We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
73
59
26
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
59
26
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury villatwelve apostlesthe kitchenthe great ocean roadnarrow staircaserice cookerliving areathe ground floorsmall townwould stay againsouthern oceanafter a long daycouple of nightsreception staffstayed for one nightcomfortable bedswashing machine
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2014 via mobile

Port Campbell is very central to all the great ocean road landmarks. I highly recommend Southern Ocean Villas as a quiet and modern place to base yourself. The staff are friendly and very accommodating, beds comfortable and the back patio is a great place to chillax. This is my second stay and I would not hesitate to book again.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
Thank skippy2346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We chose Southern Ocean Villas as we were looking for a base that allowed us to get sunset and sunrise photographs of the Twelve Apostles. Located just 5-10 minutes drive away, it did just that.

The villas have recently been refurbished and appeared to be the nicest that Port Campbell had to offer. It seems that whilst the rest of the villas were upgraded, the bathrooms had only been refurbished on a very basic level and still seemed quite sterile and cold.

All of the villas appear to be of a standard layout, with two double bedrooms, a bathroom and kitchen / diner area downstairs and further single beds in an open plan loft room. There's no dividing door between the loft room and the living areas, which may be an issue for guests aiming to put children to bed up there and continue using the living area.

Unfortunately, the cleanliness standards left a little to be desired. The bedlinen was clean, but the bathroom and kitchen were a bit grubby.

I think the price that we paid for this villa was expensive for what we got - it might be more suitable for a group than couples, but I would still consider it to be charging more than it was worth.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MortimerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Theses are well thought two storey villas with 2 bedrooms and a dorm style room on the top floor.

Kitchen is well equipped and you can enjoy the place with a large family or friends.

We stayed only for a night and we're just 2 of us with a 2 yr old. Enjoyed it but would have been nicer if we could stay longer with friends.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank fly_to_heaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This property is located within a 2 mins drive from the main street. Hence, it was relatively quiet and peaceful, and the house was quite cosy.

Good base for visiting the GOR, 12 Apostles was a short drive.

Loved the layout of the house - booked a 3 BR apartment for 5, but the house could accommodate 7 with 2 rooms on the ground floor, and an attic that has 3 single beds.

Kitchen was well equipped, and DVDs were available for loan at check-in.

Enjoyed our stay!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank CZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our party of four adults stayed at the Southern Ocean Villas for two nights in July. Angela waited up for our late arrival and we found her friendly and helpful on check-in. The villas were new, modern and quiet. The kitchen was well designed with quality amenities and appliances. Bathrooms were spacious with quality toiletries supplied. Heating was more than adequate for the cold winter nights (2c when we stayed). The location was an ideal base for the Twelve Apostles and the Food Trail. We did not see any snakes but hey, this is Australia. Only issue was that the wifi did not work which did not really impact us as were on holidays but would for guests working on the go.

Highly recommend the seafood and steak from the local pub and the 12 Rocks. The seafood platter was huge and fresh (instagram moment). During off season, it is advisable to call ahead to check if the kitchen is open as they tend to close early if quiet. During the busy season, best to see the Twelve Apostles early in the morning to beat the mass bus groups from Melbourne.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarefootTraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews