We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Functional”
Review of Seahorse Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seahorse Motel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Friendly well appointed motel, our room was large well fitted and clean, Friendly reception gave us good advice and local knowledge.A Laundry and Free Wifi are avaiable. 10 Mins uphill walk to centre for Eating, Bars, Coles & Woolworths. 20 mins drive to The Nobbies and Penguins, If you are going to Penguins make sure you eat before as most places close around 8.00pm. A bit pricey but then everything is on Phillip Island. All told a nice place to stop

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirleeolgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Using Booking.com(from UK) we were greeted by friendly owners for our two night(B&B) stay. Our deluxe double room upstairs was enormous and spotlessly clean. It looked as if it had been recently decorated and couldn't be faulted. If you had mobility issues you may struggle with the external stairs to reach room 22. Breakfast was delivered to the room the previous evening. The motel was located in a quiet street only minutes walk from the jetty and main resort centre The level of accommodation exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Highly recommend room 22
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamJeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We arrived in Cowes at tea time on Friday with nowhere to stay. Having been in to 2 other motels who told us they only had expensive rooms available we called in and were given a deluxe room for the price of a smaller room. The manager was very friendly and gave us excellent information regarding the penguin parade and how to get to Melbourne airport the morning after. The room was clean with free wifi.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joniboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Clean good sized room. Fairly basic accommodation but clean and well equipped. Decoration was a little worn and outdated but it did not detract from our night's stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. We boked our stay at the motel to be near the penguin parade, the centre of Cowes and the beach. Proved to be a good choice and would use again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Fantastic location in a walking distance to the beach, big playground by the beach, stores, cafes and restaurants. Easy drive to all other attractions. Self-contained apartments were well equipped in everything we needed for a family weekend. Lovely staff, clean rooms, nice amenities. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed at this motel for a night when we were in cowes to see the penguin parade. I can only agree with the other reviewers. This is a very friendly and exceptionally clean motel in a good location. The owners were really helpful on hints on what to see in the area. Local knowledge is always a great help and appreciated. The rooms are comfortable, well equipped and of a good size. We are doing a road trip of Victoria and this is the cleanest motel we have stayed in. The outside is well kept with a lovely play area for children. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrice0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Had a 4 nite stay here after checking out from another hotel on the island,
The Staff could not have been more helpfull and friendly.
The rooms (I had 2 different) were recently renovated, nice and clean, comfy. Outside facilites were great for familys, play ground and bbq facilites.
Close to the town centre and beach only a short walk away.
Would definatly tell people to stay here if they want a good honest motel.
Thanks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.3 mi away
North Pier Hotel
North Pier Hotel
#10 of 11 in Cowes
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 11 in Cowes
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 11 in Cowes
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
0.6 mi away
Tropicana Motor Inn
Tropicana Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Cowes
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Motel

Address: 29-31 Chapel St, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cowes
Price Range: £69 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seahorse Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Seahorse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Hotel Cowes
Seahorse Motel Cowes
Seahorse Motel Phillip Island/Cowes, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing