We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, clean, comfortable and safe accomodation”
Review of Amaroo Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amaroo Park
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My teenage daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights. We were most impressed by the excellent customer service of the staff and the close proximity to restaurants, shops and the beach. The rooms are comfortable, warm and inviting. There is free wifi and cooking facilities. Everything was perfect. We will definitely be back! Thanks for an awesome stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

very peaceful & quite park. Everyones so lovely & friendly. We used a power site which was perfect, weather stayed beautiful for us too. So close to shop, so just a short walk to dine out. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarliRuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisacowes, Owner at Amaroo Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for you lovely review. We are so glad you had a nice time, and appreciate your comments very much. Look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kindest regards Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hosts are extremely nice and the place has great hospitality. Traveling all day and visiting the island this was a very convenient location and they were very accommodating. Over the Easter weekend they had nice events to keep the people staying very comfortable. The price is not bad for what you get either.

Room Tip: unsure on the room service or fitness center as they were not used during stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alongtrip180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

my wife and I have been travelling around Australia for many years now, this is the best park we have ever stayed in in terms of service, locality, price and amenities. The management (Rob & Carol) made us feel very welcome and couldn't do enough for us, a real home away from home.

We were so impressed with the Park, we purchased a cabin in the park, couldn't be more happier, we look forward to having many happy holidays in our Amaroo Park cabin

Thank you Rob @ Carol

Kind Regards,

Tony & Lynne

PS: Thank God "Trailer Trash and 2 dogs" has left the park

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GROGES2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisacowes, Owner at Amaroo Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Carol and Rob do make people feel happy, comfortable and welcome. That is why we chose them to manage Amaroo Park.

Our little park does have great location, with affordable accommodation. We are very glad that you chose a part time "home Away From Home" with us.

We are proud of our Park in many ways, but what makes it special is the wonderful Annuals, fantastic managers, and the various lovely guests who visit us from all over the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here with husband, our two kids, my sister and nephew. The cabin accommodation was a little squashed with so many, but it was clean and reasonably priced and really, the kids were outside riding their bikes around the quiet park the whole time (we could let even the 3-year-old roam as it is such a lovely little park) so we didn't need to spend much time indoors. The location is ideal, we could walk to the shops/restaurants and to the jetty and beachfront. A great base, perfect for a couple of nights away with the family :-).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have traveled the world (see my other reviews) and found this 'park' to be THE WORST place I have ever stayed- due to their poor customer service and misleading advertising.
Firstly- their website states they are Pet Friendly- this happens to be only if you own 1 dog- not 2.
They state they have a pool- it is open 'at the owners discretion'- which for the 2 weeks of school holidays we were there- was never.
They want to charge $16 per night for a second adult when we are camping. This means it was $46 per night to camp on a terrible patch of grass between 2 permanent trailers. This is more of a trailer park than a camp ground. The have 2 patches of grass which they divide into 3 camp sites. There is nowhere to get rid of your sewerage if you are in a caravan.
THE WORST part was the phone call we received when we ducked out for an hour on the 10th morning. The receptionist called my boyfriend and berrated him for our dogs poop smelling bad, said our dogs were not welcome back, and then abrubptly hung up on him when he tried to explain we were coming back and were going to deal with it.
Our puppies (5months old) are our family and are not trained to 'hold it' all night and were only tied up on our patch overnight, otherwise they were off the property with us all day.
We proceeded to the reception area only to be argued with, yelled at and blamed for our dogs poop smelling badly. The 'lady' and the man at the desk (owners I believe) did nothing but argue at us when we told them we want a refund as were were leaving due to the rudeness we received. They refused. Her response to everything we said was 'I DON'T CARE'.
They ruined our holiday and it made me sick to my stomach. It was like saying out kids aren't welcome there. They basically refused to realise we were paying customers. Anyone with any sort of common sense would have called us and spoken to us about the smell before being so rude as to say what she said.
I would hope people look elsewhere if they want a pleasant holiday, an not stay at this trailer trash 'park' with the most arrogant owners I have ever met.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisacowes, Owner at Amaroo Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

I am very sad that you feel this way about Amaroo Park.

But I will defend our Dog Friendly Park. I believe that you can only review a place on trip advisor if you have stayed at the place. And according to our records the only person booked in was your boyfriend. The booking was originally for 1 caravan, and 1 person for 2 weeks while he worked in town. No dogs were ever mentioned, and at a very cheap rate of $30 per night over the busiest school holiday period, I don't think anyone could complain. We did mention an extra person would cost $16 per night, which is fair and reasonable. However again there was only 1 person booked to this site and no dogs. But we did allow two dogs as all of a sudden they were on our site. You did take them off the site when you were not there which we appreciate. But the thing that no park anywhere would allow is the build up of poo around your site. This was not a build up of poo over night, this poo had not been picked up for over a week, and two big dogs, and lots of poo, does not make other paid guests happy... Our managers cleaned up the garbage bag full of runny poo. And had to hose the area down, and also close the site for a couple of days. This is not a job that our managers are paid for, and they were extremely upset. Our rules are clearly set out for dog owners, which your boyfriend signed on arrival. You must pick up after your dog straight away, not over night, and certainly not to be left for over a week. You were refunded your 3 days as soon as the caravan was gone. Our only concern was our other guests at the time of your visit reviewing us about the bad smell and mess in our park, and how dog owners can be so irresponsible. Its makes us think that maybe we should be like every other park, and change to NO DOGS ALLOWED. Soon there will be no parks left to visit for responsible pet owners...

Our pool has been open over the school holidays, and enjoyed by most of our guests. It does close at night, and as your boyfriend was working, I am assuming that the only time he could access the pool was later at night, so yes it would have been closed.

Amaroo Park is definitely more geared to villa and studio accommodation, with little camp sites available. We do not put these on line for sale, and only take a few campers at a time. When we get inquiries about bigger caravans we send them up to other lovely parks in the area that are much bigger than our little site. Cowes caravan park and Anchorbelle are able to take on bigger vans. But no dogs allowed at Anchorbelle, and Cowes allow dogs in the off season only. I can now understand why....

Our wonderful managers who work very hard to please all our guests had been very upset when they returned from cleaning your site. Other guests had complained about the bad smell, which they had to deal with, while cleaning the mess. Unfortunately you have done the wrong thing, in any park this is not accepted. I understand your dogs are your children, (as is mine), but you do not allow your children to poo everywhere... And if they do, most people would clean it up straight away.

Paying customers still need to be responsible, and think about other people who have also paid. Some people do not like dogs, and they also stay in our park.

We truly hope that other readers will see through this review. You can not get to number one and two on trip adviser by being rude to guests, offering no services, no open pool. Our little park is not trailer trash, and we are very offended by this comment... This comment has come about because you have done the wrong thing as a pet owner. Lets hope the responsible pet owners make up for you, and keep parks open to our fury friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was our first trip to Phillip Island. We had 4 adults and 2 little ones and stayed in a family villa. The family villas were small and cosy, which was ok for 2 nights - but any longer and it would have been too small. The little ones liked the pool and the games room. A playground on site would have been handy. It was in a fantastic location and the hosts were wonderful. The beds were comfy considering 2 of the adults slept on the top bunks! I particularly liked the pillows. It was a little frustrating having to make the bunk beds - I can understand why they weren't fully made, as making a top bunk is not easy! No complaints. Great for a short stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicoleD1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisacowes, Owner at Amaroo Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you had a good time. The island is a lovely place, and we have so much to offer in the way of tourism. Hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.4 mi away
North Pier Hotel
North Pier Hotel
#10 of 11 in Cowes
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 11 in Cowes
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 11 in Cowes
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
7.8 mi away
The Island Accommodation
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaroo Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaroo Park

Address: 97 Church St, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia (Formerly Amaroo Park YHA)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Cowes
Price Range: £57 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaroo Park 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amaroo Holiday Park at Cowes, Phillip Island, offers you the most central location. Just 50 meters from the Brand New Coles supermarket and five minutes to the beach. Amaroo Park is perfectly located for your holiday enjoyment, with the world-famous penguin parade and the Phillip Island Grand Prix circuit just a few minutes drive away. With studios and villa accommodation to suit all budgets, plus the facilities available to the guests, including onsite Restaurant/bar and pool. All Villa accommodation now provides split system air cond/heating. Having just won the Certificate of Excellence 2014 we know it will be a very enjoyable stay. Free wireless is included, linen supplied in the price. Our job is to make you happy. Any little extras, we are hear to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Amaroo Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaroo Park Phillip Island/Cowes, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing