We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay on the ground floor”
Review of Lorne Bay View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lorne Bay View
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't stay on the ground floor”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was a nice enough motel room, although access was horrible and the entry had a totally unnecessary step to clear, but the real problem is that if you're on the ground floor, you can hear everything going on above you - and if the people in the upper floor are inconsiderate smokers partying on to three in the morning, then you'll get no rest at all. Between their 'talking' on the balcony, the sound of the glass door being opened repeatedly, the thud of footsteps back and forth, and the airconditioner compressor going on and off with a road, it was impossible to get back to sleep. There is no night manager so no one to complain to, and direct appeals went unheeded.

If you must stay here, insist on an upper floor room, which will mean dragging your luggage up the stairs, but at least you'll have a chance of sleeping.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are subject to huge amount of noise from upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    44
    42
    21
    23
See reviews for
26
81
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Very average. Standards room have no view and you wouldn't want to spend time here except to sleep and eat... Location is good but that's about it. There's a hot plate but no pans or pots and there was no towel rail in the bathroom

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This motel was ok for a stopover but would not recommend a longer stay. We were there Sunday night and suffered the very early very noisy deliveries to the next door hotel/pub on the Monday morning.
Facilities were basic . All ok but not outstanding - getting a bit tired

Room Tip: Avoid Sunday night/Monday morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David2Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight 13/3 /14 after a wonderful day spent in Lorne . The female staff member we dealt with was more than helpful placing us in a room that did not require climbing stairs due to my disability. We were placed at the far end which was really quiet . The room itself had a lovely queen bed .. table & chairs plus a sofa and flat screen TV. A very well appointed kitchenette and bathroom with spa which was wonderful .. all for a very reasonable price ... Hubby and I would defiantly stay again .
Our stay was very restful in this great little town .

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank noeleneselmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Booked an executive room and was impressed by the view from our room. Super close to the beach, and had everything we needed for a one night stop over in Lorne. Better than a standard motel: air conditioned, modern interior, amazing views, clean.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureGal94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muelheim an der Ruhr, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

On the Way to the Great Ocean Road we booked an Executive room at important price, but got one 20 m from the kitchen exhausts and waste boxes, close to the open-air bar of the next Lorne Hotel including live music and DJ until midnight.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralf T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lorne hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed for 5 nights early January 2014. When we arrived we were told we had a free upgrade to a courtyard room. When we moved in to the room we noticed it backed hard on to the back of the big hotel at Lorne. This worried us a bit and was confirmed soon enough by trucks arriving to unload nearly all day. Each night the hotel band was so loud that the room shook and did not stop until 10:30 pm. We suspect that whoever was in the room before us asked to be moved and we suddenly got our free "upgrade". Also the room was not properly serviced and the staff seemed to avoid having to service it. At $240 a night we thought it all a big rip off. When we checked out, the reception staff avoided even making eye contact, so they obviously were sheepish about it. We left badly sleep deprived. It is however close to the beach and this is why it is so expensive.
We had spent 3 nights in Melbourne prior to this stay, at half the price of this rip off motel, and it was a 3 times better hotel.
I would not recommend this motel to anyone.....stay away!

Room Tip: If you must stay here pick a room as far from the Hotel as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thosegoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainlorne, Manager at Lorne Bay View, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
we do appreciate feedback, so that we can continue to strive to offer an enjoyable experience for the many thousands of guests who stay with us each year.
Staying in Lorne over New Year's Eve, one cannot expect peace and tranquility. There are over 20000 people in town at that time, and naturally there is going to be some noise.
it is a pity that the guest did not communicate their concerns at any stage of their five night stay, so that we at least had the opportunity to rectify any issues.
Most people are appreciative of a free upgrade, and I am sorry if the guest felt that there was some 'ulterior motive' for this move. It was indeed a genuine gesture to offer a 'gift' to the guest as they were staying for five nights.
I am sorry that the guest did not enjoy their experience in our beautiful town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lorne hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.6 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#6 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
0.4 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#2 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Bay View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Bay View

Property: Lorne Bay View
Address: 3 Bay St, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lorne Bay View 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lorne Bay View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lorne
Lorne Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing