We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top view out”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Loch Ard Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loch Ard Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top view out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Position, position, position. The view out of our room's window was beautiful. Good value. Wifi doesn't work in room, ok outside. Staff very helpful. We travelled from the 12 Apostles an accidentally found this motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    116
    29
    10
    4
See reviews for
62
124
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We came offseason and took a beach view double bedroom. The room was fare in size with a small dining table next to a petite balcony. The WiFi did not really reach room so we couldn't use it and our air conditioner's heating worked very poorly. So that kinda shadowed our experience hear. The location is good though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asaf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

An older but pleasant motel with nice rooms in the front with a view of the bay across the street, and at a reasonable price.No traffic at night in the small village so no problem there. The manager was very friendly and helpful in finding an Aussie adaptor as the one we had bought earlier didn't fit some of our electrical items. Very central to walk to restaurants or bakery in the morning. Also a very good location to go 12-15km to all the nearby sights in the morning before the hordes of tourists and buses arrive.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed a night as a pitstop on the Great Ocean Road. The motorinn was situated at a nice location at a nice little town. We stayed at the family studio overlookng the street, which has a nice view of 'a little part' of the ocean...

There is a convienence store directly opposite the motorinn so if you need anything, you can go over to grab it. But it closes at 6pm, so if you need anything, go there early.

For a one night stay, it was okay as the room was basic and comfortable. There are free DVDs for viewing, which is a nice touch. But if you are expecting the room conditions to be the same as the pictures posted on its website, then you will be disappointed.

When we first went into the room, it seems dusty as though the room was not occupied and hence not cleaned for some time. And the room seemed a little 'old' and worn. An example of this would be the balcony grill where it was rusting quite badly, something you can't tell from the pictures from the website.

For the price and from the website pictures, we were a little disappointed with what we got. It was not the best, but I guess not the worst either.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Germite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

This is a great motel - very clean, friendly service, good location for exploring the Great Ocean Road, free wi-fi, toaster, fridge, kettle and microwave in the room, small dining table, balcony overlooking the water and convenient parking. If you go expecting a motel then I think you'll be very pleased (but if you go expecting luxury you will undoubtedly be disappointed!). We stayed in the 'bridge', or the room located over reception, and two walls of the room were all windows with fantastic views of the bay. We ate dinner at Waves and also got our morning coffee there the next day, and both food and coffee were delicious. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the room over reception; it's smaller than others but the view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamus44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We booked a king-size spa room for our last night along the GOR with the intention of making this our "little bit of luxury" on the last night. The Loch Ard Motor Inn didn't really deliver on that.

Yes, the room was large and, yes, it was a king-size bed and, yes, there was a spa-bath. However, the "ocean views" was a glimpse of the beach a fair way off. The "king-size plasma TV" was a small LCD TV about the size of my computer monitor (OK, I do have a large computer monitor but still ...). The room was quite dusty and didn't appear to have been used for some time. The batteries in the various remote controls were flat. The cupboard doors in the kitchenette were starting to sag on their hinges. The king-size balcony was quite small and provided a much better view of the local grocery store than it did the ocean. The artwork in the room appeared to have been painted by the owners children. All of this for $180 per night. Not good value, at all.

However, the owner was very friendly and helpful, there was free wi-fi internet access and a large range of free DVD's on offer.

The owner was very nice and I feel bad writing a poor review of the place but, as I sit here adding up all the things that were wrong with our room, I just can't bring myself to rate this motel as anything better than "poor". Maybe we should have opted for one of the more expensive rooms but the room we got did not live up to the advertising.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikey0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We recently travelled through the GOR and one of our stays was at Port Campbell. We had pre-booked and were looking forward to a comfortable stay after a cold and windy day of sight-seeing. Many aspects of this old but well-maintained motel were good however some important aspects were simply missed. After a great dinner at the local hotel we retreated to our room at Loch Ard only to find we had no heating! We're seasoned travellers and knew we needed to give the air-con some time... no good. The wheels then fell off the Loch Ard..... when we tried, at 7:30pm to get some assistance, no one was contactable. The front desk was closed and our calls to the main phone line were diverted to the owners mobile..... and she was overseas!...... we left a curt message but didn't expect a reply. We had no option but to go to bed to keep warm. At 3am the wind started howling and a banner hung over the reception balcony played a loud and merry tune.... no sleep, no warmth.... not good enough Loch Ard, and you know I haven't mentioned everything!.... We were given a discount along with apologies, but that's not what travellers are after. We will try them again next year and ask for the same room, just to see if the air-con is fixed!

Room Tip: Find a room away from the reception banner - check the air-con on arrival as Pt Campbell gets very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truereviewerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haigo86, Owner at Loch Ard Motor Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear guest , we are sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations and standards and we take on board your complaints and have acted to rectify them ..... directly after you checked out I went to your room to check the reverse cycle a/c that you complained about to find that you had the remote control set on dry instead of heat , as you should well know as a seasoned traveller and as you told me a free lance travel journalist for a major Sydney news paper reverse cycle a/c will not heat on the dry setting , upon testing the a/c in the correct / heat setting it worked perfectly , sorry you did not know this and we are now putting into each room written instructions , once again we are sorry and we are trying to continually improve .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Campbell hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Campbell Great Ocean Road Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
Port Campbell Motor Inn
Port Campbell Motor Inn
#4 of 11 in Port Campbell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
6.4 mi away
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waves
Waves
#9 of 11 in Port Campbell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portside Motel
Portside Motel
#1 of 11 in Port Campbell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ard Motor Inn

Property: Loch Ard Motor Inn
Address: 24 Great Ocean Road | 18 Lord St, Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loch Ard Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Loch Ard Motor Inn is a stylish modern motel set in beautiful gardens with absolute beach front position. each suite has stunning ocean views and private balconies, a/c, private bath room, kitchenette, wifi broadband to each room. we are 50 meters from a safe swimming beach, restaurants, shops, cafes and super market and the 12 apostles is only 10 min drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loch Ard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Ard Motor Hotel Port Campbell
Loch Ard Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing