We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We found the location to be ideal”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lorne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Great Ocean Road Backpackers
Ranked #7 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Lorne
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“We found the location to be ideal”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

After being told that there were only 2 B&Bs available in town (at quite a high cost) we stopped in here looking for a more reasonable alternative. We were in a private room on the upper floor - with a small kitchenette. The room was clean and relatively spacious. The kitchen had the essentials and a fair sized fridge. We could not get the TV to work, but this was not a huge deal. The bathrooms were around back and seemed a little dirtier. We did not use the common room or the common kitchen but they looked fine. We walked into town and to the grocery store. In our view it was a great.location.AND once again, as a double room we paid less than we would have at a local B&B.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank eak027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    19
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
1
24
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed here 2 years ago, loved it then and booked it again this time. We had one of the cottages as we traveled with my parent in law. Everybody loved it!! The wildlife is amazing, supermarket around the corner and only a short walk to the beach and the promenade. Service is great!! Really friendly and helpful. Yes it is a hostel, but we love to meet people and I don't know why some people have problem with the prices??! We paid $50 per person per night which I think was a good deal. If you want luxury you have to spend a bit more and stay somewhere else.
We are looking forward to come back next year!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleKa26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Bathroom outside : cold and dirty.
On Monday there is a group coming every week and making a lot of noise . Really disturbing to sleep. I don't recommend that place, there is an other backpack in Lorne witch is much better !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmanceG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Very pretty surroundings and all the cabins look very nice from the outside. Our room was up a very steep set of stairs so we were unable to bring our big bags into the room (not really a problem since we were in the car). Room itself (4 person dorm) was well kept and there was enough space. Bathrooms ok but a bit shabby. Great that in the morning (7.30 - 8am) a big flock of wild cockatoos came to sit outside the kitchen, great for photos. Lorne itself is very nice and there is a supermarket 2 mins from the lodge, and lots of cafes \ restaurants within easy walking distance. The hostel owners were quite rude when we arrived (weren't very welcoming then listed a ton of things we weren't allowed to do) but were much better the next morning and the free wifi wasn't working while we were there because 'birds had chewed through the wires'.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed there as part of a tour in dorms. No Internet. Kitchen and bathrooms used by many others than my large group of 17. Way too crowded. Cockatiels all around in the trees. Depends on your point of view. Way Cool or noisy birds. Grocery down the street. Ocean beach couple of blocks away. River front and small restaurants very close. Large dorms with bunk beds for mixed genders. Mine had 3 double bunks plus 1 single for 7 beds plus loft with 4 more beds. Next door was 3 bunk beds so 6 beds total.

Room Tip: Cottages looked neat but much more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VALipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

What can i say , the place was great for the price you pay the clue is in the title it's for backpackers , if you want 5* accomedation pay your price some where else . this place has brilliant surroundings the staff couldn't be more helpfull the grounds were imaculate , surrounded by all kinds of native wild life birds , koala , lizards , plants and trees , why would you want more, i have to personaly thank the management for giving my wife and myself some great advice , park the van , camper i have to say and walk every where which we did , the accomedation did exactly what it is meant to do , give you a restfull night with an early morning dawn corus from the birds , the showers and bathroom facilities were good seen worse in some so called three star hotels , if like us you crave seeing some of australia and it's wild life this is the place for you , we traveld 12,000 miles and found this place by chance , brilliant couldn't of asked for better , so we have to thank Packy and Kim for a great time , and his advice on the walk to the falls and a different not so well known drive back to Melbourne was the stuff great holidays are made of , we will call again one day in the not too distant future , AWESOME , Thanks again .

Room Tip: listen to the advice given and you will be rewarded ten fold
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

You cannot beat this backpackers for location, in the trees, cockatoos around all the time etc. BUT, towels are not provided, even at a charge, and the shared bathrooms are not that great. We were in a 3 bed attic room and I feel the price was too high, even if the service from the guy was very friendly

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigrid_b23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorne
0.1 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
196 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.3 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#3 of 9 in Lorne
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park
14.4 mi away
Great Ocean Road Resort
Great Ocean Road Resort
#1 of 1 in Anglesea
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Ocean Road Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Ocean Road Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Ocean Road Backpackers

Property: Great Ocean Road Backpackers
Address: 10 Erskine Avenue, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Ocean Road Cottages & Backpackers is located in a quiet bush setting, at the beginning of the main street of Lorne with its boutique shops, cafes andrestaurants. Great Ocean Road Cottages & Backpackers offers a range of accommodation to suit travellers looking for quiet, comfortable, affordable accommodation within a 5 minute walk to Lorne's beaches and nearby to many of the stunning bushwalks within the region. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Great Ocean Road Backpackers Yha Hotel Lorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing