We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple”
Review of ChillHouse

ChillHouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ChillHouse
Ranked #18 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Cowes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is a simple,cozy and casual set up.
As the name states, a place to chill...

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Arrived after 400km drive for a 2-night booking to no answer at door. Rang the mobile number for Adam only to hear him answer it inside. He let me into a scruffy office/dumping room where he was eating his dinner, where he told me the double room I'd booked was full and he had no recollection of my booking. He couldn't see my booking in his email inbox so showed me and there was my booking, plain as day, made a week previously. He offered a pull-out bed in the residents lounge for the first night at no cost but I'd booked a room, and looking at the generally grubby state of the place I didn't accept. He made no further attempt to try to help find alternative rooms and said we'd find it difficult as it was busy. We drove around for 20 minutes and found plenty of vacancies. Spotted the property is up for sale in an estate agent window so guess the guy just doesn't care anymore and just wants to sell up.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

The "Chillhouse" has been the most welcoming and comfortable hostel in Australia. It really is a place to chill and have a good time. The owners are really really nice people. The whole place is neat and tidy, breakfast is provided, as well as vegetables from the owners garden. The rooms are cute, the bathrooms are amazing, and especially the courtyard is just perfect. I can really recommend this hostel to everyone who just wants to have some time to chill out before the next adventurous trip :)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pa2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

My husband and I had a double at this house-turned-hostel and were pleased that the room and bathrooms were clean and that the kitchen was equipped with condiments, jams and even bread for toast in the mornings. The guy who runs the place is really nice and was helpful in making suggestions if places to visit around the island - a nice touch. Our only complaint would be that if there are people in the pool (or making noise in the courtyard at night), it is very loud - our sleep was disturbed late into the night and we could hear the neighbors yelling for the revellers to be quiet...and the hostel staff did nothing to stop it. Overall, if you're looking for a place to chill in Philip Island, this is a good one!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keshira haLev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.3 mi away
Amaroo Park
Amaroo Park
#1 of 19 in Cowes
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropicana Motor Inn
Tropicana Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Cowes
218 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island
0.5 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
0.5 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 11 in Cowes
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ChillHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ChillHouse

Address: 8 Watchorn Rd, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Cowes
Price Range: £0 - £1 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
ChillHouse Phillip Island/Cowes, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing