We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“hidden gem”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Benson Lodge

Detached and private with undercover secure parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Detached and private with undercover secure parking
Fresh, clean, comfy Complimentary wifi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Detached and private with undercover secure parking
Fresh, clean, comfy
Complimentary wifi
Undercover secure parking
Quality complimentary toiletries
Terrific motel alternative
Detached and private
Clean separate bathroom with toilet, basin & shower
Wind down and relax
Bar fridge and local information
Wide range of complimentary breakfast provisions
Fresh milk and cold water for your convenience
Relax in the shady garden
Relax  and kick back ......
Experience the award winning Art Gallery
View 180+ species of birds at the Winton Wetlands
Cycle Friendly with numerous tracks for all riders
Soar high at the Gliding Club of Victoria
Here come the World Championships January 2017
Cosy dining space
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Benalla, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris R
Frankston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This is a great place to stay everything you need in the room from breakfast goodies to bottled water.Ray and his wife are great hosts and only too happy to give you any local info you may need.Also just a short stroll into town we will be back

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca O
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

The perfect little room for two. Cosy, bright, clean and unexpectedly included a lovely breakfast. Ray was an excellent host - prompt and friendly communication and really wanted to make sure we were comfortable. Highly recommend this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishtago...
Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Crazy Good For Price, Location, Cleanliness!”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Despite others staying the night before, Ray still organised for us to check in early (11:45am) to freshen up before going to an 80th birthday in the area (we'd come for several hours by motorbike). Ray is a gem of an owner; everything was 'crazy good' and spot on - the cleanliness, location, breakfast, fruit/snacks/bottled water provided, etc.

Lockable carport (garage door at front of it) and private side entrance to the one bedroom lodge is perfect. The room has a hanging cupboard for clothes, drawers, a 2 seater table, really comfy queen bed (actually it may have been a king), coffee pod machine, kettle, toaster, really good array of breakfast items, fruit, snacks, 2 bottles water, carton of fresh milk, flowers, several latest movies on a dedicated channel (free), hairdryer, flat screen TV, side lamps for reading, alarm clock, etc.

Water pressure in shower was fabulous and really hot water.

Location is fantastic; couple of minutes walk (at most) sees you at a FnC shop, Chinese takeaway and Pizza place. Across the road was the Royal pub. Next to this is the gardens and the lake with beautiful walks. Just across the bridge from these is the main town streets.

The pictures on TA are identical to what we got which I really appreciate. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and certainly will, if its available, next time we are up Benalla way.

Thanks heaps Ray for a fantastic stay! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike at all!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2015
Thank you for your wonderful feedback Wishtago.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAC3000
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were visiting Benalla on business and just loved our stay at Benson Lodge. Ray is a fabulous host and really makes his guests feel welcome. He has set up Benson Lodge as a home away from home with a bowl of fruit and flowers set out on the table. The fridge and cupboard is stocked with plenty of yummy options for breakfast which we really appreciated to set us up for a long day's work. The muesli was fabulous! Everything is top quality. Although we didn't try it, a coffee pod machine was even provided. However I would have loved a decaf option among the range of coffee pods on offer. The room was spotless, the shower great and the bed really comfortable. We also appreciated the security of the enclosed car port with roller door. Ray has even provided several movies to watch. We enjoyed "Saving Mr Banks" which we'd missed at the cinema.
Benson Lodge was a lovely overnight experience. We had to make a very early start and didn't get the opportunity to enjoy the garden so look forward to that another time. We are back this weekend and know it will be another great stay. Great value overall. Thanks Ray.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great value and wonderful hospitality
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wanderlus...
langwarrin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well done Ray, excellent in every way”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed at the Benson Lodge for 3 nights. We come up annually to do craft markets in the local North East. Benson Lodge is the best accommodation we have enjoyed in the 4 years we have been coming to do the Wangaratta Jazz Market. Absolutely loved having a back garden to sit outside and enjoy the fresh air and a wine/beer at the end of a hard day.
I don't have anything bad to say only my total recommendation for a short term stay.
Bed was very comfortable, good strong shower, airconditioning and fresh air. We took Ray's advice on where to eat locally and walked through the beautiful gardens and Art Gallery. Loved Benalla with its wide treelined streets. May even make it our home !!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: privacy and the feeling of home
Liked least: nothing to say
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
We are most appreciative to you for producing an extensive and informative review for other guests to read. We look forward to catching up again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonbon420...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and great customer service”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Very friendly welcome from owner on arrival and during stay. Very clean and had everything we needed for a three night stay. Great location, easy walk to hotel for evening meal. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman P
1 review
“A great place to stay.”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Benson Lodge is within walking distance of the rose garden and the town centre. We were met by Ray who made us feel immediately at home. The Lodge was beautifully set up and the covered car space was appreciated. We were also invited to make use of the garden which had a table and chairs under the trees.The supplies Ray and Liz left for breakfast were more than sufficient for two people and coffee and tea making facilities first rate. We had a great stay and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone planning a stopover in Benalla. In fact we have already mentioned both the Lodge and House to several people.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
We really appreciate your positive feedback about the Lodge. Thank you. We endeavour to always make our guests' stay as homely and comfortable as possible, as well enjoy some of the delights of Benalla. Hopefully you can stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing