We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Allenvale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Allenvale
Ranked #18 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Lorne
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed in Rose Cottage, gorgeous shabby chic style. Right in the woods with wildlife all around and a babbling stream outside our kitchen window. Wood burning stove was a must during the winter and very effective. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ArchBath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Allenvale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

We took a couples vacation to stay at Allenvale, and stayed in the Riverbank house. Words can't describe how peaceful and beautiful this place was. Beautiful fresh flowers greeted us when we arrived. The beds were very comfy, and we could hear the river running from outside our bedroom window at night whilst we dozed off to sleep. The fireplace was marvelous, and a lovely way to keep warm at the end of winter. It felt like it was a million miles out of town, but it was only a 2 minute drive into the main street of Lorne. It was also a great place from which to travel around the great ocean road --- we went to the Cape Otway lightstation and Otway Fly as a day trip.

Allenvale Cottages are just beautiful! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jujujulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed in the Kero cottage at Allenvale and found good & bad points:

GOOD:
Unbeatable location if you like to be removed from the town centre and in the middle of the bushland. It was so relaxing and there's some pleasant walks nearby, as well as a creek running behind and in front of the place. The bushland is lovely. The owner/manager, Sarah, was very helpful & friendly. The fire place is great and warms up the place well. Kitchen facilities are good, the place is very clean and, although it is old, it has charm.

BAD:
The water coming out of the taps was a yellow, brown colour so we bought our own from the town as we weren't sure if it was healthy to drink. The bed is comfortable but it moved around a lot - if your partner turns over the whole bed rocks to and fro, making sleep difficult. The decor was a bit dated; there was a hole in the bed sheet and the towels weren't very new. This is not a major gripe but items could be updated a bit.

Despite this, we did have a very relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: Kero is a great location but the water from the taps is yellow/brown.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajb3__12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

A real valley hideaway by a babbling creek. Beautiful walks. Lovely potbelly stove. Not too far from town either. Sadly we did not get to meet the owner but we did arrive to the fire lit!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelindaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We didn't really know what to expect, but on arrival we found that it was a simply perfect break during our whirlwind trip in Australia. We stayed at the Rose Cottage for 2 nights - which is done up exactly how an old cottage in the countryside should be. The sounds of the whispering trees, gurgling stream and the constant flow birds was just lovely. We met the kangaroo early in the morning too!
The cottage has two bedrooms, and one bath. The kitchen is quite adequate, and the drawing room has a fireplace which makes the place so cosy on a cold evening. The bedrooms are provided with electric blankets and there is hot water in the bath at all times. There were fresh flowers, lovely books and perfect corners to snuggle down with a book in hand.
Its lovely to walk/cycle around the place and explore too!
Wish I could return someday!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeralaTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Loved our stay at Allenvale cottages. Was only there for 2 nights and this was not long enough. It was the most beautiful hidden secret. . The location is only a couple of Kms from Lorne and is near lots of walks and waterfalls. The cottages were very clean and homely and had everything we needed, Would highly recommend these cottages for a gorgeous getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city. The Host Sarah was very friendly and welcoming. Will be back for a break again some day...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharyon7011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed in one of the cottages for 2 nights in December. Loved the wildlife in the area- including a couple of kookaburras who were very friendly and George the kangaroo who sat on the lawn and looked at us. We also heard the koalas but didn't see them. Really a lovely spot, with lush gardens. The cottage was well-equiped in the kitchen but a few things were missing that seemed odd- like kleenex and extra toilet paper. Then we saw the note that we were expected to buy anything that's not already provided, which is a bit odd. It's a relatively inexpensive thing to put a box of kleenex in the cottage. But it's not a big deal.
The washing machine was broken in our cottage (we had counted on using it for fresh laundry during our extended trip.) Luckily we could use the one in another (vacant) cottage. But it would have been an unexpected hassle to not have it available.
Would definitely return to Lorne and Allenvale during a future trip.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lorne hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
1.1 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lorne Bush House Cottages
1.3 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#2 of 9 in Lorne
2,837 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pierview Apartments
Pierview Apartments
#7 of 22 in Lorne
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allenvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allenvale

Address: 150 Allenvale Rd | P.O Box 224, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Lorne
Price Range: £140 - £671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allenvale 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allenvale; 'the Great Ocean Roads best kept secret'! Hidden away in a gorgeous valley surrounded by the Great Otway National Park minutes drive from the shops, beach and restaurants of Lorne. Allenvale is the ideal base for your Great Ocean Road explorations. 4 individual and unique self contained cottages each with private balconies, well equipped kitchens and cosy beds with all linen and towels. Wood fires, BBQs and bushwalking and wildlife at you door! Ideal for couples, families and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Allenvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing