We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a night”
Review of 54 on Bank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
54 on Bank
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed on first floor at this property for a night whilst driving from Adelaide to Melbourne, arrived out of hours and spoke to Russell on the phone close by, he told to look to my left and that the entrance to the place was next door down the street. Our apartment was up a flight of stairs, after carrying two 30kg suitcases up them we found the room was warm and cosy, we were in the roof space, put the air conditioning on and went out for a meal. Everything in the room was of good quality, had a good room guide to facilities within the town, but was on the small side...fine for a night.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for 54 on Bank
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

As a group of 7 traveling together it can be tricky to find good boutique accommodation, but this place was unique. The service was prompt, but to contact reception you pick up a phone on the outside of the building. One of the rooms was extremely small, like a kid's "cubby hole". This would have been fine if we were traveling with children, but for an adult it was not really appropriate. The layout also required occupants to traverse a flight of stairs to use the toilet, or enter through the master bedroom. The buildings are lovely historic stone, and it is close to what Port Fairy has to offer, but I wouldn't recommend for a group larger than a single couple.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We arrived at Hearns Cottages soon after the reception had closed and used the phone and within minutes the manager arrived and told us there was a problem with our accommodation (Premier King Cottage) and asked us to follow him in his car. we were taken a short distance to a bungalow in a very nice area. The bungalow was spotless with a full kitchen but totally lacking in amenities. The manager then disappeared as fast as he had arrived and we discover that there was not even a tablet of soap in the place so, our first trip was to the supermarket for soap. The accommodation was fine but the property had the feel of holiday let much in need of some TLC. We still await an explanation. Our overall rating of average is based on the bungalow and not the Premier King Cottage as per our reservation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanOxfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We arrived at Hearns Cottages early afternoon. Nobody about but after a while noticed a sign saying to use the phone on the side of the building to announce our arrival. We were told our room number and how to get there and that the key was in the lock. The room was pleasant, spacious and had all we needed. The guide in the room was excellent and pointed us to all the facilities in the town and included a number of menu's for eating out or eating in. The stay was pleasant but we left the next morning without ever seeing anyone and felt somewhat ill at ease because of it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Well appointed accomodation, with small kitchen area.

Very clean and reasonable amount amount of space. The property is centrally located in Port Fairy, close to restaurants,

Port Fairy is a good place to stop before striking out for either The Grampians or Adelaide, however, as such it is hotels rooms are functional as most clients only stay one night, so this accomodation served its purpose as a comfortable overnight bed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KingsleyRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We arrived at Hearns Cottages and phoned (using the phone on the side of the buildings) to announce our arrival. We were directed to one of the cottages - and told we were in room 4 (an upstairs room). We asked the cleaner (the only person we saw during our stay) if it was ready for us, and she said that it was , but she needed to bring the makings of the continental breakfast to us. This she did, and we found this to be quite adequate (I have seen another review which describes it as "miserly" - it was plenty for us). We only stayed one night - this is probably sufficient.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at Hearns Cottages on our journey from Adelaide to Melbourne along the Gt Ocean Road. We were travelling with another couple and had booked two rooms B&B (continental breakfast to be provided).

When we arrived we were told to phone the owner for directions to the rooms, which we did. This all went well and we were very pleased with the condition of the rooms, which were light, airy and obviously well furnished. There was a small hob and a microwave, plates, cutlery, etc. so it was ideal for self-catering.

There is no restaurant attached to this B&B so breakfast is provided in the rooms themselves. When we checked to see what had been left we were very disappointed. Our friend cannot drink pineapple juice (I wont go into the details why, not nice!) so he phoned the service line and explained the problem. "Sorry, we've not had a delivery of orange juice" was the response. Honestly, would it have been so difficult to pop out to the local shop and buy some? This was exactly what we ended up donig.

The breakfast itself was a miserly affair. No fruit, no yoghurts, no cakes. There was some cereal, bread, a couple of small pieces of pre-packed cheese with some Ritz crackers - oh yes, and some packs of jam. Having come from Robe House, where the breakfast was a delight, this felt very mean.

We never saw or heard from the owners, or their reps, throughout the whole 2 days. No one came to check if we were "okay?" or to see if there were any problems. If they had, we would have advised them of our displeasure with the food.

We thought the next day the orange juice might arrive but no, our friends still got more pineapple juice, despite the fact that they had been told he cannot drink it. So Zero Points for service.

To our knowledge, there were no washing or laundry facilities, but if there were, no one told us about them.

On the plus side, this B&B is in a very good location with supermarket, shops, restaurants, take-aways just a minute's walk away. As I said, the rooms are very nice and the beds are comfortable and of a good size.

Would we stay there again, maybe, but the food and the lack of a friendly face and some service let's it down.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-in-Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Fairy hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
428 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Drift House
Drift House
#3 of 11 in Port Fairy
108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hearn's Beachside Villas
Hearn's Beachside Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Fairy
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 54 on Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 on Bank

Address: 54 Bank St, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia (Formerly Hearns Cottage Suites)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Port Fairy
Price Range: £88 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 54 on Bank 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury accommodation in the heart of Port Fairy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 54 on Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearns Cottage Hotel Port Fairy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing