We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, comfortable, relaxing. Great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Coach House at The Pheasant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just returned from a lovely weekend at The Pheasant, a gorgeous small local country pub/restaurant with attached rooms. From the warm welcome by the hosts and staff, to the very clean, comfortable, spacious modern room (super comfortable bed!) and the excellent location in some stunning, tranquil Essex countryside, this is the perfect place for a relaxing walking break. The atmosphere in the pub is warm and friendly and the food is excellent, so much so that we made a detour in our afternoon ramble after we had checked out so that we could eat there again before we finally left for the day. We will definitely go back and will be recommending it to all our friends too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Thomas Gainsborough suite. Clean, modern, spacious ground floor room with super com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa-Leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had a one night stay with dinner and breakfast. Very peaceful, and our room was lovely (The Gainsborough)... I can imagine staying in the summer we would have made use of the outside terrace off this room. A very friendly welcome and glass of Prosecco, and we were shown to our room with everything we needed to know pointed out for us. Dinner was very good, more than adequate in choice and with local produce which was all very tasty. Ditto for breakfast, which we found very hearty, possibly because we had eaten so well the night before! We would certainly return if visiting friends in the area, as on this occasion.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Thank you for a great night for my partner and I. the food was amazing and also a great selection of real ales to choose from. The staff were very accommodating and made us feel welcome and at home! we will see you again!

Emma Gee

Room Tip: John Constable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmafgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We had never been to this part of the UK and didn't know what to expect, however we were very pleasantly surprised. We had read the reviews of the Pheasant and were looking forward to our 1 night stay with breakfast and 2 course dinner included, especially as it was January and we didn't fancy having to go out to find a restaurant. Firstly, to find the Pheasant you need a sat nav. as it is well hidden in the countryside, having said that, it was in a great location surrounded by open fields. The Owners and staff are very friendly and attentive, and the rooms in the adjacent hotel block were first class, modern, smart and clean.
The weather on the night of our stay was foul, but the restaurant and bar was still full, with a cosy warm atmosphere. The drinks were good and the food was wonderful, we had the steak which was so tender it just melted, and the breakfast was excellent. We will definitely be staying again in the summer as there are lots of places to visit in this area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickpage10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Let me start by saying that this is in no way a negative review. But I feel compelled to write a true and realistic review of our stay here. We visited on Sunday 22nd December for one night. I was totally swayed by the excellent reviews on trip adviser of this B and B when we would normally stay in a large 4/5 star hotel.
We arrived just after 2 pm when the pub was busy for Sunday lunch. We were greeted cordially by Diana and had a welcome glass of prosecco as has been detailed by previous guests. When we were shown to our room which was the John Constable it was again very cosy and clean as described. There was a lovely window seat overlooking a panoramic view which I imagine in spring/summer is delightful. If looking for a more spacious room please ask for the rooms on the ground floor as this room is small.
We went across to the pub for our evening meal which was one of the reasons I had booked, as the majority of guests had raved about the fantastic food and home grown veg. This is where I felt that a more realistic description needs to balance out the other reviews. Firstly the setting of the pub was distinctly tired and lacking in atmosphere. There were not many patrons despite the nearness to Christmas, and ladies there is really no need to dress up. Jeans and a jumper really is the order of the day. It is a very small pub and I imagine depending on the time of year can be very quiet. Our meal was average. Not bad but not memorable either. The home grown veg had prob been sitting in a freezer thru the summer and autumn months and served up bland and lacking in taste. We left quickly and retired to our room, due to the lack of atmosphere.
Breakfast similarly was average. Served between 8:30 - 9:30. Our cooked breakfast consisted of 1 sausage 2 rashers of bacon 1/2 tomato 7 small pieces of mushroom, and the runniest scrambled eggs I' ve ever tasted. Not good at all. There was the option of black pudding if you wished. Now apart from the eggs the other ingredients were of good quality but woefully lacking in quantity. Most men I know would like more than 1 sausage or to be even given the option of being asked how many. Although this may seem like nit picking I am trying to give a real picture of what to expect. We felt that portion wise breakfast was on the small side.
On the plus side our host Diana was helpful when requesting a half hour extension on checking out.
So in conclusion in staying here do not have high hopes for 5 star luxury. It is a very adequate 3 star stay with clean and comfortable rooms with the pub being a bit tired looking and average food. However staying in the summer may give you a totally different experience.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Maz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The county of Essex is blessed with many little gems. The Pheasant is one of the shiniest. Situated in the small village of Gestingthorpe the location is remote. The Pheasant offers a small number of rooms in its coach house annex; a hop step and jump from the pub itself, real ales and good quality food. Three words describe the accommodation space, comfort and quality. Each of the rooms is themed for a local notable. You should note that all the rooms are individual so that if you want a specific feature you would be well advised to book well in advance. We stayed in the Gainsborough. The room was tastefully decorated with a sofa and coffee table, a good quality TV and a bed big enough to require a mobile phone to reach your partner. There was a patio out the back, perfect for warm summer evenings. The bathroom was also very large with a shower commodious enough to wash your car in and “his n her” basins. I would however advise caution when using the cold tap especially for men and especially if you are just going to dinner! There was also very spacious clakromm with good quality tea nad coffee making facilities and a fridge.The pub itself is a quintessential English country pub but very well presented and fresh. Much of the Pheasant’s reputation is built around the quality of its dining winning many Essex accolades and rightly so. The style is probably best described as modern sophisticated English pub food so you won’t find gels or foams or water baths (these belong in the bathroom anyway) but exceptionally well cooked local produce. We had hare in red wine (a twist on shepherd’s pie), pork belly, duck breast and calves liver during our two day stay; each was faultless and very tasty. On the first night we opted for the cheeseboard which was very good but it would be a shame if you didn’t try the puds; sticky toffee pudding was light and very moreish and the ice cream and jelly must have been really good as my wife didn’t share it with me! Laura who served us was very knowledgeable about the menu. There is an eclectic wine list. The pub serves real ales: the house bitter (brewed by Mauldons) and Woodfordes Twice Bittern whilst we there but also Aspall’s Harry Sparrow cider and Meantime’s Pilsner lager. The impression was that these had been had handpicked by someone who took a real interest in providing a good pint. Breakfast (also served in the pub) was also of a very high standard and freshly cooked superb smoked bacon!

Room Tip: Decide what you need and book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenandMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We spent a weekend at The Pheasant. There are some pleasant nearby footpaths across rolling countryside but not too much of interest in the village. Accommodation was in a recently-built building a few steps from the pub. Our room had a very nice view, was very clean with good bed and quality linen. The pub itself, while not spectacular, has a homely and welcoming feel. But the food is the star here: locally sourced (much of it from the landlord's well-kept garden) and cooked with care and attention that you can really taste. Accompanied by a couple of excellent beers and a reasonably priced wine list, and faultless service, this is a good venue for a romantic foodie getaway or a small group of casual drinkers/diners who want something straight forward but quite quality and I can see why it is getting return business.

Room Tip: Good view is a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Coach House at The Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House at The Pheasant

Address: The Pheasant Audley End | Nr. Castle Hedingham, Gestingthorpe CO9 3AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Gestingthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gestingthorpe
Price Range: £91 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Coach House at The Pheasant 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Best AA Pub for England 2015 and Pub of the Year for Alistair Sawdays 2015 The Coach House at the Pheasant 5 Star Inn AA rated, offering luxury accommodation on the Essex/Suffolk border. Our charming country pub has an excellent reputation for its fresh, seasonal menu and relaxed atmosphere. Entry into the Good Food Guide and Michelin Guide 2013/2014/2105/2016. James & Diana Donoghue the owners are hands-on every day to make sure that your stay is superb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Coach House at The Pheasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House At The Pheasant Hotel Gestingthorpe
The Coach House At The Pheasant Gestingthorpe, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing