We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it and we are already booking another visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it and we are already booking another visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

I"ve just returned from 5 days at the Cullen having been in Melbourne with my son for a sporting competition. The hotel was excellent. I've stayed in lots of 5 star hotels all over the world for both business and pleasure and I couldn't fault it. This is the fourth time I've used the Mr and Mrs Smith website to select a boutique hotel and once again their standards are great.

The Cullen's is very conveniently located, with Chapel st just around the corner and the fabulous Prahan Markets literally across the road. The entire area is full of great trendy shops, bars and restaurants.

The hotel is very comfortable and cozy (most important given it was very chilly June weather) while being modern, interesting and immaculately presented.

There was a laundry located handily on our floor as I had sports clothes and wet towels to launder and dry each evening and the kitchenette proved very useful for regular snacks at odd hours of the day and night!

While not as large as an appartment we found there was plenty of room in our Twin Deluxe Suite, for a 5 day stay.

Room Tip: The 5th floor was as quiet as a mouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattGuy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Thank you for your review,

Im thrilled you got to experience a longer stay at The Cullen and made full use of the kitchenette and laundry facilities available. It sounds like you ingrained yourself in the Melbourne culture as well - Prahran is certainly a vibrant and buzzing suburb that seems to change every week.

Its also great to know about your experiences with Mr and Mrs Smith. After joining with them last year, we have made so many friends and feel the website is a great fit for us as a boutique hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit, we'll keep the heat up against the Melbourne winter,

Kind regards,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    304
    85
    25
    25
See reviews for
114
425
94
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

My first stay at the Cullen was shortly after it opened, and I wondered whether the excellent experience had something to do with how new it all was. A year later, I don't think so. Like last time, staff were impeccably friendly and helpful, especially as I needed more assistance than usual due to the ash cloud delaying my departure and making my room my office for a day!
The room and its facilities have been well cared for, and housekeeping was excellent.
The one complaint I have is one of those little bugbears that seems to be true in many hotels. Despite having signs and protestations about their commitment to caring for the environment, housekeeping still replaced the towels I hung on the rail with fresh ones. I also wonder why these hotels that talk about their commitment to the environment (especially those with kitchenettes) don't have separated garbage bins for recycling. It seems a relatively small change to make.
At any rate, this doesn't dampen my enthusiasm for the Cullen. I again experienced excellent service in the most comfortable room in Melbourne, and I'll be back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattGuy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear Trevar,

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to receive feedback from guests who stayed with us at opening and have come back again. Im pleased you have experienced the same level of service and facilities both times.

The ash cloud caused havoc for many travellers - in cases such as these we will always do our utmost to assist where we can. Im glad you were able to use your room as a temporary office, be sure to remember the Guest Experience Desk provides business facilities should you need to work out of the hotel again.

The Cullen has been given an environmental 6 star rating - the highest attainment in Australia due to our rainwater usage for the gardens, efficient heating and cooling systems, selective waste management and green initiatives. We do most of this hard work behind the scenes, and only ask guests to hang towels they would like to re-use. While this is a simple way to minimise our carbon footprint, we would never expect a guest to use a wet towel and will change the towels if we believe they will not dry in time. Bottles and plastics are separated behind-the-scenes as well and sent for recycling.

I'm glad you have found a new favourite hotel in Melbourne, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Cullen in the future.

Regards,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

My organisation tried this hotel out for some work we were doing. The rates are very good indeed (we usually use The Westin). This hotel was well-located and they are contracted with a good chauffeur-taxi service so you can get around easily.

The hotel features many rather brutal-looking paintings, it's very modern and bright. The rooms are smallish but well-appointed and most things work.. nice little kitchenette and a giant flat TV on the wall that you can turn to face where you are watching from. Lack of a comfy TV-watching chair was a shame. There's a soft little couch but it faces the wrong way and is quite heavy!

Air Con works very well indeed, very quiet. Can open a window for air. I found the bed had started to collapse a bit (they are king made up with 2 single mattresses), mostly on one side that evidently got more use. Pillows were perfect, the kind you can burrow a hole in for your head. Nice linen, and a down quilt. Nice towels and toiletries, stylish bathroom. Bar fridge was so frosted up, the door wouldn't close so I defrosted it.

Nice bathrobes and slippers, and the mark of a good hotel: proper hangers, not those appalling anti-theft things!

You could hear the trams and things outside, but it wasn't too bad at all, i was in a side-street overlooking the entrance. There was some internal noise though, from other rooms or the hallway, that was a bit intrusive at times. Wouldn't call it a noisy hotel though.

Breakfast in their restaurant was good, the prices were half what you'd pay in a city hotel and the food was good: modern and tasty.

What this place did really well though was the staff. They were all helpful and seemed happy, there was never a wrong note from them. Clearly this company is doing something very right if the staff are happy.

Room Tip: For less traffic noise, get a room on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ant100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattGuy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for providing such detailed feedback - its a pleasure to receive and I'm sure other Tripadvisor viewers will find all of your points most helpful.

We do pride ourselves on ensuring each Cullen suite is comfortable and designed with the guest in mind. As you can attest to, this mantra extends into our wardrobes where you will find 10 non-attached Art Series wooden hangers (both trouser and flat varieties). In the end, do we really expect every guest to steal a clothes hanger to the point we have to attach them to the rail?

I'm thrilled you enjoyed the interaction with our staff members. We maintain a fun, energetic working environment at The Cullen and I'm glad you got to experience the positive attitude and warm service we aim to provide.

I hope to catch up with you next time you are with us, be sure to tell your friends at The Westin to try Art Series next.

Regards,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

This was my second in the Art Series and it is a good chain.This hotel is better for holiday makers and not as good for a business trip It is still very practical but is more relaxed in the way it deals with guests. I liked the place.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattGuy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your honest review,

I'm thrilled you have gotten to experience two of our very different hotels in the Art Series Hotel Group. It sounds like you appreciated the relaxed and friendly vibe of the hotel. We do aim to give every guest, regardless of their reason for travel, a 'holiday maker' experience, while offering all the business-related facilities you need.

Be sure to let our Reservations team know your corner room preference and we will certainly do our best to accommodate next time you book.

Regards,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

I don't know why I am only just writing a review now but my wife and I stayed at the Cullen as part of our Honeymoon in August 2010. Location was great - it was situated just about 15-20 minutes outside of Melbourne Central. Transportation was very conveniently located either a block up or down from the hotel entrance.

The room we had was a bit on the smaller side from what we are generally used to but it was clean and comfortable and uniquely decorated. Throughout the hotel you'll see pieces by Cullen - hence the name - though a lot of the pieces seem to be of Ned Kelly (or were we just seeing the same one all the time :)

Service was impeccable. Everyone was great in helping us with directions and ideas. We were even able to rent a SmartCar on site to get to various sites. I feel bad because we were not able to make it to the Penguin parade but there is always a next time and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popsng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattGuy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Thank you for your review, it's wonderful you chose us to help celebrate your honeymoon.

Many of Adam's 450 works of art that adorn the walls are part of a Ned Kelly series. He tells the story of Ned in his own words, from the Kelly gang scoping out a bank before a hold up right up to his demise. There are various information sheets and books around the hotel that run through these pieces, or any of our staff can give you a brief.

Its a shame you missed the penguins. Those little guys are very cute and seeing them so close is definately a story to take back home. Next time you're here we can program the GPS so you get down and back in time for a late supper.

We look forward to seeing you when you are next in Melbourne,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Frequent trams to City, river, gardens and sights. No need to stay in the City. Shops of all kinds in easy reach. Walk across to the excellent market.- maybe best in Australia! Rooms have all facilities one could wish for. Staff could not be more helpful. Look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Rear balcony room views and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandbhSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattGuy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Thank you for your review. I'm thrilled you have been back to stay with us and have enjoyed your experience every time. As you are aware, every room depicts different Cullen artwork, you are well on your way to seeing them all. Please let the Reservations team or Guest Experience Agents know if you have a favourite type of room and we will do our best to accommodate when you book.

We look forward to your next stay,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

you must stay here, the place is so clean and the feel is so amazing, what ever your needs are it is taken care of by the amazing staff, always have a smile and so friendly, do yourself a favour and book you will be back just like we will......Mark.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markc_911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattGuy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Hi Mark, thank you for your review.

Its great to receive feedback about our staff, I know they genuinely enjoy chatting and getting to know all guests in the hotel. Our housekeeping team do a fantastic job of maintaining the high standards of the property also.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cullen when you are next visiting the area,

Regards,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#14 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,267 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#27 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Property: Art Series - The Cullen
Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing