We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great winter break”
Review of Mantra Lorne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Lorne
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Sale, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great winter break”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at Mantra Lorne for three nights this week in a Heritage room. We enjoyed the old building with its character and yet comfortably modernised.

Highlight would have been the breakfast with a wide range of hot foods, cereals, juices, breads and then a couch in front of the (gas) fire to read the morning paper.

We found the service excellent, mores so from the household staff than reception. On several occasions we made requests of them which were responded to graciously and promptly. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo R, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear go285,

Thank you very much for your feedback, I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us. The Heritage room indeed have a lot of character and history, these are my favourites rooms in the resort.

I am also very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the service and the breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Gustavo Romero
Rooms Division Manager
Mantra Lorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    948
    570
    260
    168
See reviews for
677
1,374
56
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We were gifted a night at the Mantra for Christmas and were quite looking forward to it. We even added in a second night to stay for the whole weekend!

The entire process was tiring though. Got there and they couldn't find our booking. When they eventually found it they apologised and upgraded us to the garden views room - nice huh? All well and good except for the fact that the room was quite clearly the "spare" room. The bed was actually two mattresses. The door that lead to the entrance to the room was broken and we could barely open it. Service was okay but considering we were "upgraded" and staying at a high end named hotel like The Mantra, we were expecting much more. Unlikely we would stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mcs501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo R, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear mcs501,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am disappointed to learn that you had problems at the time of check in, I have passed on your feedback to our Front Office Manager for her to address with the team and ensure that this does not happens again.

Once again please accept my apologies for a less than ideal arrival experience and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,
Gustavo Romero
Rooms Division Manager
Mantra Lorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lorne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here last weekend. Ok, but all looks a bit tired.
Fantastic convenient location. 3 minute walk to Beach Pavilion restaurant (great).
Booked an apartment via Central phone number for two people with a sea view/balcony, for our wedding anniversary for one night only. I should have realised, but also no one suggested the obvious! 2 people/one night - why not stay in a studio with a sea view. Then I could have sat in bed and enjoyed the view. Not to be - our apartment had a lounge with sea view BUT our bedroom had NO window. A skylight with a blind over bed, but this couldn't be opened (as advised by reception) so no sky view either.
All rather disappointing. I enquired as to the difference of price. Could have saved $100 and had a sea view and breakfast included in a studio! Was told to book directly through the hotel direct at Lorne next time.
The other disappointing thing was - we'd had such a great stay at Mantra on Russell and thought it would be the same!
(Advised reception that breakfast (which we had to pay another $20p/p on top of the $220+) had no naming labels on all the foods - maybe an oversight!

Room Tip: Ask if there are pines in front of windows, otherwise you are paying for a partial sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo R, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Viv H,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your resent stay, I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspect of your stay.

I have shared your feedback with our reservations team as they should be giving you all the options available at the time of booking, I have also shared your feedback with our central reservations team as they aren’t based in the hotel but it is important for them to know your feedback.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the resort in the near future.

Please accept my apologies again for the shortcomings during your stay.

Kind regards,
Gustavo Romero
Rooms Division Manager
Mantra Lorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Mantra Lorne, despite being there in the winter off season.
Lorne is very sleepy in the off-season, but still a nice little seaside town. I was in the older part of the hotel, which I liked for it's multi-level corridors and assorted stairways. The bed was nice enough, but the room was a bit worn feeling. The sink, toilet and shower were nice enough. The grounds were great, with tennis courts and a nice lawn for croquet, frisbee, or whatever. The beach is just out the backdoor, and across the cypress-lined lane..

Breakfast was amazing. Plenty of eggs, bacon, breads, fresh pastries, fruit, cereal, juice smoothies, tea,... Even a real honeycomb to scrape your own honey from.

The staff were very friendly overall.

I'd definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFamilyTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The front desk was helpful on the phone (we booked a room 2 hours before arriving in June) and upon arrival. There was free pumpkin soup and house-made mulled wine in the lobby at check-in, which was a lovely touch. All of the staff we interacted with during our stay were very friendly and polite.

We booked a Resort Room rather than a Heritage Room, since reading reviews that Resort Rooms were nicer for a slightly higher price. I would say it was worth it, and after checking into our room we were very happy and surprised. Our room seemed a bit odd at first, as a one-of-a-kind layout corner location. On the ground floor, the small dining table nook opened up to an outdoor patio (it was too cold to enjoy outside, but the view and the morning light was lovely), and the bed and furniture was very new, trendy and comfortable, as advertised. To our pleasant surprise, the room came with a fridge, kettle and teas, wine glasses and opener, dishes and cutlery. The room was very cold at night, even with the small heater on, but with the extra comforter we were warm and slept well. The bathroom was lovely and immaculately clean, with a brand new and very large bathtub/shower combo.

Would definitely stay again. Wonderful staff, great modern room for a couple, and unbeatable location.

Room Tip: Ground-level rooms lead open to a public (but fenced-in) patio area. Good for families. Higher rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OuiOuiCassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We have previously stayed with the Manta chain many years ago at another location and were very disappointed so avoided them since. Until this stay!!!

From the moment I walked into the lobby we were warmly welcomed!!! This is despite a young family and me being conscious of small kids "interrupting" other peoples get aways.

Staff went out of their way to ensure the kids were entertained with colouring books etc.

The rooms were of a good size but nothing over the top. The only thing that could be improved would be the comfort of the couch.

Buffet breakfast was superb. Great selection of foods and healthy options cater for all tastes.

The grounds were well maintained and very spacious which allowed for outdoor play.

With the beach 20 metres away - perfect location!!!!

The indoor swimming pool was well looked after and a nice temperature during these cooler months.

Overall a very enjoyable stay.
Thank you

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bluey_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverloch, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

As other reviewers have stated the public rooms, breakfast and dinner (very slow service!) in the restaurant were all excellent. Really good location and the hot soup and mulled wine each day a nice touch. Good sized fridge in room but not much hanging space.

However the room (a Heritage Room) was small, cold and dirty. Very strange set up with the loo and shower in a separate room but the handbasin located in the bedroom. Dust was inches thick on the table lamps with drilling remnants left on the skirting board.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a Resort Room. Avoid Heritage Rooms, especially those next to the Housekeeping r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 355Barbara48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLorne, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, 9 November 2016
Hi,

Thank you for the review.

Cheers
The Team at Mantra Lorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lorne hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.3 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lorne
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Lorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Lorne

Property: Mantra Lorne
Address: Mountjoy Parade, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia (Formerly Mantra Erskine Beach Resort)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Lorne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only beachfront property in Lorne, Mantra Lorne is tastefully built around the oldest permanently operating guesthouse in Victoria. Located on 12 acres of lush landscaped gardens, Mantra Lorne offers a range of facilities including a family friendly Brasserie and Bar, Endota Day Spa, 18 hole putt putt course and heated indoor mineral pool. Local attractions surrounding and within easy reach of the resort include Erskine Falls, the Twelve Apostles, Split Point Lighthouse and the Angahook State Forest. Positioned at the gateway of the iconic Great Ocean Road, Mantra Lorne is less than an hours drive from Avalon Airport and under two hours drive from Melbourne. There is a range of accommodation options including resort rooms, one and two bedroom apartments as well as Heritage Hotel rooms. The one and two bedroom apartments are fully self contained and feature kitchen and share laundry facilities, reverse cycle air conditioning, private balcony and VCR or DVD players. One bedroom apartments can be conjoined with resort rooms to create a twin key two bedroom family environment. Resort rooms and hotel rooms feature a range of outlooks including filtered ocean views or garden views and some offer spa baths. Apartments are serviced every third day of stay (i.E. 4Th and 8th day) unless stipulated otherwise at the time booking. *Note - As bedding configurations vary please request your requirements at time of booking, but please note this request cannot be guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Lorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Erskine Beach Hotel Lorne
Mantra Erskine Beach Lorne
Lorne Erskine Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing