan Thank you for taking the time to complete your Review. We are pleased you enjoyed your overnight stay at the Guest House. As your reservation was made only 48 hours before your arrival, the accommodation with twin beds was already booked and the double room was the next best available. When your friend in Melbourne has visitors from the States in the future, hopefully we will be able to offer the Studio with the two adjoining bedrooms upstairs. Kind Regards Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had just one night here but it was a great stay. Vin and Maree are wonderful hosts, very thoughtful from a booking our dinner reservations and taxi to a bowl of pistachios to enjoy with our glass of wine. The guest house is immaculate and very comfortable. The view from the rooms is fantastic! Thanks for a lovely stay!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ZK W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apollo Bay
0.8 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
22.5 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Captain's At The Bay
Captain's At The Bay
#1 of 20 in Apollo Bay
575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
7.1 mi away
Points South By The Sea
Points South By The Sea
#1 of 3 in Wongarra
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Bay Guest House

Address: 4 Great Ocean Rd, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Apollo Bay
Price Range: £162 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Bay Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apollo Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing