We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on GOR?”
Review of Anchors

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchors
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We spent two nights at Anchors – Port Campbell. Everyone on the TA forums was telling us that it is important to spend enough time doing GOR to be able to really appreciate the area. And we are really glad we listen to the local experts. Our time at Anchors was some of the very best on our entire 6 weeks holiday in Australia and NZ. We did part of the Great ocean walk, and we did not meet a single person doing the hike. The scenery was breathtaking! Also we did winetasting at Newtons Ridge Estate Vineyard, and the sparkling rose (“Sparkling trio”) was one of the best champagne style wines we have ever tasted. It also happens to be a bargain! The accommodation at Anchors was perfect in every way; we loved the view of the dairy country. We sat out on the deck enjoying the wine and some local chocolate, just taking it all in. In the evening we had takeaway just to be able to spend more time at Anchors. Highly recommended, and do yourself a favor and stay for at least two nights!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghostviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Anchors
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

The property owner is so friendly and helpful with tips for the area. The Great Ocean Road is amazing, but a stay at Anchors is the icing on the cake! Everything about Anchors is fabulous, peaceful and luxurious from the very comfortable king size bed, the gorgeous views from all angles of the room, a well equipped kitchen, the extras like breakfast cereal along with the coffee, tea, and biscuits, the spa tub with candles and the most friendly and helpful owner. We are from Michigan and stayed in Australia for 4 weeks. Anchors was our absolute favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schoolsoutx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Had an overnight stay at Anchors for a brief trip to the Great Ocean Road - great facilities - peaceful, and centrally located in a great setting. Wonderful views of Port Campbell, host very attentive with initial contact and follow-up. Would recommend for a stay in Port Campbell.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Hubs and I stayed one night. It was the best night of our 8 night GOR trip. Cannot pin down just one thing that was my favorite about this place, so here are a few of them, in no particular order...the comfy king bed, the AMAZING views, the TUB (with an amazing view, natch), the lovely provided coffee in the top notch coffee-maker, the quiet, clean air and relaxation that is impossible not to feel while you're here, and lastly the excellent Chinese massage. In fact, I liked it so much, that I would plan my next GOR road trip around the availability of this accomodation- and you should too. Here's a tip: Head to town and grab your meal in a take away container. Bring it back, sit on the porch and enjoy dinner with the gorgeousness of nature all around you, so much better than sitting in a restaurant. Also, hit the grocery and pick up some wine and snacks to munch on while you watch a movie before bed. (There is even a selection of DVD's in the room!)

Room Tip: All three cottages offer privacy and views. Any of the three are superb.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This is such a beautiful spot to visit Port Campbell and the surrounding areas from.

The owners are friendly and attentive to all needs without being overbearing. Tanya remained in touch via mobile when we needed her to answer our trivial and mundane questions (like how to use the wine cooler!) and she gave us some good advice about the local area and where to stock up on supplies, but otherwise we were left alone to enjoy a romantic getaway.

Anchors is in a beautiful spot, overlooking scenic countryside. The rooms are stylish and very comfortable, with TV and DVDs and a kitchen well stocked with utensils. They also provide a BBQ, which would have been wonderful to use out in the garden if it had not been so windy when we visited...we'll use it next time, for sure!

It's a short drive into Port Cambell and to other local attractions, such as the Twelve Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge (a beautiful place to watch the sunset, btw!), and it's also worth visiting Timboon for the ice cream, cheese and whiskey. Anchors is a great place to return to at the end of the day to relax.

The next time I'm on that part of the Great Ocean Rd, I'll definitely go back to Anchors!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We only got to stay here for one night on our trip up the Ocean Road, but I could have easily stayed here for a week or longer - I was very sad to leave so soon.
We found Anchors through trip advisor and can only support the glowing reviews on here so far. We were met with a very warm welcome from Ian, who owns the farm, and then Tanya his daughter in law who runs Anchors. She is lovely and helpful without being the least overbearing and her attention to detail is second to none. The cottages are spotlessly clean and well tended, with beautiful views across the countryside and down to the sea which you can enjoy from the huge floor to ceiling windows or take a glass of wine outside on the table and chairs in the little garden area. The jacuzzi baths are fabulous (there are even tea light and matches to hand) and lots of lovely touches like the dvd selection, ipod doc, welcome chocs in the fridge, interesting magazines, etc. It's minutes from the stunning coastline, so a great spot to explore the area, and yet you feel very peaceful and isolated and we had a fantastic night's sleep.
It's a lovely romantic location, and we'd recommend it highly and hope to one day get back there for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Everything in the cottage is done so well, from the linnen to the bathroom ammenities and even a coffee machine in the kitchen there have been no corners cut in making sure this is a first class stay.
Tanya the manager sent me a text the day before our arrival and then again on the day to let me know the cottage was ready. After we arrived she stopped in to make sure every thing was perfect (which it was) then gave us soem sight seeing tips for the next day.
If I had one complaint, it is that I was not there long enoungh!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayOnHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Campbell hotels
0.8 mi away
Port Campbell Motor Inn
Port Campbell Motor Inn
#4 of 11 in Port Campbell
222 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Great Ocean Road Inn
0.9 mi away
Portside Motel
Portside Motel
#1 of 11 in Port Campbell
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Southern Ocean Villas
Southern Ocean Villas
#5 of 8 in Port Campbell
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Daysy Hill Country Cottages
Daysy Hill Country Cottages
#3 of 8 in Port Campbell
131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchors

Address: 2549 Cobden-Port Campbell Rd | 2kms North of Port Campbell, Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Port Campbell
Price Range: £194 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anchors 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anchors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing