We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropicana Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stay 2 nights, bed comfortable, can walk to the shops, management friendly and very, helpful, we were able to use BBQ, they supplied us with a box of tools to use, they have a guest laundry and a clothesline they are happy for you to use

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at the Tropicana for 3 night, the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and spacious, decor plain, bed comfortable, bathroom very clean, quite location. It is close to the beach, restaurants and shops. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We've stayed in Family Suite and it was great.
Suite was very clean.
Lots of space and it was comfortable.
Location is great, close to restaurants, grocery stores, shops and beach.

Staff is friendly.
Recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lugrabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

If you are looking for budget accomodation in summer well you can stay at the Tropicana. It isnt a 4 star hotel, its 3 star standard hotel.

i stayed in a family room which had 2 singles and 1 queen bed. The quilt cover did look a bit dirty and took a little bit of encouragement to lie on... but the bed was above average and not the worst. The location for Cowes is great, walking distance from the main street.

The bathroom is the most modern of the features with a decent shower which is always welcome, but having the mirror on the wall to right above the sink makes it difficult to shave!

Just a word of advice when killing time in your room watching foxtel. The front desk may change channels on you so if you wish to watch a particular sport or show at night ask the front desk to change channels so you can watch in your room.

In summary, a throw back to the motor inn days, but at a minimal rate, this hotel is more than suitable for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Very quiet location and comfortable bed! We had just been through a string of hard beds and loud rooms, this place was a delight! We actually slept in we were so comfortable. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We choose this motel as we needed to sleep six people. The motel itself is pretty average. It is fairly old and while there is a pool we did not try it as the weather was cool. The two bedroom apartmentis spacious and suited our needs but when we used the spa bath the water had a decidely green colour.
The location is good and only 200m from the beach and about the same from a supermarket. A reasonable option for a stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwisteveandali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We found this motel among all the ones around there and I must say that it has been a good choise. price has been good for the service. Room quite clean and wide. Staff is kind and suggested us a good restaurant. It was a dead period of the year and of the week but we've been satisfied with our experience. It's close to the penuine parade island, where we were coming from.
very good for one night!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italiansinchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.4 mi away
North Pier Hotel
North Pier Hotel
#10 of 11 in Cowes
34 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 11 in Cowes
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 11 in Cowes
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
0.5 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
0.6 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#2 of 11 in Cowes
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Motor Inn

Address: 22-26 Osbourne Ave, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range: £74 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropicana Motor Inn provides superb Phillip Island accommodation centrally located in a quiet area of Cowes, Phillip Island. Being only minutes walk to the beach, restaurants and great shopping we are your perfect Phillip Island destination. We cater for groups with a Dinner Bed and Breakfast packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tropicana Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Motor Inn Phillip Island/Cowes, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing