We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Coach House at The Pheasant
Certificate of Excellence
Redbourn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great attention to detail”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night to celebrate my 60th birthday. It's a great location out in the country and there are some nice walks from The Pheasant itself.
We were made very welcome and enjoyed a drink in the bar before being shown to our room which was very nicely decorated and well appointed.
The evening meal and breakfast the following day were excellent.
We hope to return again one day - perhaps for my 65th birthday, if I make it that far!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BloggerJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    57
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
30
298
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Pheasant Coach House in the Captain Oates Room last weekend on a deal through late rooms, as a very regular business and leisure traveller it's fair to say I have a good view of the market and felt compelled to post a review as for what we paid for the room, even on deal, we felt short changed.

The rooms are in a separate building to the rear of the pub, the gravel drive around the building can make for restless night's sleep until all of the punters have taken their cars out of the car park at 11.30pm, probably not as noticeable in the winter months with bedroom windows closed, but as there is no air con in the rooms, an open window is necessity in summer.

The room was clean and freshly decorated but at a £185 a night rate I would have expected to have had a bathrobe (even on request we were told there were not available), a flannel and a goose down duvet - the synthetic one we had was pretty old and tired and very hot in this summer weather.

For such top end prices, top end facilities should really be provided.

Room Tip: all a bit pongy in the summer, not sure if it was the septic tank or spraying on the field but not n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_in_Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorks
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

From the moment we walked through the door we were made to feel welcome, glass of Prosecco, scones, jam and cream. Our room was delightful, overlooking the lush farmland. Dinner was excellent , great choice, very good wine and very pleasant service from a delightful waitress. We would recommend this highly if you want a quiet, peaceful yet value for money break. Our hosts could not do enough for us. Breakfast was freshly cooked, a good selection if everything and nothing was too much trouble. We will return if we are heading that way again. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good but if you are not good on stairs ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanne57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Check out The Pheasant; if you want to be in the heart of beautiful Eglish country and to eat and sleep well, this is for you.

My wheelchair-bound partner and I had a delightful two nights at The Pheasant in the Mark Catesby room, which is not only beautiful in design and furnishing but also marvellously conceived as an accessible room, complete with a wet-room equipped with all necessary handrails, low sink, etc. And it is easy to go out through the French windows into a characterful patio with a backdrop of fields.

Husband and wife team, James and Diana Donoghue, are very welcoming (and delightful, witty and thoughtful conversationalists), with Diana running the bar and restaurant with cheerful efficiency and James proving gastronomic delights at all meals (wherever possible, they use local produce).
We chose to have dinner there on both evenings, and on each occasion we had a great (if difficult!) choice between the standards on the menu and the changing specials.

On the second evening, there was a big family party dining from the village of Gestingthorpe.
While eating separately, we were made to feel a part of their celebrations (and invited to coffee the next day by the hosts), and everyone to whom we spoke there over the two days confirmed that The Pheasant is a genuine hub for community activities.

While we had expected our stay to be very good, James and Diana provided a truly outstanding service and ambiance. We have stayed in many excellent hotels in the UK and around the world, but the Pheasant's combination of terrific service, gastronomic excellence and a location in a beautiful part of England puts them right up there with the very best. The Donoghues do what they do wonderfully well.

This is one hotel to which we shall definitely return - and soon! Try it yourself to see if our superlatives are justified...

Room Tip: Check the website for the descriptions of the 5 rooms and call the co-owner Diana for any clarificat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a wonderful 1 night stay at the Pheasant. We were made to feel very welcome and Diana was extremely helpful in printing out cycle maps for us. Our dinner and breakfast was first class, thanks to James's cooking and the room was lovely and exceptionally clean. The fresh milk is a nice touch. We enjoyed our own private garden area outside the room, particularly as the weather was sunny and hot.
We will be sure to return and will recommend it to our friends.
Anna & Anna

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is how to do it. Glass of Prosecco on arrival. Huge and beautiful bedrooms, elegantly decorated and equipped to perfection. The bathroom was better than ours at home!
Excellent evening meal and wonderful breakfast .
Engaging friendly owners who are keen to ensure everything is perfect, which it was.
One of the very best we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london england
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

booked at the last minute due to another hotel letting us down, Friendly greeting, lovely room with superb views, excellent bed brilliant nights sleep.had a 3 course meal for 2 in the Pub/restaurant Teresa is still talking about the raspberry jelly with stem ginger ice cream desert. meal cost £57 good value for locally grown and sourced food, topped off with a good English breakfast this morning and a tour of the other rooms by the owners, we will be back Pete and Teresa.

Room Tip: all rooms are good only 1 has a Jacuzzi bath others have large walk in showers with rain shower head...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gestingthorpe
4.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,125 reviews
9.6 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
22.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
695 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
145 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
#1 of 1 in Stoke by Nayland
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House at The Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House at The Pheasant

Property: The Coach House at The Pheasant
Address: The Pheasant Audley End | Nr. Castle Hedingham, Gestingthorpe CO9 3AU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Gestingthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gestingthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Coach House at The Pheasant 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Best AA Pub for England 2015 and Pub of the Year for Alistair Sawdays 2015 The Coach House at the Pheasant 5 Star Inn AA rated, offering luxury accommodation on the Essex/Suffolk border. Our charming country pub has an excellent reputation for its fresh, seasonal menu and relaxed atmosphere. Entry into the Good Food Guide and Michelin Guide 2013/2014/2105/2016. James & Diana Donoghue the owners are hands-on every day to make sure that your stay is superb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Coach House at The Pheasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House At The Pheasant Hotel Gestingthorpe
The Coach House At The Pheasant Gestingthorpe, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing