We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden away!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allenvale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Allenvale
Ranked #14 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Lorne
Pertg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

A real valley hideaway by a babbling creek. Beautiful walks. Lovely potbelly stove. Not too far from town either. Sadly we did not get to meet the owner but we did arrive to the fire lit!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelindaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    8
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kerala
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We didn't really know what to expect, but on arrival we found that it was a simply perfect break during our whirlwind trip in Australia. We stayed at the Rose Cottage for 2 nights - which is done up exactly how an old cottage in the countryside should be. The sounds of the whispering trees, gurgling stream and the constant flow birds was just lovely. We met the kangaroo early in the morning too!
The cottage has two bedrooms, and one bath. The kitchen is quite adequate, and the drawing room has a fireplace which makes the place so cosy on a cold evening. The bedrooms are provided with electric blankets and there is hot water in the bath at all times. There were fresh flowers, lovely books and perfect corners to snuggle down with a book in hand.
Its lovely to walk/cycle around the place and explore too!
Wish I could return someday!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeralaTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

Loved our stay at Allenvale cottages. Was only there for 2 nights and this was not long enough. It was the most beautiful hidden secret. . The location is only a couple of Kms from Lorne and is near lots of walks and waterfalls. The cottages were very clean and homely and had everything we needed, Would highly recommend these cottages for a gorgeous getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city. The Host Sarah was very friendly and welcoming. Will be back for a break again some day...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharyon7011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed in one of the cottages for 2 nights in December. Loved the wildlife in the area- including a couple of kookaburras who were very friendly and George the kangaroo who sat on the lawn and looked at us. We also heard the koalas but didn't see them. Really a lovely spot, with lush gardens. The cottage was well-equiped in the kitchen but a few things were missing that seemed odd- like kleenex and extra toilet paper. Then we saw the note that we were expected to buy anything that's not already provided, which is a bit odd. It's a relatively inexpensive thing to put a box of kleenex in the cottage. But it's not a big deal.
The washing machine was broken in our cottage (we had counted on using it for fresh laundry during our extended trip.) Luckily we could use the one in another (vacant) cottage. But it would have been an unexpected hassle to not have it available.
Would definitely return to Lorne and Allenvale during a future trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

My husband and I stayed at Allenvale Cottages in Kero Cottage. We discovered them, like another reviewer mentioned, whilst walking in the area previously. The cottage was beautful - in fact the website does not do Kerosine Cottage justice. The cottage has the most amazing windows - my husband and I have never stayed in a place with such a panoramic view of the outside - and it is so beautiful waking up to a window full of autumn colours outside. The cottage is close to many lovely walks - the Canyon and Phantom Falls are amazing. Lorne is very quiet at this time of the year - most of the food choices available are very ordiniary and rather downmarket for dinner - I recommend using the kitchen in the cottages instead and eating in if you want decent food. There is an oven and stove top and well stocked kitchen. (Lorne Pub is good but full of the usual pub offerings and if you are bored with that, well, there is not much else Lorne offers in winter - not much else open)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris-kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Aus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

Our friends have been going to these cottages for 3 years now to celebrate xmas in July - what a lovely place! Our first thought on walking is it that it's just like going home to grandma's for the holidays. The cottages are quaint but with modern conveniences - the fireplace is a hit! The forest is outside all windows, I think we see kangaroos every visit and great trekking is just a few meters away. You'll never sleep so well here.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solstice1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

You wouldnt believe you are only 10mins from Lorne in this lovely spot. Nestled in the forest, you feel like you are in a secret and special place, blessed by birds and wildlife. Numerous bush walks start from your door, with beautiful forest, waterfalls, and beach all accessible via a range of short to long, and easy to more challenging trails. Wildlife is plentiful; I've got close to kangaroos, koalas, echidnas and bower birds that inhabit the area.
Very friendly and helpful hosts, and the atmosphere is family friendly but still very peaceful.
One of my very favourite places in Vic for a relax, refresh, and recharge!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slowwalkingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigtedallenvale, Manager at Allenvale, responded to this review, 5 February 2010
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. 'Allenvale' is hard to explain........its an experience, not just a destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lorne hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
1.1 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
1.3 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#2 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lorne World
Lorne World
#1 of 22 in Lorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allenvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allenvale

Property: Allenvale
Address: 150 Allenvale Road | P.O Box 224, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Allenvale 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allenvale; 'the Great Ocean Roads best kept secret'! Hidden away in a gorgeous valley surrounded by the Great Otway National Park minutes drive from the shops, beach and restaurants of Lorne. Allenvale is the ideal base for your Great Ocean Road explorations. 4 individual and unique self contained cottages each with private balconies, well equipped kitchens and cosy beds with all linen and towels. Wood fires, BBQs and bushwalking and wildlife at you door! Ideal for couples, families and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Allenvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing