We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“.......this is a 'must' stop on your Great Ocean Road trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port Campbell Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Her and me got a great welcome from Peter the owner. He had just painted our room the day before our arrival and was concerned that there might still be a paint smell and so he thought it best to upgrade us to a 2 bedroom with a jacuzzi bath and at no additional cost.

Peter has spent his first year, since taking the place over, by refurbishing every room and his efforts can be seen throughout the property. Each room has comfortable beds, all new bedding, a smart new tv and aircon and all the kitchen utensils in our room were brand new. Swimming pool and BBQ area are available to all guests.

Coffee, tea and some cookies greet you and unusually in this area, a complimentary continental breakfast is offered each morning.

This Motor Inn is like a little oasis on the Great Ocean Road and is well worth a stop on your trip.

We came all the way from Scotland to enjoy Peter's hospitality.

Room Tip: ......all rooms are good
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Port Campbell Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2012

Host Peter was very welcoming to our painting group when we stayed at his hotel in mid September 2012. My room was very clean, updated to a good standard and there was a great can do attitude if there was anything that needed attention (not that I had any issues). Peters plan for a chef in the near future will add to this great accommodation spot. We will definitely be back. Thanks again Peter - keep up the good work.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank longr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed here for one night after having a view at the apostels which are about 15min drive away from Port Campbell. The Motelroom was okay, the owner very nice. We had trouble with our laundry and asked for some help and the help was there immediately. Thanks a lot! The room was big and clean, but it was not the newest one. But the price was very fair. So we can recommend it to have a night here while being on the great ocean road.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeRieHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed here for three nights with a group of artists painting the amazing scenery of the Great Ocean Road. The owner lives on site and has a clear commitment to continue with the many improvements he has already put in place. He takes great pride in his establishment and has a distinctly friendly and hands on approach to management. It there is a problem he is close by and sees it it fixed promptly. Not that you are likely to have any problems - my room was spacious, clean and simply decorated, with a flat screen TV attached to the wall, microwave, reverse cycle air conditioner, very comfortable bed and a couple of comfortable armchairs. Outside the romm were two wooden chairs and a small table so you take take in some morning or evening sun with a cup of tea or a glass of wine. The breakfast room is cosy with white cloth table cloths and breakfast choices of various toasts and cereal with juice, tea and coffee.
The motel is located close to town and Peter has a good knowledge of eating places and tourist spots. I suspect that anyone who stayed here before Peter took over wouldn't recognize the place. He has put in a great deal of hard work pulling it up to a new level of comfort with little touches of luxuries like chocolates to welcome you.
Overall an excellent choice for a mid range motel.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank patriciabuon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Comfortable accommodation and convenient place on Great Ocean Road. Bonus to have brekky in cozy dining room included in price of room. Proprietor very friendly and helpful with good advice on local restaurants for evening meal. He said he is in process of updating all the rooms; our room hadn't been updated yet, but we found it to be nice, neat, and clean.

Room Tip: All rooms are behind office and main road, with nature reserve adjoining property.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunspoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed here for one night with a group of friends. Absolutely outstanding service, Peter the new owner was extremely friendly, helpful and made our trip even more enjoyable. The room was fantastic - very spacious, beds very comfortable, nice bathroom and tea/coffee/biscuits available. Breakfast was just right for what we wanted and there are plans to offer cooked meals in the future. It was absolutely ideal for a stop off on the great ocean road and very good value for money. The motel is within walking distance of the town and had a few choices of places to eat. Would highly recommend staying here, delighted we booked it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belle_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We were located in front rooms overlooking a peaceful beach front.But did have roads in front.
Good value for money.
Well kept buildings & rooms.
Very quiet time of year.
We could sit on verandah & enjoy afternoon sun & drinks,without too many passers by.

Room Tip: Front Motel type rooms or apartments behind gave best views of water.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trishc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Campbell hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Great Ocean Road Inn
6.2 mi away
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
0.1 mi away
Portside Motel
Portside Motel
#1 of 11 in Port Campbell
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
0.4 mi away
Loch Ard Motor Inn
Loch Ard Motor Inn
#2 of 11 in Port Campbell
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Foam Villas
Sea Foam Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Campbell
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Campbell Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Campbell Motor Inn

Address: 12 Great Ocean Rd, Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Price Range: £69 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Campbell Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Port Campbell Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing