We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother! Totally awful!!!”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

The Victoria Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Fairy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Port Fairy
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked for dinner for 4 adults and 2 children. After waiting over an hour after ordering our meals we had to chase up the waitress to let her know we had not been served. Many other diners in after us were being served before us. She told us there had been a 'stuff up' in the kitchen and we would have our meals 'shortly'! Well, we did, but they were less than acceptable. The 2 chicken parmas had quite obviously been sitting around for a while and then re-heated - awful - could not eat them. The Lamb Shank meal was less than perfect. Most of us could not finish our dinners.
When we complained about the service and asked to see the Manager, they were very experienced with 'avoidance' approach - pretend it is not happening. No, we had to chase up the Manager again - she didn't want to know about the problem at all!!!
We are new locals to the area and will be operating a tourist venture so this place will definitely NOT be recommended as somewhere for a meal. There are many good eating places in Port Fairy so steer clear of this one!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Joneyn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed here just for one night. The room was ok, but it was clear that only the floors and table get to be cleaned. Quite a few spider web on the ceiling. But with a comfortable bed and a clean bathroom, this was all I needed for this one night.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank JaVerhoeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We did not stay the night here but we had a lovely meal.
We had a cheesy garlic pizza as a starter and both had a parma for mains.
One of the best parmas ive had in a long time and not badly priced at $23 each.
The woman that served us were absolutely lovely and were great to have a chat too.
Will definitely return here for a meal time im in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank jrun270788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We spent a very pleasant evening at the updated Victoria Hotel in Port Fairy's Bank Street, where new landlord Graham and his wife gave us a very pleasant welcome and we had a few yarns. The restaurant wasn't open but we enjoyed the pleasing surroundings and ample TV's and some local red wines.

Stories of well known sportsmen and former cricket colleagues made it all the more enjoyable. Sadly we had to go to our hotel for a sleep!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffyTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Easter Saturday and a group of us (mix of Port Fairy residents and frequent visitors to the town) went here for dinner. Unfortunately we never actually ate dinner. After a wait of over 2+ hours for our main courses, we gave up, cancelled the order and went home for toasted sandwiches!
The majority of the other customers seemed to be in a similar situation, which is disappointing as with efficient management and organisation, the restaurant could be a lovey place to visit.
For a town that is reliant on tourism, the Vic really needs to raise its game and look after its customers.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Wow. What an experience. I've lived in Port Fairy for 31 years and yesterday, 7 friends and I went to the Victoria Hotel for dinner. We ordered - not a particularly difficult order, made up of 2 entrees, 7 chicken parmas and some lamb. We were given ONE menu between 8 of us, and had to walk in to a different section of the hotel to even get that! We waited 1 hour before some GARLIC BREAD came out, and then after 2 hours, decided enough was enough. The waitress told us we would have to wait at least another half hour before our food would be ready. That would have made it 2.5 hours. Not only did we buy and pay for a lot of drinks in the mean time, we weren't offered any real apology, except a justification for the wait (by the manager no less), that they were one chef down and were really busy. Sorry, but that's not my problem, and not my fault.
We cancelled the order in the end and walked out, and so did a lot of other families, many with young children, so there night was probably worse than ours!
It is NOT difficult to provide good service. You need to be take responsibility for the stuff-ups, you need to communicate with your diners, and you need to keep an eye on how things are going on the floor. Give us water. Let us know how long things are going to be. Don't make US chase you up. Sure, food was going to take a little longer, but at the end of the day, I don't want to have to ask you.
Don't bother going to the Vic, this place has been given far too many chances, management are unattentive and this is reinforced by so many different people around town who say the same thing. Bella Claire, Rocksalt, The Stag... go somewhere else, don't ruin your night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TVH3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed at Port Fairy for one night and found the Vic Hotel new restaurant to be fantastic. The food was superb and was reasonably priced. The meals were big but we don't eat much so it may be normal for some. Well worth the stop.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank suemicro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Fairy
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
457 reviews
0 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
0 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Port Fairy Motor Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Fairy
25 reviews
13 mi away
Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs
Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs
#6 of 28 in Warrnambool
789 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drift House
Drift House
#2 of 11 in Port Fairy
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: 42 Bank St, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Port Fairy
Also Known As:
Victoria Port Fairy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing