We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORST MOTEL I'VE EVER STAYED IN!!!!”
Review of Pathfinder Motel

Pathfinder Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pathfinder Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kew
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WORST MOTEL I'VE EVER STAYED IN!!!!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

DISGUSTING ROOMS----HORRIBLE EMPLOYEES--- If you don't want to be screamed at by the "workers" I suggest you save your money and DO NOT stay here!!!!!! HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!! Don't even consider staying here. It will wreck your whole stay! I can't even believe how bad I have been treated. It is disgusting. I have never been spoken to so horribly by anyone, especially from a lady on hotel reception..

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ShishkaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    10
    2
    10
See reviews for
6
10
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed one night at this motel, the worst motel I have by far ever been at, firstly the room we were given was someone else's, we went inside and luggage and peoples belongings inside, we were then given another room.... Disgusting, dirty, not 3 stars. Staff member rude and very very very nasty..... Upsetting terrible worst stay ever, would rather sleep in the gutter with rats.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ccbdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kew hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
241 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Looks rundown from the outside... but inside is worse!
Rated 3 stars (probably when it opened in late 60's...) but dont get fooled, it would still be a shame in the middle of African bush
Comfort was probably average back then (60's) it's just a disgrace now. Cherry on the cake is that service is rude/totally unprofessional and overall cleanliness level worth reporting to the authorities!
At 120 dollars per night (incl. of primitive breakfast and tax) you will certainly feel seek...
A total disgrace in modern Australia; the only positive thing about the place is that this business is obviously not sustainable!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JMG780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

If I was asked "where you would recommend staying, a bus shelter or the Pathfinder Motel"? Hands down the bus shelter everytime.

Checked in for 3 nights and during my stay have been moved to 4 different rooms. First room the tv didnt work, 2nd smelt like smoke and 3rd room I had to move out for someone else.

The lady at reception/manager was rude and of no assistance with any questions I had, and the rooms are very old and run down.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pass12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Planned to stay here for three nights but the room was dirty, small and very hot, the furnishings were old and unpleasant. We had checked whether there was air-conditioning as temperatures were in high 30s, there was a unit but it was very loud and had very little effect.
The standard was so poor we decided not to stay here, at $110 a night we expected something basic but clean. The desk was unattended when we arrived and the lady's English wasn't the best. She said because we were cancelling with less than 24 hours notice we'd be charged 10% of the first night ($11). We ended up being charged $55 on the wrong credit card. I had to call three times for a refund before the manager called me back.When I finally spoke to her she said they had 'made a mistake it should have been 50% of the first night not 10% and the hotel is 50 years old we should have come to check the standard before we booked' she was rude and refused to refund the difference even though it was their mistake. Terrible from start to finish.

We ended up at the Quest in Kew for $140 a night - 2 stories, 3 bedrooms, new, air-conditioned and clean with lovely staff, no comparison.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SooperTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I was comfortable in my room at the Pathfinder. As I wanted to stay in Kew, I found it good value. Plenty of parking. The decor is old but the room was clean airy and light with a/c. The breakfast was fine. My window faced north which I enjoyed for some winter warmth, and it was nice to open to a little balcony. Pool not inviting, but didn't concern me. By the photos, I thought it was nearer to shops to walk. tram out front. Did not notice traffic noise.

Room Tip: I wanted upstairs and I liked a north facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Don't expect a warm welcome here. The lady on reception who I suspect is the owner was impolite, unfriendly and unhelpful in her manner and response to my questions.. Rooms need new decor to make it worth the price. Can be nosy with traffic on the 2 busy adjoining roads.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boofnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kew
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites Beaumont Kew
1.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel 115 Kew
1.6 mi away
Quest Kew
Quest Kew
#2 of 4 in Kew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne
2.6 mi away
Quest Mont Albert
Quest Mont Albert
#1 of 2 in Box Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pathfinder Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pathfinder Motel

Property: Pathfinder Motel
Address: 380 Cotham Rd, Kew, Boroondara, Victoria 3101, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Boroondara > Kew
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pathfinder Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Pathfinder Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing