We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Rushton Cottage Circa 1904 - relax, step back in time in a country retreat with modern appointments.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rushton Cottage Circa 1904 - relax, step back in time in a country retreat with modern appointments.
A fabulous country retreat located in central Benalla. Come explore Benalla's many treasures.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Rushton Cottage Circa 1904 - relax, step back in time in a country retreat with modern appointments.
A fabulous country retreat located in central Benalla. Come explore Benalla's many treasures.
Welcome ... come be our guests.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Benalla, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michaela...
1 review
“Beautiful and cosy cottage”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Jane was very accommodating and friendly. I felt at home immediately in this gorgeous cottage. I had a great night sleep and Jane was able to direct me to a lovely place for
Dinner. I'll return again on my next trip to Benalla.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2017
Hi Michaela,
Thank you .. knowing you had an enjoyable time at Rushton Cottage is the best outcome. Great guests are always appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Cheers
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGS_0456
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Benalla motels looked pretty ordinary so I looked around and found this absolute gem. We were meandering home from Melbourne and could only stay one night which was a shame as it turns out that there is much more to do in Benalla than we realised; we really hope to be back sometime and hopefully we can stay here when we do! Jane was very welcoming and had a lot of local information; there was good communication before our arrival which resulted in her booking us a table at a local restaurant, which was great, and at an east walking distance. All her suggestions were very helpful. The key was easy to collect from the safe. The accommodation itself was delightful, very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed our breakfast too and appreciated the opportunity to own a new book (Elena Ferrante) - thanks! Absolutely no complaints.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
It was a pleasure to introduce you to Benalla and it's treasures. Benalla has a fabulous range of accommodation to suit all budgets and styles, wonderful places to eat, read and chat; the amazing & unique local attractions and sports for all. A perfect location for a short or long break. Thank you for your review, enjoy your meanders ... the best way to find gems ... and we look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy Z
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Cottage was Cozy, Warm and Smelled Inviting.”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Jane contacted me and gave us a lovely welcome. The wine and chocolates were a thoughtful touch and much appreciated. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and we had everything we needed, including a coffee plunger. We only stayed a night but would have stayed much longer if that had been possible. The furnishings and garden were also very attractive. The heater and DVD were easy to use and made our evening relaxing. We would recommend the Cottage to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the atmoshere and cosiness
Liked least: Shower not suitable for elderly
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
Hello Lucy,
.. and thank you for the recommendation. It was lovely to meet you and I'm pleased your short stay was so comfortable. Perhaps a longer trip ... and a visit to the makers of the wine ... next time?
Cheers
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenifer H
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Benalla stopover”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a quaint, attractive house, in a central and convenient location. It is very clean, warm and has everything needed for a stay. We would like to come again. Benalla is a prosperous town and convenient to wineries and Ned Kelly country historical sites.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
Thank you Jennifer - we appreciate your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Rushton Cottage and found Benalla so attractive. There is so much for all ages/interests to do in and around Benalla - Rushton Cottage hopes to host you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended propoerty - with amazing hospitality”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Jane & Alan made our weekend in Benalla amazing. The property was comfortable and spotless, and hospitality was really thoughtful - heating was left on for arrival to make sure the house was a comfortable temperature for the kids, Jane sent through some sight-seeing and restaurant recommendations which were ace, and the facilities provided with the house were amazing (plenty of towels, extra day bed, extra blankets and pillows, bathroom amenities, etc.). Highly recommended, and we'll definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that being there was so easy. And the toys for the kids helped too :)
Liked least: The fact I had to leave...
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Hi Catherine and Team,
Thank you for the feedback. We really enjoyed hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back. We really appreciated the way you cared for Rushton Cottage and the fabulous condition you left it in. Thanks you and ...
Cheers
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne O
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best spot in Benalla”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Rushton cottage is walking distance to all the cafe's and shops in main street Benalla and the Gallery, train station and river too. It's a lovely, comfortable 3 bedroom , 2 bathroom house with all the conveniences ( heating, cooling, kitchen, laundry, tv) a great garden with pretty spots to sit in , all this and dog friendly.☺️ Can highly recommend a stay, we we were 3 ladies and one pampered pet and we had a great time wandering around and ranging out to do day trips , we will definately be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and comfort
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Hello Anne,
Thank you ... It's great to hear how guests have enjoyed Rushton Cottage and Benalla .. there's such a lot to do in Benalla and Rushton Cottage's central location makes this rather enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you all back .. and the pampered one, too.
Cheers
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing