We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second stay and will return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Port Fairy
Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Second stay and will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

On our second stay in this motel the only room available for the required two nights was a spa room.(not over keen on spas but this one was OK)

Turned out to be very comfortable and well equipped. Set up to be self catering for two people and at a very reasonable $160.00/night. Nice, comfortable lounge and usable dining table with all necessary kitchen equipment.

The motel is run by a very friendly couple who are knowledgable about Port Fairy. Is close to all Port Fairy amenities. The Calendonian Inn is just about next door and serves good quality bistro meals.

I would have no trouble recommending this pleasant and well situated motel.

Room Tip: At the price we were quoted I would definitely go for the spa rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    59
    27
    5
    7
See reviews for
18
89
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
hobart
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We arrived without a booking after driving the Great Ocean Road and were warmly greeted at reception. Our room, a standard double, was warm, clean and quiet with a very comfortable bed and just a short walk from the main stores and cafes down the road. Very fair standby rate. Thankyou

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james196777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

What a delight to stay in this pristine accommodation. Our room was very large and magnificently fitted out - everything you could wish for was at your fingertips. A wonderfully night's sleep in a very comfortable bed - super hot water. Bliss

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FOSSHILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

This room was very welcome after a slightly dodgy experience the night before. Clean, comfy, close to everything, free and easy Internet access and friendly welcoming service from the couple who seemed to be the owners. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ihatecooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We spent two nights in an executive studio apartment at the Ashmont in Port Fairy and were quite impressed with the place. Our studio apartment was downstairs close to our off-street parking space. The location is excellent, with a 5 minute stroll down Bank Street to the centre of Port Fairy shops but still very quiet in the evening. The owners were knowledgeable and welcoming and our room was large, comfortable, well equipped (with kitchenette) and had a quality bed. The bathroom was spacious and spotlessly clean. We were out and about for the two days but wouldn't have had any issue staying a bit longer in the apartment. Overall, it was an enjoyable experience and we would be happy to stay there again. Peter & Judy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had a fantastic 1 night stay at the Ashmont Motor Inn on Christmas Eve 2013. Rooms were spotlessly clean and really comfortable. The motel rooms have a well equipped kitchenette that enabled us to have a lovely breakfast on the patio area outside before continuing our trip. The owners checked us in and gave great recommendations on the best places to eat as our stay was so short. Also a fantastic tip on finding wild koalas that I would never have picked up from the tourist books - thank you Rob!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaH201401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had a very comfortable stay at the Ashmont Motor Inn in one of the motel rooms. The bed was comfortable (a little firm but that's ok for me), quiet air-conditioning (it was a hot day/night so we really appreciated it), very clean and quiet. Overall a positive experience and reasonable for the money as it was peak season. The location is fabulous - its a short walk to everything in the town. We'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Fairy hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Drift House
Drift House
#3 of 11 in Port Fairy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hearn's Beachside Villas
Hearn's Beachside Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Fairy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Fairy Motor Inn
Port Fairy Motor Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Fairy
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments

Property: Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Address: 47 Bank St, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Fairy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Fairy
Port Fairy Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing