We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place, very relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castle Villa by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Castle Villa by the Sea
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Cowes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great place, very relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival there was a small sign in the room we stayed in, it said "if there is anything at all that bothers you or is not right PLEASE TELL US and we will try to fix it for you - if you have had an enjoyable stay with us PLEASE TELL TRIPADVISOR....
Taking the hint, we're telling tripadvisor - THIS PLACE IS BEAUTIFUL AND WE HAD THE MOST WONDERFUL STAY.
Quite fittingly we stayed in the Castle Suite which was huge and has a separate entry, which adds a touch of privacy and kinda made us feel a bit special. From the moment you enter you just know your staying somewhere really lovely. The bedroom is beautiful with a very private deck that looks over the garden. And we loved the artwork on the walls which is done by Jenni, who with her husband Harley, are the owners. But sadly, it would have been a little too obvious if one or two of those painting were to make it into one of our bags....
When we booked in we told Jenny that it was our anniversary and she gave us free bottle of Champagne which we enjoyed on the deck. There is also a separate lounge with a lovely heater and a massive spa with a huge sunny glass wall (enter more champagne.)
A wonderful place for relaxing and as you may tell, we will surely be recommending it to our friends.
Couldn't help reading the "Terrible" reviews and in turn, Harley's replies...lol...he should def think about writing a book on the ups and downs of hotel life.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for your nice response and taking the hint - In the main all our guests have a wonderful stay at The Castle and we believe if those few that complain would only tell us what agrieves them they too would have a lovely stay, alas that is not the case as they generally have there own agenda and prefer to complain publically, generally to TripAdvisor hence our discreet note - I am actually penning a book titled "Öur Life & Times in a Small Hotel" keep your eye on the best seller list!...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    17
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
13
56
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

These called Villa is just an oversized B&B that needs a lot of updating to take it to the 21st century. Not right by the sea, and a slightly musty smell. Family photos everywhere and carpets need changing. There are many other more compelling hotel options in the same area, many with a water view or resort-type amenities. Do not waste your money staying at the "villa."

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank timbo1978_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Hello Timbo - We are very sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay at The Castle but noting that your previous stays were The Hilton Sydney then The Hilton Melbourne maybe the charm of The Castle was not for you – again sorry for your disappointment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice stay would most definitely stay again a much better choice than the cold modern apartments of today's modern era,received a warm welcome,the Castle Villa has a lot of old world romantic charm with a very feel good vibe,is an easy stroll to the beach shops & restaurants which is all you need.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for your review - we are so glad you enjoyed your
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed in the Garden Suite which is so gorgeous and well set out with a beautiful four-poster bed and double spa. We would highly recommend you ignore some of the nasty views below.. Hostess was truly lovely!! Would much rather pay $245 to stay here which feels like a home away from home than in one of the similarly priced and sometimes more expensive boxed in hotel rooms that are on offer on Phillip Island! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lollly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for your time - we look forwardto your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed in our favorite suite 'the terrace' for 2nd time...very impressed with how helpful the housekeeper was...what an asset she is!
Must admit hosts seemed a bit 'over it'...v sad...but understandable considering some of the rudeness I witnessed from another guest...
Loved our time though.
.wish it had been longer...must mention how spotless the room was..
Only wish that there was some bar activity in the after noon / evenings. ..with some array of food..
Would be lovely to sit in the lounge with other guests enjoy a bottle of wine and some local produce..
Will visit again for sure!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Sorry , must have been having a bad hair day - we have passed your comments onto our lovely housekeeper who incidently has been with us a very very long time and is definitely a part of The Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed at the castle villas recently for our first wedding anniversary and we absolutely loved everything about it. The owners Jenny and Harley made our first anniversary very memorable.
In previous comments below I have seen people write about non-working fridges and parking. The villas were full when we stayed there and Jenny and Harley we very accomadating and ensured we had off street parking.
It was also very warm when we stayed and the air conditioners in both lounge and bedrooms made our stay extra comfortable.
We can't wait to return in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aatkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for the time in writing your nice words - we look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed in the castle suite, which was done up beautifully. Really good size bedroom with a kitchenette and separate lounge. The only downer was that there was no wifi reception in the room, despite it being advertised and confirmed verbally when making the booking. Everything else was lovely though.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for your comments - not to sure what went wrong with the free WIFI as we have had no further queries, maybe you were trying with the wrong P/W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 10 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 10 in Cowes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
0.1 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#2 of 10 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Island Spa - Wellness Retreat & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Villa by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Villa by the Sea

Property: The Castle Villa by the Sea
Address: 7-9 Steele St | Phillip Island, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cowes
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Castle Villa by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Luxury Villa offers you your own island oasis and perfect carefree holiday accommodation, footsteps from the beach-front and hidden away in a magical garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Castle Villa by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Cowes
The Castle Villa By The Sea Phillip Island/Cowes, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing