We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park
Ranked #20 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Lorne
Reviewed 27 May 2013

terrible facility the worst staff ever hardly worth a review stay away please. The location is poor you are on side of busy road traffic noise all night as well as lights from street and supermarket.
Cabin we stayed in was filthy and worn out lights right out the front coming right through bedroom window.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere nothing about this place was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crowie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Manager at Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

I apologise that you had a poor experience at the park during your recent visit. The issues raised with the cleanliness and maintenance have been discussed with the housekeeping manager to ensure this issue is resolved. I hope apart from this issue you had an enjoyable stay and we hope that next time we can exceed your expectations.
Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

April 2013 we had a few nights at Lorne Caravan park.
A positive was that we could pick our tent site. Staff was friendly. I was just disgusted at the condition of the bathroom and showers. Walls were dirty with black marks , green organisems growing on the wall and a ball of hairs and filth on the shower floor. Cleaning is very minimal and is done in minutes but as can be expected not a great standerd. From observing I would not stay in the small cabins on the camping grounds. No privacy, no outdoor sitting oppertunity and very very tiny. Lorne itself is beautiful and worth a visit! No camp kitchen on the side we camped but there was one on the other side of the road.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasmanian300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

Campsite jam packed with all caravans on top of eachother. Not grassy. Just dirty sand on floor and facilities quite dirty. Easter weekend so maybe why was so busy. Still only $35. Other campsites doubled prices! So better value. Right on main street of lorne by info centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Welshtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This was our first caravan park on a 2-week road trip - we got put on a hill overlooking the water which was away from crowd. Poorly maintained sites but cobwebs all over the facilities. The power socket did not work and we did not even realize it until our water kettle worked when plugged into the bathroom socket. No hot shower at night. Not a very pleasant experience for first night. And $37 for one night!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank echoytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

My sister and I and my 2 nephews stayed here yesterday and OMG what a [--] hole! Cabin was disgusting! Filthy inside and out! No air con! Windows falling apart! Dirty dirty dirty! The mattresses my nephews slept on where thin and falling apart and looked about 20 years old! The only good point about this park is the location! The wildlife there is beautiful but they have signs everywhere telling u not to feed any of the wildlife! Personally I think they need to work on their strengths of location and wildlife a d not deter people from it! Avoid this place at all costs!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelly o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We won this stay on a travel auction site as did a majority of other vanners that we spoke to.The toilet doors and laundry were permanantly open allowing non paying public to walk in off the street and continually use these facilities.Plastic tents and cheap marquees littered some sites.
No maintenance to sites ( some of which had no water ) or amenities and no security at all.
If we had paid full price for our stay we would have requested a discount.The lesson that we have learnt is to check reviews before bidding on auction sites.Never again will we stay at this so called park on the river that is full of sewerage and a swing bridge that does not swing because it is closed for maintenance before Easter holidays .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gelong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed in Kia-ora park and loved it. You feel like your in the bush and away from the rat race of the Main Street. They have redone the toilets and showers which was well needed. For the cost of the park it is a nice relaxing spot on the rive.

Room Tip: The sites on the river down the back of the park are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lorne hotels
0.1 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
204 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.4 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#3 of 9 in Lorne
3,406 reviews
3 mi away
Cumberland River Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park

Address: 2 Great Ocean Road, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Lorne
Price Range: £66 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park has five fantastic camp grounds on the Great Ocean Road in Lorne with beachfront and riverside locations. Our brand new river view cabins offer self contained boutique accommodation. We also offer affordable camping and onsite cabin accommodation, all in picturesque natural leafy settings and located only a short stroll to Lorne's pristine beach, local shops, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing