We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“keep driving past”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Port Fairy Motor Inn
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Port Fairy
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was the worst place we stayed in 7 weeks of travelling.

We arrived at 8pm and the sign on the reception door said open until 8:30, but there was no-one there, locked and in darkness. The sign suggested ringing a certain number, but we don't have mobiles. We waited until 8:45 and went walking along the dark road to find a phone. Eventually we found Conmar (a tea room and guest house), where the owner helped us. He rang the number for us and thought it strange when the motel owner picked up and put the phone down! Ringing again, the owner bothered to speak to us and we were told that we were being dramatic and should have just gone to the room opposite the reception and that was ours. Er, how would we have known that. Perhaps they could have left a note on the reception door.

We were also told that the reception staff had only just left a few minutes earlier. Wrong, we had been there since 8pm, it now being after 9pm.

We walked back to the motel and found the room - terrible. You have to walk through one bedroom to get to the other, and the first room had no window and no ventilation. Is this legal in Australia? It was advertised as adjoining rooms - not going through one room to get to another. Also it was advertised as deluxe - it certainly isn't.

This lack of care towards their clients on our arrival is not acceptable. The room(s) are not as advertised. We have already complained to the local tourist info unit and also to Booking.com who have asked for precise details.

The brighter side was eating at Ramellas in the evening (a smile and good grub), and Rebecca's in the morning - brilliant. Port Fairy seemed a pleasant spot to spend time, but we were so annoyed at the motor inn we left quickly to enjoy the rest of the long drive.

I have never given a low score before, but you certainly deserved this one!

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank nuf_said_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Clean and comfortable, and is a good budget option. Was a good option for the port fairy folk festival as it was away from the noise when you wished to get some sleep. It is about a ten minute walk from the centre of town, so not to far a daily commute. Owner is friendly and helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MirandaAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Had need to visit Port Fairy in September and thoroughly enjoyed staying at this Motor Inn. It was neat, clean and peaceful. Facilities in room very very good. Friendly, helpful staff and the township is beautiful

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marion h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Nervous upon arrival, but was made to feel very welcome. The owner couldn't do enough to make me feel at home, nothing was too much trouble, more milk, extra towels, nothing was a bother. safe parking for my car behind the main front entrance. A very large lawn expanse for just lazing around and a communal BBQ used by some and all enjoying. I believe that at least 3 of these other guests were on their second or third stay over at this amazing small motel complex (10 rooms).I received a tour of the three only vacant rooms before choosing the one in which I stayed. Very comfortable...I too will be coming back to stay here next time I need time out. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: THE ROOMS ACROSS THE FRONT ARE HIGHER QUALITY. The rooms at the back are a bit older but no less tas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The Port Fairy Motor Inn was just one of six places we stayed in January whilst travelling to Melbourne. The Manager/Owner was very helpful, the rooms were simple but clean, the bed comfortable. It is situated a few minutes from the town centre.
It is best described as a 'no frills' style of place and ideal for a one night stop over.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We were in room 2. Faces the highway. Advertised as their deluxe room. Had a nice front patio area. Very small motel. Room was neat and tidy and in comparison to every other port fairy motel offered reasonable value @$109 for the night off wotif. Road noise is an issue however didn't appear to bother my wife and I wear ear ugs anyway. You can feel relaxed booking into this motel as it is safe clean and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KookaburrasYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

During our tour of Australia and NZ we stayed at 20 different motels and hotels. This was by far the worst.

We stayed with our family in a so called cabin, which was more like a caravan without wheels. We paid about 160 AUD which was definately not value for money. It was very poor standard and as far from cosy as you can get. Also, it is situated far from the town centre and the sea

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tompix71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Fairy
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
458 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
City Heart Motel Warnambool
City Heart Motel Warnambool
#19 of 28 in Warrnambool
73 reviews
0.8 mi away
Douglas Riverside
Douglas Riverside
#7 of 11 in Port Fairy
41 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drift House
Drift House
#2 of 11 in Port Fairy
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Fairy Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Fairy Motor Inn

Address: 124 Princes Hwy, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Port Fairy
Price Range: £72 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Fairy Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Port Fairy Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing