We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Obliging owners”
Review of Lorne Bay View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lorne Bay View
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
“Obliging owners”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed ath the Lorne Bay View recently. The management staff were extremely obliging. I even left behind a treasured piece of jewellery. By the time I realized and notified the owners later that day, the said items had already been posted. The only negative I would have is the couch in the room. Depth to deep to be comfortably.

Room Tip: Check if they have different couches especially if older. Also check if they have a quieter part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainlorne, Manager at Lorne Bay View, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for your positive review. we are in the process of replacing the couch, but due to the Christmas shutdown, it has been delayed.
we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    44
    42
    21
    23
See reviews for
26
81
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Great little hotel. Well situated and quiet location set back from main road. Reception was very friendly, very helpful with advice for dinner an travelling on. Room was pleasant, bed fine. Nice spa bath that was appreciated. Would stay again as good value hotel for everyday traveller.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nodbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainlorne, Manager at Lorne Bay View, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for posting your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
i am sorry about the couch. I have in fact ordered a new one, which is on it's way, but delayed because of the Christmas shutdown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn over January and would not hestitate to go back again this summer. Clean and comfortable room, spacious bathroom and bigger than average room. Walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. it may not be the flashiest hotel in town, but it's affordable and the location is a winner.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinaNatElisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainlorne, Manager at Lorne Bay View, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
We do appreciate your feedback, as we strive to offer an enjoyable experience for our guests.

thank you for your positive review, we hope that you will visit again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a family wedding on in Lorne and just picked an accommodation place almost at random. What a find! This beautifully equipped, sprkling clean motel is right behind the Lorne Hotel, virtually on the main drag. We noted that gave RACV members a discount and when we mentioned this, suddenly got allocated Room 101. If you get a chance, grab it.
It's right on the top floor, at the end, with stunning views over the busy eating and entertasinment area of main street, over the beach and way out into Bass Strait.
Other rooms have similar views over the water, but 101 in the drop-dead georgous stand out.
The room had a deep spa, well appointed bathroom and a kitchen area highly suitable for anything from a quick weekend to an extended stay.
The huge windowd facing the sea open out to allow sunny sea breezes to waft through, and there are few things nicer to think about than lolling on the huge chaise, grabbing some gentle sun and thinking about the fourth or fifth Sav Blanc.
And - because it's a Comfort Inn - you won't have to think about phoning the bank manager when you get home.
We lloved it.

Room Tip: Go for 101 if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne3550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainlorne, Manager at Lorne Bay View, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Very disappointing to say the least !
Electric power point behind bed exposed.
Out of date food and drinks in room.
Pubic hair in bathroom
Iron - bubbled and burnt on plate.
Foxtel advertised but only one channel available.
On check in they ask you to leave written details of your credit card that they say they keep for a few years ! Yes honestly ! How unsafe is that !
Overall I would never never stay here again - nor would I recommend any one else does.
I have never stayed in worse to be honest.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyandRoger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainlorne, Manager at Lorne Bay View, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you for your review. It is a pity, however, that you did not verbalise any of these concerns to us whilst you were here. we could have easily rectified any problems had you let us know.
the 'power point' you refer to is in face a telephone point and is of no danger. It was damaged the night before and we had not had an opportunity to fix it.
we do in fact have four Foxtel channels (many motels do not have free Foxtel at all )
if a chocolate bar was out of date, we could have easily replaced it for you.
With regard to the cleanliness of the room, we have just had our annual inspection (by external inspectors) and scored "outstanding" in all categories.
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations, and I hope this review does not deter others from staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lorne hotels

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Avrage for the price, however the room was ok with a big comfortable bed.
What was good. View, balcony, bed,
What was avrage. Stains on the couch and floor, unpainted wall patches. Shower over the spa

Room Tip: Ask to view the room prior to booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Kitchen had stove tops and sink and it was a close walk to dinner in Lorne. Shower was great. I recommend it if looking for a cheap base in Lorne that doesn't feel too cheap

Only complaints: there was a gap between two roll down blinds that prevented privacy somewhat esp. with a frequented pathway right outside. Spa was clean to look at but once jets were on quickly filled with dirty scum and other people's hair.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbitnom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lorne hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.2 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#6 of 9 in Lorne
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
0.4 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#3 of 9 in Lorne
2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Bay View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Bay View

Property: Lorne Bay View
Address: 3 Bay St, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lorne Bay View 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lorne Bay View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lorne
Lorne Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing